Cardinal Cushing Library
Sociology


Book Cover: Classical Sociological Theory Book cover: The New Urban Sociology  Book Cover: Constructions of Deviance  Book Cover: Race Talk and the Conspiracy of Silence Book Cover: Understanding Social Psychology Across Cultures  Book Cover: The Promise of Sociology
Article Databases
FAQs Restricted Resource = Emmanuel Faculty, Staff & Students only
 

Article Databases: Ranked by Relevance

SocINDEX with Full Text Restricted Resource
This index features more than 2.1 million records with subject headings from a more than 20,000 term sociology-specific thesaurus designed by expert lexicographers. SocINDEX with Full Text contains full text for more than 860 journals dating back to 1908. This database also includes full text for more than 830 books and monographs, and full text for over 16,800 conference papers.

JSTOR Restricted Resource
A total of more than 900 full-text scholarly journal titles in an online archive beginning with the first issue of each title. The archive includes nine JSTOR Arts and Sciences Collections. In JSTOR, there is usually a time lag in full-text content. Use JSTOR in conjunction with our current online databases and print holdings.

Project MUSE® Restricted Resource
Offers over 400 quality journal titles from nearly 100 not-for-profit publishers. Project MUSE® covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.

Science Direct (Elsevier) Restricted Resource
Access to full text of over 2,500 scholarly, peer-reviewed journals in the areas of: Biochemistry; Business and Management; Genetics and Molecular Biology; Chemistry; Immunology and Microbiology; Medicine; Psychology; and Social Science. Includes recently-accepted articles in press.

PsycINFO (1887 - present) Restricted Resource
This database, provided by the American Psychological Association, contains indexing and abstracts for over 3 million articles. Most covered materials are from peer-reviewed publications. Links to available full-text in other EBSCO databases including PsycARTICLES®.
  • PsycARTICLES Restricted Resource
    PsycARTICLES® covers general psychology and specialized, basic, applied, clinical and theoretical research from 1894 to the present. The database contains more than 153,000 articles from nearly 80 journals published by the American Psychological Association and allied organizations. It includes all articles, letters to the editor, and errata from each journal. A PsycINFO search will link to full text in PsycARTICLES®.

Taylor & Francis Group Journals Online Restricted Resource
Nearly 1,000 journals in the social sciences and humanities published by the Taylor & Francis Group, including: Routledge, Garland, Psychology Press, and Taylor & Francis.

Sage Journals Online Restricted Resource
More than 690 Sage journals in Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology and Medicine. Browse list of available titles.

ProQuest Central Restricted Resource
A multidisciplinary resource providing the largest aggregated full-text database in the market today totaling more than 12,665 titles - with over 9,745 titles in full text. Covers more than 160 subject areas, including business and economics, health and medical, news and world affairs, technology, social sciences and more. Provides over 400 full-text U.S., Canadian and international newspapers; nearly 30,000 full-text dissertations in the areas of business, psychology, physical sciences, health, education; and nearly 9,000 market reports for business information for 43 industries in 40 countries.
Search for Books

 
 
Video Databases
  • American History in Video Restricted Resource
    American History in Video provides the largest and richest collection of video available online for the study of American history, with 2,000 hours and more than 5,000 titles on completion.
  • Kanopy Restricted Resource
    Kanopy is a streaming video resource with a board collection of over 26,000 films on every subject imaginable and from leading producers such as Criterion Collection, The Great Courses, New Day Films, HBO California Newsreel, Kino Lorber, PBS, BBC, First Run Features, The Video Project, Documentary Education Resources. Kanopy’s website makes it easy to watch, share and discuss films across campus. Enjoy!
United States
 
International
  • Europol
    Europol is the European Union’s law enforcement agency. Europol assists European Union’s Member States with fight against serious international crime and terrorism.
  • INTERPOL
    "[T]he world’s largest international police organization, with 190 member countries." Browse Crime Areas or keyword search at top of the page.
  • World Factbook of Criminal Justice Systems
    “This factbook, developed under BJS grants, provides narrative descriptions of the criminal justice systems of 45 countries around the world. “ Bureau of Justice Statistics (BJS).
Legal/Law
Local
Non-Governmental
Related Library Guides
Statistics
News/Updates/Reviews
  • Crime Report
    Collaboration between the Center on Media, Crime and Justice and Criminal Justice Journalists.
  • Stateline
    Pew Center on the States.
Web Sites
  • Child Care & Early Education Research Connections
    "Research Connections is a partnership among the National Center for Children in Poverty (NCCP) at the Mailman School of Public Health, Columbia University; the Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) at the Institute for Social Research, the University of Michigan."
  • General Social Survey
    NORC at the University of Chicago.
  • Slave Route
    Among its goals, the project aims to "contribute to a better understanding of the causes, forms of operation, issues and consequences of slavery in the world (Africa, Europe, the Americas, the Caribbean, the Indian Ocean, Middle East and Asia).”
    United Nations Educational Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO).
  • UNdata: A World of Information
    Searches include a keyword Data search (default), a Glossary, and a Country Profiles search (found under More options). Direct links to the national statistics offices of many countries are available in the Country Data Services section.United Nations Statistics Division (UNSD) of the Department of Economic and Social Affairs (DESA).
Think Tanks
"Think tanks are policy institutes that carry out detailed research and provide analysis of, and information on, a range of policy ideas and programmes."

Think tanks. (2010). In D. Watts, Dictionary of American government and politics. Retrieved from https://library.emmanuel.edu:8443/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com
/content/entry/eupamgov/think_tanks/0
  • Brookings Institution
    A "nonprofit public policy organization based in Washington, DC."  Search by topic and use the "Expert" tab by country or region to access articles by experts in a specific region.
  • Rand Corporation
    A nonprofit research and analysis organization examining diverse issues worldwide with its headquarters campus in Santa Monica, CA.
  • Urban Institute
    Located in Washington, D.C., the Urban Institute is a nonprofit policy research organization. The Justice Policy Center (JPC) carries out nonpartisan research on crime, justice, and community safety.

Additionally, explore the Think Tanks and Civil Societies Program, University of Pennsylvania's annual rankings.



 
General Considerations: Finding Statistics
1. Explore the web sites of specific government/private agencies based on your topic, e.g. U.S. Department of Labor.
2. Explore research articles on your topic and identify the datasets that are commonly used.

3. When searching the Internet using Google.com, includes site:.gov or site:.edu in your search phrase (to limit your results to governmental or educational web sites, respectively).
Example: "higher education" and (statistics or dataset or "data set") and site:.gov
Selected Web Sites
  • Current Population Survey (CPS)
    “The Current Population Survey (CPS), sponsored jointly by the U.S. Census Bureau and the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS), is the primary source of labor force statistics for the population of the United States.”
  • Eurostat
    "Eurostat is the statistical office of the European Union situated in Luxembourg." Click on the Data top menu options and then choose Statistics A-Z to look up statistics by theme alphabetically; or to browse, select Database from the Data menu option. The Publications menu option includes access to the Eurostat yearbooks and the News menu option includes Themes in the Spotlight.
  • Gapminder
    Presents statistical data on Global trends and issues with animated presentations, and interactive, customizable charts.
  • NORC [National Opinion Research Center] at the University of Chicago
    See General Social Survey.
  • Pew Research Center
    The Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan "fact tank" that provides information on the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. It does not take positions on policy issues. Click on Datasets link to find statistical reports arranged by broad research areas and to download data sets. Select Topics link to search by subject or among polling questions.  
  • Roper Center for Public Opinion Research
    Cornell University
  • UNdata: A World of Information
    Searches include a keyword Data search (default), a Glossary, and a Country Profiles search (found under More options). Direct links to the national statistics offices of many countries are available in the Country Data Services section.United Nations Statistics Division (UNSD) of the Department of Economic and Social Affairs (DESA).
  • U.S. Census Bureau
    Click on the Geography tab to find interactive maps and the Data tab to find data tools and visualizations.
  • World Health Organization (WHO)
    Explore the menu options of DataProgrammes, and Countries.
  • WDI World Development Indicators (The World Bank Group)
    World Bank Group's World Development Indicators.
Gateways/Directories/Research Guides
APA Citation Style
FAQs


 

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (6th ed.) REFERENCE DESK BF 76.7 .P83 2010

Displaying your findings: A practical guide for creating figures, posters, and presentations (Print) REFERENCE BF76.8 .N53 2010
 
Book Cover: Publication Manual of the American Psychological AssociationBook Cover: Displaying Your Findings


American Psychological Association (APA): APA Style



Basics of APA style
American Psychological Association
 
ASA Citation Style
Style Guide / American Sociological Association (5th ed.) REFERENCE DESK HM 73 .A547 2014
 
Book Cover: ASA Style Guide
Citation Management Tool
Additional Resources

Last updated: Jun 28th 2017