Cardinal Cushing Library
SOC2705 - Križ/Vamvakas


Selected Article Databases (A-Z)

FAQs

 
 
  • Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource
    Multidisciplinary database with extensive full-text coverage in biology, chemistry, engineering, physics, psychology, religion, theology and other disciplines in the humanities. Indexes 8,450 publications with full text for more than 4,600 of those titles (more than 3,900 are peer-reviewed). PDF backfiles to 1975 or earlier for more than one hundred journals. Searchable cited references for more than 1,000 publications.
  • AGRICOLA: (AGRICultural OnLine Access) Unrestricted Resource
    "Database of citations to the agricultural literature created by the National Agricultural Library and its cooperators." Encompasses agricultural, veterinary, plant, forestry, aquaculture and fisheries, farming, food and human nutrition, and environmental sciences.
  • CountryWatch Restricted Resource
    Provides country-specific intelligence and data on all countries, including daily news coverage, intelligence briefings, and up-to-date articles from regional news wire services across the globe.
  • EconLit™ with Full Text Restricted Resource
    Published by the American Economic Association; provides full-text for nearly 600 publications including titles from the American Economic Association (all with no embargo), such as: American Economic Review, Journal of Economic Literature, and Journal of Economic Perspectives; citations and abstracts to economic research dating back to 1969, covering all fields of economics, including capital markets, country studies, econometrics, economic forecasting, environmental economics, government regulations, labor economics, monetary theory, and urban economics.
  • GreenFILE Restricted Resource
    A "collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles" concerning the environmental impact of humans. "Includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as open access, full text for more than 4,700 records."
  • JSTOR Restricted Resource
    A total of more than 900 full-text scholarly journal titles in an online archive beginning with the first issue of each title. The archive includes nine JSTOR Arts and Sciences Collections. In JSTOR, there is usually a time lag in full-text content. Use JSTOR in conjunction with our current online databases and print holdings.
    (See also Example of a Search in JSTOR pdf)
  • Project MUSE® Restricted Resource
    Offers over 400 quality journal titles from nearly 100 not-for-profit publishers. Project MUSE® covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.
  • Science Direct (Elsevier) Restricted Resource
    Access to full text of over 2,500 scholarly, peer-reviewed journals in the areas of: Biochemistry; Business and Management; Genetics and Molecular Biology; Chemistry; Immunology and Microbiology; Medicine; Psychology; and Social Science. Includes recently-accepted articles in press.
  • SocINDEX with Full Text Restricted Resource
    This index features more than 2.1 million records with subject headings from a more than 20,000 term sociology-specific thesaurus designed by expert lexicographers. SocINDEX with Full Text contains full text for more than 860 journals dating back to 1908. This database also includes full text for more than 830 books and monographs, and full text for over 16,800 conference papers.
Search for Books
 

 
Required texts (through ebrary)
 

Selected reference works (through Credo Reference)
 

Selected ebooks with unlimited access
 

Search individual e-book collections
Intergovernmental Organizations
The entities listed below, in addition to participating in sustainable development, often produce substantial research on the topic.  This work may be found on their websites (e.g. under "Publications" or "Research") as book-length subject introductions or analyses, annual reports, white papers/articles, etc.
 
United Nations Programs and Divisions
Regional Development Banks
Statistics and Indices
These resources provide current and historical economic and social data.  The indices listed below are a few holistic alternatives to traditional indicators of economic development like Gross Domestic Product (GDP).
 
Open Educational Resources (OER)
UNESCO defines Open Educational Resources (OER) as "any type of educational materials that are in the public domain or introduced with an open license....[A]nyone can legally and freely copy, use, adapt and re-share them. OERs range from textbooks to curricula, syllabi, lecture notes, assignments, tests, projects, audio, video and animation."  Read the 2012 Paris OER Declaration for additional information.

Relevant OER collections include:
  • OER Commons
    Created by the Institute for the Study of Knowledge Management in Education.  It contains nearly 60,000 diverse college-level materials. Includes a tool called Open Author for creating and sharing text or multimedia learning resources.
  • MERLOT
    A repository hosted at California State University that contains over 40,000 materials, many of which have undergone some level of peer review.  It contains both unique resources and resources redistributed from other sites, with material types ranging from textbooks and videos to case studies and quizzes.  Offers a tool to edit and “remix” existing open resources or to create and share your own.
  • TED Talks - Sustainability
    "TED is a nonprofit devoted to spreading ideas, usually in the form of short, powerful talks (18 minutes or less)." Note: TED Talks are not completely open resources; see the usage policy for more information.

Last updated: Jun 28th 2017