Cardinal Cushing Library
THRS 2209 - History of Christianity - Vidaurrazaga


General considerations for your research
This course guide provides a list of recommended library resources to help you complete your History of Christianity research paper.  
 
Books for Background Research
Emmanuel College Library Contact
Anne Hancock
Collection Development Librarian
hancoan@emmanuel.edu
Search for Books

 
  • The Library's Online Catalog will help you find print and electronic books in the Library's collection.

  • ProQuest Ebook Central and Books at JSTOR  contain many electronic books related to the History of Christianity. Searches in the Online Catalog will retrieve electronic books.

  • Sign into ProQuest Ebook Central using your Emmanuel username and password to take advantage of bookshelf features. You can save books to your bookshelf for quick access later.
     
Trouble finding books?
  • Consider creating keyword search strings with "AND" and "OR" like:
    Christianity AND persecution

     
  • Put phrases in quotation marks like:
    "Augustine of Hippo"
Greco-Roman Period
Diverse Christianities in New Testament Times
Under Persecution (100-314)
After Constantine (314-451)
 
The Dark Ages (451-1000)
Modern Christianity in the West (1400-1600)
Confronted with Secularism (1600-1960)
 
Contemporary Christianity (1960-2011)
 
Recommended Article Databases
 
JSTOR Restricted Resource
A total of more than 900 full-text scholarly journal titles in an online archive beginning with the first issue of each title. The archive includes nine JSTOR Arts and Sciences Collections. In JSTOR, there is usually a time lag in full-text content. Use JSTOR in conjunction with our current online databases and print holdings.
(See also Example of a Search in JSTOR pdf)

Project MUSEĀ® Restricted Resource
Offers over 400 quality journal titles from nearly 100 not-for-profit publishers. Project MUSE® covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.

Catholic Periodical and Literature Index (ATLA CPLI) Restricted Resource
The Catholic Periodical and Literature Index (ATLA CPLI) provides indexing of periodicals, essay collections, church documents, papal documents and electronic resources expressly addressing the practice and intellectual tradition of Roman Catholicism.

ATLA Religion Database Restricted Resource
American Theological Library Association's index of journal articles, essays, book reviews, and other research material on "Biblical studies, world religions, church history, and religious perspectives on social issues."

ProQuest Central Restricted Resource
Resource Type: Article Database
Click here to search the ProQuest Religion part of the database.

 
Database Tips
  • JSTOR and Project MUSE® contain peer-reviewed articles only.
     
  • For the ATLA Religion Databases and Proquest Central you will need to limit your results to peer-reviewed.
     
  • ATLA Databases are not full text.  To find complete articles click the  icon in the database results.
     
  • Create keyword searches using "AND" and "OR" to find relevant resources efficiently 
    Like Christianity and missionaries
     
  • Put phrases in quotation marks to search for words as phrases.  
    Like "Founding Fathers"
Citation Style for THRS 2209
  • MLA and Turabian are acceptable citation styles for Professor Vidaurrazaga's sections.  Please choose one style and be consistent throughout your paper.
     
  • Below are print and electronic references to assist you with citing works used for your research paper. The print versions of the style guides contain the most complete citation and formatting information.
     
  • Print copies of these citation style guides are available at the Reference Desk.
     
 
Print Resources
  • Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations by Kate L. Turabian (8th ed.) REFERENCE DESK LB2369 .T8 2013
  • MLA Handbook (8th ed.) REFERENCE DESK LB2369 .G53 2016
     

 
Citation Management Software
RefWorks Restricted Resource
Registration: Sign up for a New Account by creating a Login Name and Password from a computer on campus. You will receive an email confirming your new account with instructions for accessing your RefWorks account off campus.

Using RefWorks:

Last updated: Jun 28th 2017