Cardinal Cushing Library
SOC1107 - Križ


General Country Information
Business Source Premier Restricted Resource
Resource Type: Article Database
Choose the Publications tab at the top of the page. Enter Country Profile in Browse Publications text box. Select Subject & Description search type found below the text box. Search returns an alphabetized list of country reports. Past year’s reports may be available.


CountryWatch Restricted Resource
Provides country-specific intelligence and data on all countries, including daily news coverage, intelligence briefings, and up-to-date articles from regional news wire services across the globe.


WDI World Development Indicators (The World Bank Group) Unrestricted Resource
World Bank Group's World Development Indicators.


See also Research Guide -- Country Information.

(top)
Peer-Reviewed Articles Resources
Considerations for searching the below databases:
  • Limit to peer-reviewed articles in databases that contain content that is both peer reviewed and non-peer reviewed.
  • Read the description of each database to determine its content. For example, Project Muse® and JSTOR contain only scholarly articles.
     


Database Resources:

SocINDEX with Full Text Restricted Resource
This index features more than 2.1 million records with subject headings from a more than 20,000 term sociology-specific thesaurus designed by expert lexicographers. SocINDEX with Full Text contains full text for more than 860 journals dating back to 1908. This database also includes full text for more than 830 books and monographs, and full text for over 16,800 conference papers.

Project MUSE® Restricted Resource
Offers over 400 quality journal titles from nearly 100 not-for-profit publishers. Project MUSE® covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.

JSTOR Restricted Resource
A total of more than 900 full-text scholarly journal titles in an online archive beginning with the first issue of each title. The archive includes nine JSTOR Arts and Sciences Collections. In JSTOR, there is usually a time lag in full-text content. Use JSTOR in conjunction with our current online databases and print holdings.
(See also Example of a Search in JSTOR pdf)

EconLit™ with Full Text Restricted Resource
Published by the American Economic Association; provides full-text for nearly 600 publications including titles from the American Economic Association (all with no embargo), such as: American Economic Review, Journal of Economic Literature, and Journal of Economic Perspectives; citations and abstracts to economic research dating back to 1969, covering all fields of economics, including capital markets, country studies, econometrics, economic forecasting, environmental economics, government regulations, labor economics, monetary theory, and urban economics.


Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource
Multidisciplinary database with extensive full-text coverage in biology, chemistry, engineering, physics, psychology, religion, theology and other disciplines in the humanities. Indexes 8,450 publications with full text for more than 4,600 of those titles (more than 3,900 are peer-reviewed). PDF backfiles to 1975 or earlier for more than one hundred journals. Searchable cited references for more than 1,000 publications.

Academic OneFile (1980 - current) Restricted Resource
Contains peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources; extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature, and other subjects. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1985. Millions of full-text articles, updated daily.


ProQuest Central Restricted Resource
A multidisciplinary resource providing the largest aggregated full-text database in the market today totaling more than 12,665 titles - with over 9,745 titles in full text. Covers more than 160 subject areas, including business and economics, health and medical, news and world affairs, technology, social sciences and more. Provides over 400 full-text U.S., Canadian and international newspapers; nearly 30,000 full-text dissertations in the areas of business, psychology, physical sciences, health, education; and nearly 9,000 market reports for business information for 43 industries in 40 countries.


Science Direct (Elsevier) Restricted Resource
Access to full text of over 2,500 scholarly, peer-reviewed journals in the areas of: Biochemistry; Business and Management; Genetics and Molecular Biology; Chemistry; Immunology and Microbiology; Medicine; Psychology; and Social Science. Includes recently-accepted articles in press.

Explore the other Research Guides for further database options.

(top
Book Resources (print and electronic)
  • To find books on your topic, use the Online Catalog or select one of the E-book collections listed below to search individual electronic collections.
  • Searching the individual E-book collections allows you to perform full-text book searches.


ProQuest Ebook Central Restricted Resource
A new e-book platform from ProQuest combining ebrary and EBL content in one location.  ProQuest Ebook Central provides ebooks from scholarly sources, including University Presses and other top publishers.To create a personal bookshelf or to access off-campus, sign in using your Emmanuel username and password.


Selected Reference Resources
 
  • Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology REFERENCE HM 425 .B53 2007
  • Encyclopedia of Criminology REFERENCE HV 6017 .E5295 2005
  • Encyclopedia of Education (2003) Restricted Resource
  • Encyclopedia of Food and Culture Restricted Resource
  • Encyclopedia of Religion, 2005 Restricted Resource
  • Encyclopedia of Sociology Reference HM 425 .E5 2000
  • International Encyclopedia of Marriage and Family REFERENCE HQ 9 .E52 2003
  • Macmillan Encyclopedia of Death and Dying REFERENCE HQ 1073 .M33 2003
  • Political Handbook of the World REFERENCE JF37 .P6
  • Statesman's Yearbook REFERENCE JA51 .S7
  • World Religions : Western Traditions REFERENCE BL 80.2 .W674 1996
  • Worldmark Encyclopedia of Religious Practices REFERENCE BL 80.3 .W67 2006

(top)
Writing Resources: Citations
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (6th ed.) REFERENCE DESK BF 76.7 .P83 2010

Basics of APA style Unrestricted Resource
Tutorial created by the American Psychological Association (APA).
Note: Works best in Firefox. If using Chrome, click on the circled "i" in the address bar to display a drop-down menu.

Change the drop-down setting for "Flash" to "Always Allow on this Site." Click on the "X" at the top right of the drop-down menu to close it and, then, click on the "Reload" button.

APA Style Blog Unrestricted Resource
Search Blog for APA style questions not readily located in the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association.

Assembling a List of Works Cited in Your Paper Unrestricted Resource
Duke University Libraries

APA (American Psychological Association) Citation Style Unrestricted Resource



Citation Management
See also the Research Guide: Writing Resources.

(top)
Emmanuel College Library: First Floor
Emmanuel College Library: First Floor
Emmanuel College Library: First Floor
Emmanuel College Library: First Floor
Emmanuel College Library: First Floor

Last updated: Jun 28th 2017