Cardinal Cushing Library
POLSC3301 - Gabriele


Introduction
Welcome to the Library's course guide for POLSC 3301: Comparative Politics of Developing Countries.  This guide provides a gateway to the rich array of resources available in print, in our subscription databases, and freely online.  Recommended resources are grouped into broad categories, shown by the tabs at the top of the guide.  Please also consider the "Related Research Guides" listed at the right.
Related Research Guides
Note:  Certain resources are listed on multiple guides.
General Reference Works
Following are examples of print and electronic reference books that provide general country information and information related to development.  Also consider searching our library catalog directly.

Print Resources
  • Statesman's Yearbook (REFERENCE JA51 .S7) 
    Published annually, this resource contains a listing of international organizations and country profiles.
  • Political Handbook of the World (REFERENCE JF37 .P6) 
    Provides government and intergovernmental organization data. Available in print from 1994/95 to present, updated annually. Published by Congressional Quarterly Inc.
  • Oxford Companion to Politics of the World (REFERENCE JA61 .O95 2001) 
  • Encyclopedia of International Relations and Global Politics (REFERENCE JZ1160 .E53x 2005) 
  • World Encyclopedia of Political Systems and Parties (REFERENCE JF2011 .W67 2006)
  • Dictionary of Human Rights (REFERENCE K3239.3 .R67 2004) 

E-Books
Related Research Guides
Note:  Certain resources are listed on multiple guides.
Article Databases
The links below provide access to scholarly articles and similar materials.  Sometimes the same journal (e.g. Journal of Democracy) is housed in multiple databases.  If you have a specific citation, or wish to browse a particular journal, type the journal name into the Library's Full-Text Finder.  For news articles, consult the Newspapers research guide listed at the right.



JSTOR Restricted Resource
A total of more than 900 full-text scholarly journal titles in an online archive beginning with the first issue of each title. The archive includes nine JSTOR Arts and Sciences Collections. In JSTOR, there is usually a time lag in full-text content. Use JSTOR in conjunction with our current online databases and print holdings.
(See also Example of a Search in JSTOR pdf)

Project MUSEĀ® Restricted Resource
Offers over 400 quality journal titles from nearly 100 not-for-profit publishers. Project MUSE® covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.

CQ Researcher Restricted Resource
A good starting point for issues in the news.

Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource
Multidisciplinary database with extensive full-text coverage in biology, chemistry, engineering, physics, psychology, religion, theology and other disciplines in the humanities. Indexes 8,450 publications with full text for more than 4,600 of those titles (more than 3,900 are peer-reviewed). PDF backfiles to 1975 or earlier for more than one hundred journals. Searchable cited references for more than 1,000 publications.

Academic OneFile (1980 - current) Restricted Resource
Contains peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources; extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature, and other subjects. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1985. Millions of full-text articles, updated daily.

Military & Government Collection Restricted Resource
Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government, this database offers a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals, and other content pertinent to the increasing needs of those sites. It provides cover-to-cover full text for nearly 300 journals and periodicals and indexing and abstracts for nearly 400 titles.

EconLitā„¢ with Full Text Restricted Resource
Published by the American Economic Association; provides full-text for nearly 600 publications including titles from the American Economic Association (all with no embargo), such as: American Economic Review, Journal of Economic Literature, and Journal of Economic Perspectives; citations and abstracts to economic research dating back to 1969, covering all fields of economics, including capital markets, country studies, econometrics, economic forecasting, environmental economics, government regulations, labor economics, monetary theory, and urban economics.

CountryWatch Restricted Resource
Provides country-specific intelligence and data on all countries, including daily news coverage, intelligence briefings, and up-to-date articles from regional news wire services across the globe.
Related Research Guides
Note:  Certain resources are listed on multiple guides.
Intergovernmental Organizations
United Nations
Resource Type: Web Site

United Nations Development Programme

UNdata: A World of Information
Searches include a keyword Data search (default), a Glossary, and a Country Profiles search (found under More). To find direct links to the national statistics offices of many countries go to More and select About UNdata. Next, in the left column click Country links to UNdata. Provided by the United Nations Statistics Division (UNSD) of the Department of Economic and Social Affairs (DESA).

UN Women Watch
Provides "information and resources on the promotion of gender equality and the empowerment of women throughout the United Nations system.” Maintained by the United Nations Inter-Agency Network on Women and Gender Equality (IANWGE).

International Monetary Fund (IMF)
Select Countries  from the top menu to access IMF reports and publications arranged by country.

Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD)
Presents comparable statistics regarding economic, social and environmental data for the international community. Explore the statistics by selecting the Data tab from the top menu and, then, browse by Topic or Country.

World Bank
Select the Data tab from the top menu to browse data By Country and Indicators. Other menu options found on The World Bank home page include Research and Countries.

World Bank - Open Knowledge Repository
“The World Bank’s official open access repository for its research outputs and knowledge products.” Materials range from short briefs on specific topics to full-text e-books.

WDI World Development Indicators (The World Bank Group)
World Bank Group's World Development Indicators.

Resource Guide on Microfinance
Produced by the International Labor Organization.

CGAP Microfinance Gateway
"CGAP (the Consultative Group to Assist the Poor) is a global partnership of 34 leading organizations that seek to advance financial inclusion....Housed at the World Bank, CGAP combines a pragmatic approach to responsible market development with an evidence-based advocacy platform to increase access to the financial services the poor need to improve their lives."

List of Intergovernmental Organizations
Resource Type: Web Site
Alphabetical list of IGOs maintained by Northwestern University Library.
Think Tanks/NGOs
Carnegie Endowment for International Peace
"The oldest international affairs think tank in the United States."

Brookings Institution
A "nonprofit public policy organization based in Washington, DC."  Search by topic and use the "Expert" tab by country or region to access articles by experts in a specific region.

Quality of Government Institute
Resource Type: Web Site
The Institute's main objective is "to address the theoretical and empirical problem of how political institutions of high quality can be created and maintained." Based at the University of Gothenburg, Sweden. 

National Endowment for Democracy
Resource Type: Web Site
"A private, nonprofit foundation dedicated to the growth and strengthening of democratic institutions around the world. Each year, with funding from the US Congress, NED supports more than 1,000 projects of non-governmental groups abroad who are working for democratic goals in more than 90 countries."

Center for Global Development
Areas of research include "aid effectiveness, climate change, education, globalization, health, migration and trade."

International Institute for Sustainable Development
Resource Type: Web Site
The Canada-based IISD engages in "policy research, information exchange, analysis, and advocacy" to support sustainability efforts around the world.

Freedom House


Human Rights Watch
An international, nongovernmental organization focused on human rights research and advocacy that annually “publishes more than 100 reports and briefings on human rights conditions in some 90 countries.”  To find information for a specific country, go to the Countries drop-down menu and use the Search by Country Name option or browse by continent.

International Federation for Human Rights (FIDH)
To find information on a specific country, go to the Regions drop-down menu and choose a continent. Then, you may search by country, issue, and/or content type.
 
Transparency International
Resource Type: Web Site
A global advocacy and research organization whose "mission is to stop corruption and promote transparency, accountability and integrity at all levels and across all sectors of society."

Amnesty International
“A worldwide movement of people who campaign for internationally recognized human rights for all.” Provides news feeds, human rights information by country, and more.
Global Public Opinion
Pew Research: Global Attitudes Project
Resource Type: Web Site
"Conducts public opinion surveys around the world on a broad array of subjects ranging from people’s assessments of their own lives to their views about the current state of the world and important issues of the day."

Latin American Public Opinion Project (LAPOP)
"Every two years it carries out the AmericasBarometer survey, which currently covers 26 nations including all of North, Central and South America, and the Caribbean."  Based at Vanderbilt University

European Commission: Public Opinion
“The website for the Public Opinion Analysis sector of the European Commission.”

Afrobarometer
“An African-led series of national public attitude surveys on democracy and governance in Africa.”

Asianbarometer
“An applied research program on public opinion on political values, democracy, and governance around the region.”
Related Research Guides
Note:  Certain resources are listed on multiple guides.
Citing Sources

Last updated: Jun 28th 2017