Video/Audio Material


Video Collection Databases
American History in Video Restricted Resource
Resource Type: Video Database
American History in Video provides the largest and richest collection of video available online for the study of American history, with 2,000 hours and more than 5,000 titles on completion.


Ethnographic Video Online Restricted Resource
Resource Type: Video Database
Ethnographic Video Online provides a comprehensive resource for the study of human culture and behavior – more than 750 hours and 1,000 films at completion.


Internet Archive: Moving Image Archive
Resource Type: Web Site
"[C]ontains digital movies uploaded by Archive users which range from classic full-length films, to daily alternative news broadcasts, to cartoons and concerts."

OpenCulture.com
Resource Type: Web Site
Cultural and educational media found scattered across the web, curated to create this gateway to free feature films (film noir, sci-fi, classics, historical documentaries); science videos, audio books, and more.



(top)
Audio Collection Databases
Naxos Music Library Online Restricted Resource
Resource Type: Database
The most comprehensive collection of classical music available online, offering the complete Naxos, Marco Polo and DaCapo catalogues as well as Jazz and World music.
Note: On-campus access only.
You must Log Out at the upper left of the screen when you are finished. Failure to do so may prevent other users from accessing the database. You will need to provide your own headsets for in-library use.



(top)
Databases with Video and/or Audio Files
INFOTRAC/Gale Cengage Databases (video and audio files) Restricted Resources
  • Use Advanced Search Option.
  • Limit Document Type to Video file or Audio File.
Note: Many files listed as video will not have attached visual materials. However, there is often the option to hear the audio portion of the content by clicking on Listen in the right side Tools box.)
 
 
CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online) Restricted Resource
Resource Type: Article Database
On-Campus Access || Off-Campus Access*
A full-text online database for working papers, policy briefs, and selected journals in the areas of politics, area studies, diplomatic history, international law and business, policy formation, and country analysis. Coverage back to 1991. Published by Columbia University Press.
  • Select Videos from the left menu.
  • Browse videos organized by institution.
 
Gale Biography in Context Restricted Resource
Resource Type: Database
Integrates GALE Cengage Learning reference works along with magazine and journal articles, images, videos, audio files, and website links. Search for current or historical people by name, occupation, nationality, and birth/death dates.  Use the advanced search feature for further search options.
  • Go to Advanced Search.
  • Limit Content Type to Videos or Audio,
 
Library of Congress Unrestricted Resource
Filem/Video/Audio:
  • In the Search box limit format to Film, Video or Audio and use appropriate search terms, or none to browse 
  • In results list, limit the Online Format found on the left menu to Video or Audio.
Webcasts/Podcasts:
  • Under Download and Play at the very bottom of the page, click on Webcasts or Podcasts.
  • On thePodcast page, browse by category in left menu. On the Webcast page,  search Webcast pages in search box at the top right hand corner in addition to browsing by category.
  • Cick on Browse tab at the top and, then, select Sound Recordings or Motion Pictures from the Browse Collections Containing section.
  •  Additionally, some collections have a menu on the right called Browse Collection by where you can choose your format and limit to film/video or audio. Other collections consist entirely of audio and/or video material. Inside these collections users can choose appropriate video or audio format to view material.
Note: More information about Library of Congress audio/video formats available here:
http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/help/view.html
 

Literature Online (ProQuest) Restricted Resource
Resource Type: Article Database
Texts of over 355,000 literary works with searchable, full-text criticism and reference resources for the study of literature in English.  LION also provides searchable indexes of literary criticism, including ABELL (Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature) and the full text of over 330 literature journals
  • In left side menu under Browse select Multimedia.
  • Options include Poets on Screen, Shakespeare Audio Plays, and Poetry Archive Audio.
 
Morningstar Investment Research Center Restricted Resource
Resource Type: Database
  • Click on Articles & Videos tab at the top of screen
  • Under the heading Collections on the right, select Videos to browse the available titles.

ProQuest Central - multidisciplinary Restricted Resource
Resource Type: Article Database; Newspaper Database
A multidisciplinary resource providing the largest aggregated full-text database in the market today totaling more than 12,665 titles - with over 9,745 titles in full text. Covers more than 160 subject areas, including business and economics, health and medical, news and world affairs, technology, social sciences and more. Provides over 400 full-text U.S., Canadian and international newspapers; nearly 30,000 full-text dissertations in the areas of business, psychology, physical sciences, health, education; and nearly 9,000 market reports for business information for 43 industries in 40 countries.
  • Go to the Advanced Search.
  • Limit the Document Type  to Audio/Video Clip.
Note: It is not possible to specify video OR audio in file selection.
 
Public Domain Review Unrestricted Resource
Resource Type: Web Site
Features a selection of materials in the public domain, including film and audio collections that date back as far as the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries.
 

(top)