Cardinal Cushing Library
SOC4999 - Bueker/Križ


Book Cover: Classical Sociological Theory Book cover: Gender Roles  Book Cover: Appyling Social Statistics  Book Cover: Class, Race, Gender & Crime Book Cover: Health Disparities in the United States  Book Cover: A Sociology of Family Life
Books (Print and E-Books)

 
 

Selected Resources:
 
Selected Journals and Article Databases
FAQs
  
Restricted Resource = Emmanuel Faculty, Staff & Students only

Selected Sociology Journals Restricted Resource

Article Databases Ranked by Relevance

Access Library resources through Google Scholar .
Evaluation is critical when using GoogleScholar. Results will include more than just scholarly books and published articles.
Emmanuel College Library Contact
Diane Zydlewski
Associate Librarian for Reference, Instruction, and Outreach
zydlewsd@emmanuel.edu | 617-735-9927
Related Research Guides
  • Country Information
  • Gender + Women's Studies
  • Psychology
  • Sociology
     
  • Complete List of Guides
Data/Statistics Sources
General Considerations for Finding Statistics
1. Explore the web sites of specific government/private agencies based on your topic, e.g. U.S. Department of Labor.
2. Explore research articles on your topic and identify the datasets that are commonly used.

3. When searching the Internet using Google.com, includes site:.gov or site:.edu in your search phrase (to limit your results to governmental or educational web sites, respectively).
Example: "higher education" and (statistics or dataset or "data set") and site:.gov


Gateways/Directories/Research Guides
Selected Web Sites
  • Current Population Survey (CPS)
    “The Current Population Survey (CPS), sponsored jointly by the U.S. Census Bureau and the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS), is the primary source of labor force statistics for the population of the United States.”
  • Eurostat
    "Eurostat is the statistical office of the European Union situated in Luxembourg." Click on the Data top menu options and then choose Statistics A-Z to look up statistics by theme alphabetically; or to browse, select Database from the Data menu option. The Publications menu option includes access to the Eurostat yearbooks and the News menu option includes Themes in the Spotlight.
  • Gapminder
    Presents statistical data on Global trends and issues with animated presentations, and interactive, customizable charts.
  • NORC [National Opinion Research Center] at the University of Chicago
    See General Social Survey.
  • Pew Research Center
    The Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan "fact tank" that provides information on the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. It does not take positions on policy issues. Click on Datasets link to find statistical reports arranged by broad research areas and to download data sets. Select Topics link to search by subject or among polling questions.  
  • Roper Center for Public Opinion Research
    Cornell University
  • UNdata: A World of Information
    Searches include a keyword Data search (default), a Glossary, and a Country Profiles search (found under More). To find direct links to the national statistics offices of many countries go to More and select About UNdata. Next, in the left column click Country links to UNdata. Provided by the United Nations Statistics Division (UNSD) of the Department of Economic and Social Affairs (DESA).
  • U.S. Census Bureau
    Click on the Geography tab to find interactive maps and the Data tab to find data tools and visualizations.
  • World Health Organization (WHO)
    Explore the menu options of DataProgrammes, and Countries.
  • WDI World Development Indicators (The World Bank Group)
    World Bank Group's World Development Indicators.
Crime and Justice
Bureau of Justice Statistics
Office of Justice Programs.

National Crime Victimization Survey (NCVS)

National Institute of Correction: Corrections Statistics by State

National Juvenile Court Data Archives Uniform Crime Reports (FBI)
The FBI’s “starting place for law enforcement executives, students of criminal justice, researchers, members of the media, and the public at large seeking” national statistics on violent crime and property crime.  The UCR Data Tool enables custom table building using data going back to 1960.

Youth Risk Behavior Surveillance System (YRBSS)
Related Research Guides
  • Country Information
  • Gender + Women's Studies
  • Psychology
  • Sociology
     
  • Complete List of Guides
Think Tanks
"Think tanks are policy institutes that carry out detailed research and provide analysis of, and information on, a range of policy ideas and programmes."

Think tanks. (2010). In D. Watts, Dictionary of American government and politics. Retrieved from https://library.emmanuel.edu:8443/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com
/content/entry/eupamgov/think_tanks/0
  • Brookings Institution
    A "nonprofit public policy organization based in Washington, DC."  Search by topic and use the "Expert" tab by country or region to access articles by experts in a specific region.
  • Rand Corporation
    A nonprofit research and analysis organization examining diverse issues worldwide with its headquarters campus in Santa Monica, CA.
  • Urban Institute
    Located in Washington, D.C., the Urban Institute is a nonprofit policy research organization. The Justice Policy Center (JPC) carries out nonpartisan research on crime, justice, and community safety.

Additionally, explore the Think Tanks and Civil Societies Program, University of Pennsylvania's annual rankings. (http://gotothinktank.com/2014-global-go-to-think-tank-index-report)



 
Education
Civil Rights Data Collection
"Wide-ranging education education access and equity data collected from our nation's public schools."

National Center for Education Statistics
"The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education." 
  • Explore the Data and Tools option from the top menu, which include IPEDS Analytics: Delta Cost Project Database.
     
The Campus Safety and Security Data Analysis Cutting Tool


Additionally, explore the following guides:
APA Citation Style
FAQs



Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (6th ed.) REFERENCE DESK BF 76.7 .P83 2010

Displaying your findings: A practical guide for creating figures, posters, and presentations (Print) REFERENCE BF76.8 .N53 2010
 
Book Cover: Publication Manual of the American Psychological AssociationBook Cover: Displaying Your Findings


American Psychological Association (APA): APA Style
APA Examples by Resource Type pdf  
Emmanuel College Library.

Basics of APA style
American Psychological Association
 
ASA Citation Style
Style Guide / American Sociological Association (5th ed.) REFERENCE DESK HM 73 .A547 2014
 
Book Cover: ASA Style Guide
Citation Management Tool
Additional Resources

Last updated: Jun 28th 2017