Cardinal Cushing Library
POLSC3415 - Martin


Welcome to the Library's course guide for POLSC 3415, Issues of People and Politics in the Middle East: Political Islam and Women in the Middle East.   This guide provides a gateway to the rich array of resources available in print, in our subscription databases, and freely online. 
Article Databases
The links below provide access to scholarly articles and similar materials.  Sometimes the same journal (e.g. Foreign Affairs) is housed in multiple databases.  If you have a specific citation, or wish to browse a particular journal, type the journal name into the Library's Full-Text Finder.  For news articles, consult the Newspapers research guide listed at the right.

CountryWatch Restricted Resource
Provides country-specific intelligence and data on all countries, including daily news coverage, intelligence briefings, and up-to-date articles from regional news wire services across the globe.

JSTOR Restricted Resource
A total of more than 900 full-text scholarly journal titles in an online archive beginning with the first issue of each title. The archive includes nine JSTOR Arts and Sciences Collections. In JSTOR, there is usually a time lag in full-text content. Use JSTOR in conjunction with our current online databases and print holdings.
(See also Example of a Search in JSTOR pdf)

Project MUSE® Restricted Resource
Offers over 400 quality journal titles from nearly 100 not-for-profit publishers. Project MUSE® covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.

Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource
Multidisciplinary database with extensive full-text coverage in biology, chemistry, engineering, physics, psychology, religion, theology and other disciplines in the humanities. Indexes 8,450 publications with full text for more than 4,600 of those titles (more than 3,900 are peer-reviewed). PDF backfiles to 1975 or earlier for more than one hundred journals. Searchable cited references for more than 1,000 publications.

Academic OneFile (1980 - current) Restricted Resource
Contains peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources; extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature, and other subjects. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1985. Millions of full-text articles, updated daily.

Military & Government Collection Restricted Resource
Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government, this database offers a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals, and other content pertinent to the increasing needs of those sites. It provides cover-to-cover full text for nearly 300 journals and periodicals and indexing and abstracts for nearly 400 titles.

ATLA Religion Database Restricted Resource
American Theological Library Association's index of journal articles, essays, book reviews, and other research material on "Biblical studies, world religions, church history, and religious perspectives on social issues."

ProQuest Religion Restricted Resource
Provides “international periodicals for diverse religious and spiritual studies, covering formal theological studies of major religions, as well as the most recent trends and scholarly thought.”

CQ Researcher Restricted Resource
A good starting point for issues in the news.
 
Search for Books
 
 
Reference Books (Print and Electronic)
Related Research Guides
Note:  Certain resources are listed on multiple guides.
Government/IGO Resources on the Web
Following are links to official U.S. Government resources and those of select intergovernmental organizations producing information and analysis on the Middle East.  Search the List of Foreign Government Websites for government agencies in specific countries (e.g. Israel's Ministry of Foreign Affairs). For a more comprehensive list of IGOs, review the List of Intergovernmental Organizations given below.

World Factbook
Provides country overview and information on geography, people, government, economy, communications, and more. Listed by country and information type. Prepared by the CIA, print updated annually, web site updated weekly.

List of Foreign Government Websites
Resource Type: Web Site
Access to websites of various branches of foreign governments, alphabetically listed, compiled by Northwestern University Library.

List of Intergovernmental Organizations
Resource Type: Web Site
Alphabetical list of IGOs maintained by Northwestern University Library.

U.S. Department of State - Bureau of Near Eastern Affairs
"Deals with U.S. foreign policy and U.S. diplomatic relations with" the states and territories in the Middle East region. "Regional policy issues that NEA handles include Iraq, Middle East peace, terrorism and weapons of mass destruction, and political and economic reform."

World Bank - Middle East and North Africa
A landing page for World Bank research, news, and statistics related to the region.

UN Information System on the Question of Palestine (UNISPAL) - Documents Collection
“Contains the texts of current and historical United Nations material concerning the question of Palestine and other issues related to the Middle East situation and the search for peace.”

European Union Institute for Security Studies - Middle East and North Africa
Regional page of the European Union Institute for Security Studies (EUISS), the EU's "agency dealing with the analysis of foreign, security and defense policy issues.

UN Women
"UN Women, among other issues, works for the elimination of discrimination against women and girls; empowerment of women; and achievement of equality between women and men as partners and beneficiaries of development, human rights, humanitarian action and peace and security."

UN Women Watch
Provides "information and resources on the promotion of gender equality and the empowerment of women throughout the United Nations system.” Maintained by the United Nations Inter-Agency Network on Women and Gender Equality (IANWGE).
 
Related Research Guides
Note:  Certain resources are listed on multiple guides.
Think Tanks/Other Web Sites
Following are links to prominent think tanks providing analysis on the Middle East, as well as select online resources compiled by other academic organizations.  Dr. Martin's syllabus contains a more thorough list of recommendations. (An extensive list of think tanks is also included in CIAO.  Click on “Working Papers” in the upper left and make a selection; a URL for each organization‘s website is given at the top of each page.)

Carnegie Middle East Center
“An independent policy research institute based in Beirut, Lebanon, and part of the Carnegie Endowment for International Peace. The center provides in-depth analysis of the political, socioeconomic, and security issues facing the Middle East and North Africa.”

Brookings Doha Center
"Based in Qatar, the Brookings Doha Center is an overseas center of the Brookings Institution in Washington, D.C., that advances high-quality, independent policy analysis and research on the Middle East."

Middle East Institute
“The oldest Washington-based institution dedicated solely to the study of the Middle East."

Council on Foreign Relations - Middle East and North Africa
Portal to CFR analysis of the region.  Use the dropdown menu to filter resources by topic, publication type, and year.

International Crisis Group - Middle East and North Africa
“An independent, non-profit, non-governmental organization committed to preventing and resolving deadly conflict.”

Rubin Center for Research in International Affairs (IDC Herzliya, Israel)
A research center focused “on the modern Middle East and its relations with other regions.”  Content is a combination of articles, multimedia, and e-books.

Pew Research Global Attitudes Project – Middle East and North Africa
Public opinion research related to the MENA region. Primarily analyses of regional publics (e.g. the Turkish public's view of Turkey's direction), but includes global public opinion as well (e.g. global attitudes toward Iran).

Arab Barometer
A multinational effort to "produce scientifically reliable data on the politically-relevant attitudes of ordinary citizens" in the region.

Gulf/2000 Project
A project of Columbia University's School of International and Public Affairs "designed to make available in a single location a wealth of information on the eight countries of the Persian Gulf region."  Resources include country-specific information and links (through the "Visit a Country" tab) and an extensive collection of current and historical maps.

Middle East Studies: News Sources
A listing of mostly English-language news sources based in or otherwise focused on the Middle East. Broken down by country and focus/media type. Maintained by Georgia State University Library.

The Middle East 1916-2001: A Documentary Record
Provides access to important historical documents related to the region.  Maintained by the Avalon Project at Yale University Law School.

Women Living Under Muslim Laws (WLUML)
"An international solidarity network that provides information, support and a collective space for women whose lives are shaped, conditioned or governed by laws and customs said to derive from Islam."  Research and editorial content are available via the various tabs at the top of the page.

Islamopedia Online
"The mission of Islamopedia Online is to provide access to news and background analysis on Muslim countries and Islamic topics that are often absent from Western media because of language barriers or lack of familiarity with the country, the issues or players at stake." Part of the Islam in the West Program, hosted by Harvard University's Alwaleed Islamic Studies Program. 

Ahlul Bayt Digital Islamic Library Project
A project whose goal is to "digitize and present on the Internet quality Islamic resources, related to the history, law, practice, and society of the Islamic religion and the Muslim peoples, with particular emphasis on Twelver Shia Islamic school of thought."
 
Encyclopædia Iranica
"Dedicated to the study of Iranian civilization in the Middle East, the Caucasus, Central Asia and the Indian Subcontinent."  An international project based at Columbia University.
 
 
Related Research Guides
Note:  Certain resources are listed on multiple guides.
Citing Sources

Last updated: Jun 28th 2017