Cardinal Cushing Library
Psychology


Article Databases
FAQs  

Restricted Resource = Emmanuel Faculty, Staff & Students only

Article Databases: Ranked by Relevance

PsycINFO (1887 - present) Restricted Resource
This database, provided by the American Psychological Association, contains indexing and abstracts for over 3 million articles. Most covered materials are from peer-reviewed publications. Links to available full-text in other EBSCO databases including PsycARTICLES®.
  • Use Academic Search Premier and click on Choose Databases (above the search boxes) to search PsychInfo along with other Ebsco Databases.
  • PsycARTICLES Restricted Resource
    PsycARTICLES® covers general psychology and specialized, basic, applied, clinical and theoretical research from 1894 to the present. The database contains more than 153,000 articles from nearly 80 journals published by the American Psychological Association and allied organizations. It includes all articles, letters to the editor, and errata from each journal. A PsycINFO search will link to full text in PsycARTICLES®.

Science Direct (Elsevier) Restricted Resource
Access to full text of over 2,500 scholarly, peer-reviewed journals in the areas of: Biochemistry; Business and Management; Genetics and Molecular Biology; Chemistry; Immunology and Microbiology; Medicine; Psychology; and Social Science. Includes recently-accepted articles in press.

PubMed
PubMed comprises more than 24 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
Note: Click on "Find it@Emmanuel" in the upper right of the detailed article record to link to Emmanuel Full-Text resources.

Medline (EBSCO) Restricted Resource
MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree numbers, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from approximately 5,400 current biomedical journals.

CINAHL with Full Text Restricted Resource
Provides indexing for more than 3,000 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health. The database contains more than 2.3 million records dating back to 1981. Includes full text for more than 610 journals, plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials. PDF backfiles to 1981.

Health and Medical Complete (ProQuest) Restricted Resource
ProQuest Health and Medical Complete™ combines the clinical research titles available in ProQuest Medical Library™ with hundreds of additional consumer and health administration titles. ProQuest Health and Medical Complete provides in-depth coverage from over 1,500 publications with almost 1,300 available in full text and of these, over 900 include MEDLINE® indexing.
Search for Books
 

Reference Books (Print and Electronic)
General
  • Social Psychology Network
    Resources for social psychology, general psychology, and electronic forums. "Social Psych Topics" include links organized by subject. Wesleyan University.
Theorists/Theories
  • Classics in the History of Psychology
    Full text of historical psychology books, articles and chapters in the public domain. Documents are organized by author and topic. Also searchable. York University, Toronto, Canada.
  • Personality Project
    Briefly annotated lists of websites on the psychological study of personality.
    Dr. William Revelle, Northwestern University.
Assoc./Gov./Org.

Last updated: Jun 28th 2017