Cardinal Cushing Library
SOC3103 - Subedi


 Book cover: Displaying your findings Book Cover: Classical Sociological Theory Book Cover: Appyling Social Statistics  Book Cover: Class, Race, Gender & Crime Book Cover: Health Disparities in the United States  Book Cover: A Sociology of Family Life
Selected Journals and Article Databases
FAQs
  
Restricted Resource = Emmanuel Faculty, Staff & Students only
 

Selected Sociology Journals Restricted Resource

Article Databases Ranked by Relevance

Access Library resources through Google Scholar .
Evaluation is critical when using GoogleScholar. Results will include more than just scholarly books and published articles.
Emmanuel College Library Contact
Diane Zydlewski
Associate Librarian for Reference, Instruction, and Outreach
zydlewsd@emmanuel.edu | 617-735-9927
Books (Print and E-Books)
General Considerations
  1. Explore the web sites of the specific government/private agencies based on your topic, e.g. U.S. Department of Labor.
  2. Explore research articles on your topic and identify the datasets that are commonly used.
  3. Search the following resources:
  4. When searching the internet using Google.com, includes site:.gov or site:.edu in your search phrase (to limit your results to governmental or educational web sites, respectively).
    Example: "higher education" and (statistics or dataset or "data set") and site:.gov
Crime and Justice
Bureau of Justice Statistics
Office of Justice Programs.

National Crime Victimization Survey (NCVS)

National Institute of Correction: Corrections Statistics by State

National Juvenile Court Data Archives Uniform Crime Reports (FBI)
The FBI’s “starting place for law enforcement executives, students of criminal justice, researchers, members of the media, and the public at large seeking” national statistics on violent crime and property crime.  The UCR Data Tool enables custom table building using data going back to 1960.

Youth Risk Behavior Surveillance System (YRBSS)
Education
Civil Rights Data Collection
"Wide-ranging education education access and equity data collected from our nation's public schools."

National Center for Education Statistics
"The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education." 
  • Explore the Data and Tools option from the top menu, which include IPEDS Analytics: Delta Cost Project Database.
     
The Campus Safety and Security Data Analysis Cutting Tool


Additionally, explore the following guides:
Massachusetts Statistics

Also, explore the other resources on this guide for information by state.
Statistical/Demographic Information
Note: For country statistics, see the Research Guide: Country Information. For education statistics, see the Research Guide: Education.

Childstats.gov
"The Federal Interagency Forum on Child and Family Statistics (Forum) is a collection of 22 Federal government agencies involved in research and activities related to children and families."

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
Guidelines, health information, and comprehensive information on health-related statistics.

Current Population Survey (CPS)
“The Current Population Survey (CPS), sponsored jointly by the U.S. Census Bureau and the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS), is the primary source of labor force statistics for the population of the United States.”

Gapminder
Presents statistical data on Global trends and issues with animated presentations, and interactive, customizable charts.

National Center for Health Statistics
Provides "statistical information that will guide actions and policies to improve the health of the American people." 

Social Capital Community Benchmark Survey
Access the Data for the 2006 survey through the Roper Center (http://ropercenter.cornell.edu/2006-social-capital-community-benchmark-survey/)

Statistical Abstract of the United States, 1789 - 2012
Contains "statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States." Continues annually as ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States, beginning with 2013.  
REFERENCE HA 202 .S73  [Check Availability]

U.S. Census Bureau
Click on the Geography tab to find interactive maps and the Data tab to find data tools and visualizations.
U.S. Department of Labor: Bureau of Labor Statistics

WDI World Development Indicators (The World Bank Group)
World Bank Group's World Development Indicators.


World Health Organization (WHO)
Explore the menu options of DataProgrammes, and Countries.
APA Citation Style
FAQs



Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (6th ed.) REFERENCE DESK BF 76.7 .P83 2010

Displaying your findings: A practical guide for creating figures, posters, and presentations (Print) REFERENCE BF76.8 .N53 2010

 
Book Cover: Publication Manual of the American Psychological AssociationBook Cover: Displaying Your Findings


American Psychological Association (APA): APA Style
APA Examples by Resource Type pdf  
Emmanuel College Library.

Basics of APA style
American Psychological Association
 
ASA Citation Style
Style Guide / American Sociological Association (5th ed.) REFERENCE DESK HM 73 .A547 2014
 
Book Cover: ASA Style Guide
Citation Management Tool
Additional Resources

Last updated: Jun 28th 2017