Cardinal Cushing Library
POLSC4100 - Silver


Related Research Guides
Note:  Certain resources are listed on multiple guides.

Political Science 

Statistical Information

History

Country Information

Newspapers

Law/Legal

(top)
Databases
  • Lexis-Nexis Academic Restricted Resource
    Resource Type: Newspaper Database, Article Database
    An interdisciplinary, full-text database of over 18,000 sources focusing on current news and business, government/legal, and medical issues.

    • Use the Look up a Legal Case box, in the top center of the page, to look up a case by citation, by parties, or by topic.
    • Click on Search by Content Type for additional options. Choices include Federal & State Cases, Shepards Citations, Federal Statutes, State Statutes along with International Legal options.

     
  • JSTOR Restricted Resource
    A total of more than 900 full-text scholarly journal titles in an online archive beginning with the first issue of each title. The archive includes nine JSTOR Arts and Sciences Collections. In JSTOR, there is usually a time lag in full-text content. Use JSTOR in conjunction with our current online databases and print holdings.
    (See also Example of a Search in JSTOR pdf)
     
  • Project MUSEĀ® Restricted Resource
    Offers over 400 quality journal titles from nearly 100 not-for-profit publishers. Project MUSE® covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.
     
  • EconLitā„¢ with Full Text Restricted Resource
    Published by the American Economic Association; provides full-text for nearly 600 publications including titles from the American Economic Association (all with no embargo), such as: American Economic Review, Journal of Economic Literature, and Journal of Economic Perspectives; citations and abstracts to economic research dating back to 1969, covering all fields of economics, including capital markets, country studies, econometrics, economic forecasting, environmental economics, government regulations, labor economics, monetary theory, and urban economics.

     
Other resources
 
  • Google Scholar Restricted Resource
    Look for Full-Text at Emmanuel at the right of articles retrieved. In some cases you may need to click on the more option below the item record to access the Full-Text at Emmanuel link.
     
  • OpenDOAR (Directory of Open Access Repositories) Unrestricted Resource
    "The OpenDOAR service provides a quality-assured listing of open access repositories around the world. OpenDOAR staff harvest and assign metadata to allow categorisation and analysis to assist the wider use and exploitation of repositories."
    SHERPA Services, University of Nottingham


(top)
Evaluation
EVALUATION—Finding the best content possible in print or online
Ask two questions: 
  1. Is the source credible in its own right? 
  2. Is the source useful for my own paper topic?
 
  • Credibility of the author (credentials include: degrees held; affiliation; prior publications)
 
  • Credibility of a website (evaluation of a website includes: publisher’s information, whether a corporate entity or individual; maintenance date; link to the author/maintainer’s biographical information; domain; intended audience; references for sources of content)
 
  • Accuracy  of information
    Question an author’s data gathering:  What are the sources?  Are sources easily identifiable using the references given? Is the information biased or outdated? Does age matter in relation to the topic?
 
  • Verifying primary sources
    Have you found the origin of a primary source?  (This is especially important when you are using information found online.)
 
If credible, is the source useful for my topic?
  • Is the level or type of information appropriate? (Topical encyclopedias provide helpful background information, and they may be included in your citations, but these are not central to your discussion at the senior seminar level.)
  • Is the work a case study or quantitative or qualitative analysis?  Be aware of these different types of research.
  • Am I able to handle the material well? (Be aware of using material that you don’t understand completely.  This may tempt you to use ideas that are not your own and lead to unintentional plagiarism.)
Evaluate as you search.  Technology is fast and indiscriminate—it can pull in anything.  Read abstracts and scan potentially helpful articles before you print them to avoid being overwhelmed by paper later on.  At this point, think and make notes on how a source relates to your work.



(top)
Web Resources
 Voting Behavior/Campaign Strategies
  • Pew Research Center Unrestricted Resource
    The Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan "fact tank" that provides information on the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. It does not take positions on policy issues. Click on Datasets link to find statistical reports arranged by broad research areas and to download data sets. Select Topics link to search by subject or among polling questions.  
  • United States Elections Project

Supreme Court
Civil rights/liberties
  • U.S. Commission on Civil Rights Unrestricted Resource
    Public information regarding the investigation and study of discrimination. Use the top menu to review press releases, find a regional office, file a complaint, or access USCCR publications.

Ethics


Gender and government
  • Gender Data Portal Unrestricted Resource
    "The Gender Data Portal is the World Bank Group’s comprehensive source for the latest sex-disaggregated data and gender statistics covering demography, education, health, access to economic opportunities, public life and decision-making, and agency."
  • Rutgers Center for American Women and Politics
 
Economics
(top)
Selected Reference Works

Selected Reference Books
E-Book Collections Other Resources (top)
Citation

Last updated: Jun 28th 2017