Cardinal Cushing Library
POLSC1401 - Vamvakas


Introduction
Welcome to the Library's course guide for POLSC 1401: Introduction to International Relations.  This guide provides a gateway to the rich array of resources available in print, in our subscription databases, and freely online.  Recommended resources are grouped into broad categories, shown by the tabs at the top of the guide.  Please also consider the "Related Research Guides" listed at the right.
Related Research Guides
Note:  Certain resources are listed on multiple guides.
General Reference Works
Following are examples of print and electronic reference books that provide general country information as well as introductions to major areas of international relations.  Also consider searching our library catalog directly.

NOTE: EBLebrary, and Books at JSTOR include electronic books and reports from organizations such as the Brookings Institution, the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD), the RAND Corporation, and many others.  Search these collections by publisher to see available titles.

Print Resources
  • Research and Writing in International Relations (REFERENCE JZ1234 .S77 2012) 
  • Statesman's Yearbook (REFERENCE JA51 .S7) 
    Published annually, this resource contains a listing of international organizations and country profiles.
  • Political Handbook of the World (REFERENCE JF37 .P6) 
    Provides government and intergovernmental organization data. Available in print from 1994/95 to present, updated annually. Published by Congressional Quarterly Inc.
  • Oxford Companion to Politics of the World (REFERENCE JA61 .O95 2001) 
  • Encyclopedia of International Relations and Global Politics (REFERENCE JZ1160 .E53x 2005) 
  • International Law (REFERENCE KZ3275 .S53 2003) 
  • Dictionary of Human Rights (REFERENCE K3239.3 .R67 2004) 

E-Books
Related Research Guides
Note:  Certain resources are listed on multiple guides.
Article Databases
The links below provide access to scholarly articles and similar materials.  Sometimes the same journal (e.g. Foreign Affairs) is housed in multiple databases.  If you have a specific citation, or wish to browse a particular journal, type the journal name into the Library's Full-Text Finder.  For news articles, consult the Newspapers research guide listed at the right.



JSTOR Restricted Resource
A total of more than 900 full-text scholarly journal titles in an online archive beginning with the first issue of each title. The archive includes nine JSTOR Arts and Sciences Collections. In JSTOR, there is usually a time lag in full-text content. Use JSTOR in conjunction with our current online databases and print holdings.
(See also Example of a Search in JSTOR pdf)

Project MUSEĀ® Restricted Resource
Offers over 400 quality journal titles from nearly 100 not-for-profit publishers. Project MUSE® covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.

CQ Researcher Restricted Resource
A good starting point for issues in the news.

Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource
Multidisciplinary database with extensive full-text coverage in biology, chemistry, engineering, physics, psychology, religion, theology and other disciplines in the humanities. Indexes 8,450 publications with full text for more than 4,600 of those titles (more than 3,900 are peer-reviewed). PDF backfiles to 1975 or earlier for more than one hundred journals. Searchable cited references for more than 1,000 publications.
Academic OneFile (1980 - current) Restricted Resource
Contains peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources; extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature, and other subjects. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1985. Millions of full-text articles, updated daily.

Military & Government Collection Restricted Resource
Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government, this database offers a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals, and other content pertinent to the increasing needs of those sites. It provides cover-to-cover full text for nearly 300 journals and periodicals and indexing and abstracts for nearly 400 titles.

EconLitā„¢ with Full Text Restricted Resource
Published by the American Economic Association; provides full-text for nearly 600 publications including titles from the American Economic Association (all with no embargo), such as: American Economic Review, Journal of Economic Literature, and Journal of Economic Perspectives; citations and abstracts to economic research dating back to 1969, covering all fields of economics, including capital markets, country studies, econometrics, economic forecasting, environmental economics, government regulations, labor economics, monetary theory, and urban economics.

CountryWatch Restricted Resource
Provides country-specific intelligence and data on all countries, including daily news coverage, intelligence briefings, and up-to-date articles from regional news wire services across the globe.
Related Research Guides
Note:  Certain resources are listed on multiple guides.
Government/IGO Resources on the Web
Following are links to official U.S. goverment resources and those of select intergovernmental organizations.  For a more comprehensive list of IGOs, review the List of Intergovernmental Organizations given below.  
  Foreign Relations of the United States: 1861-1960
University of Wisconsin Digital Collections.

Foreign Relations of the United States: 1945-1980
"The Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS) series presents the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions and significant diplomatic activity." U.S. Department of State, Office of the Historian.

Homeland Security Digital Library
“The nation's premier collection of documents related to homeland security policy, strategy, and organizational management. The HSDL is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Homeland Security's National Preparedness Directorate, FEMA and the Naval Postgraduate School Center for Homeland Defense and Security.”  The Public Collection contains over 75,000 items.
 
World Factbook
Provides country overview and information on geography, people, government, economy, communications, and more. Listed by country and information type. Prepared by the CIA, print updated annually, web site updated weekly.

List of Foreign Government Websites
Resource Type: Web Site
Access to websites of various branches of foreign governments, alphabetically listed, compiled by Northwestern University Library.
 
List of Intergovernmental Organizations
Resource Type: Web Site
Alphabetical list of IGOs maintained by Northwestern University Library.

United Nations
Resource Type: Web Site

North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO) e-Library
NATO’s library of publicly available materials.  Topical research guides (LibGuides) recommend further resources on external (non-NATO) web sites.

Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD)
Presents comparable statistics regarding economic, social and environmental data for the international community. Explore the statistics by selecting the Data tab from the top menu and, then, browse by Topic or Country.

International Monetary Fund (IMF)
Select Countries  from the top menu to access IMF reports and publications arranged by country.

World Bank - Open Knowledge Repository
“The World Bank’s official open access repository for its research outputs and knowledge products.” Materials range from short briefs on specific topics to full-text e-books.

World Health Organization (WHO)
Explore the menu options of DataProgrammes, and Countries.
Related Research Guides
Note:  Certain resources are listed on multiple guides.
Think Tanks/NGOs on the Web
Following are examples of prominent think tanks and other research-producing groups.  Organizations like the CFR and Chatham House produce work on topics across the field of international relations; others, such as Amnesty International and the Earth Institute, are more specialized.


Council on Foreign Relations (CFR)
CFR is "an independent, nonpartisan membership organization, think tank, and publisher." Use the top menu to browse content by Regions, Issues, and more.

Brookings Institution
A "nonprofit public policy organization based in Washington, DC."  Search by topic and use the "Expert" tab by country or region to access articles by experts in a specific region.

Carnegie Endowment for International Peace
"The oldest international affairs think tank in the United States."

Chatham House, The Royal Institute of International Affairs
The UK-based organization "carries out independent and rigorous analysis of critical global, regional and country-specific challenges and opportunities."  Areas of research include international security, international law, economic issues, and global health.
carries out independent and rigorous analysis of critical global, regional and country-specific challenges and opportunities - See more at: http://www.chathamhouse.org/about#sthash.k6forJKg.dpuf
fdsfsdzfdsdfsdfindependent and rigorous analysis of critical global, regional and country-specific challenges and opportunities. - See more at: http://www.chathamhouse.org/about#sthash.BwonFHEM.dpufindependent and rigorous analysis of critical global, regional and country-specific challenges and opportunities. - See more at: http://www.chathamhouse.org/about#sthash.BwonFHEM.dpuf


Stockholm International Peace Research Institute (SIPRI)
“An independent international institute dedicated to research into conflict, armaments, arms control and disarmament.”

International Institute for Sustainable Development
Resource Type: Web Site
The Canada-based IISD engages in "policy research, information exchange, analysis, and advocacy" to support sustainability efforts around the world.

Human Rights Watch
An international, nongovernmental organization focused on human rights research and advocacy that annually “publishes more than 100 reports and briefings on human rights conditions in some 90 countries.”  To find information for a specific country, go to the Countries drop-down menu and use the Search by Country Name option or browse by continent.

Amnesty International
“A worldwide movement of people who campaign for internationally recognized human rights for all.” Provides news feeds, human rights information by country, and more.

Earth Institute at Columbia University
"The Institute, under the direction of Professor Jeffrey D. Sachs, comprises more than 30 research centers and some 850 scientists, postdoctoral fellows, staff and students." Areas of research include water, energy, and global health.


An extensive list of think tanks is included in CIAO.
"Think  tanks  are  public-policy  research analysis  and  engagement  organizations  that generate policy-oriented  research,  analysis, and  advice  on domestic  and  international issues, thereby enabling policymakers and the public to make informed decisions about public policy."
(University of Pennsylvania, 2016)
 
Related Research Guides
Note:  Certain resources are listed on multiple guides.
Statistical Resources on the Web
Following are links to official statistical information from the United States and other individual countries, the European Union, and select intergovernmental organizations.  Pew and the "barometer" sites are geared toward analysis of public opinion here and abroad; such information can help you understand popular sentiment and conditions "on the ground" in a given country.   Note that this is just a sample of available statistical resources: there is a wealth of data out there, on the websites of other IGOs and NGOs.
 
Fedstats
Gateway to statistics from over 100 U.S. Federal Agencies.
 
Eurostat
"Eurostat is the statistical office of the European Union situated in Luxembourg." Click on the Data top menu options and then choose Statistics A-Z to look up statistics by theme alphabetically; or to browse, select Database from the Data menu option. The Publications menu option includes access to the Eurostat yearbooks and the News menu option includes Themes in the Spotlight.

List of Foreign and International Governmental Statistical Agencies
“Provides access to statistical websites from foreign and international government organizations.” Foreign language sites here provide an option to translate into English; look for small print along the top of the page.  Maintained by Purdue University.
 
World Factbook
Provides country overview and information on geography, people, government, economy, communications, and more. Listed by country and information type. Prepared by the CIA, print updated annually, web site updated weekly.
 
UNdata: A World of Information
Searches include a keyword Data search (default), a Glossary, and a Country Profiles search (found under More). To find direct links to the national statistics offices of many countries go to More and select About UNdata. Next, in the left column click Country links to UNdata. Provided by the United Nations Statistics Division (UNSD) of the Department of Economic and Social Affairs (DESA).

WDI World Development Indicators (The World Bank Group)
World Bank Group's World Development Indicators.

Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD)
Presents comparable statistics regarding economic, social and environmental data for the international community. Explore the statistics by selecting the Data tab from the top menu and, then, browse by Topic or Country.
 
Uppsala Conflict Data Program
The UCDP "has recorded ongoing violent conflicts since the 1970s. The data provided is one of the most accurate and well-used data-sources on global armed conflicts."  The UCDP Conflict Encyclopedia is a gateway to conflict-related background information and analysis at the country level.
 
Pew Research Center
The Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan "fact tank" that provides information on the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. It does not take positions on policy issues. Click on Datasets link to find statistical reports arranged by broad research areas and to download data sets. Select Topics link to search by subject or among polling questions.  

European Commission: Public Opinion
“The website for the Public Opinion Analysis sector of the European Commission.”

Afrobarometer
“An African-led series of national public attitude surveys on democracy and governance in Africa.”

Arab Barometer
A multinational effort to "produce scientifically reliable data on the politically-relevant attitudes of ordinary citizens" in the region.

Asianbarometer
“An applied research program on public opinion on political values, democracy, and governance around the region.”
Related Research Guides
Note:  Certain resources are listed on multiple guides.
Citing Sources

Last updated: Aug 10th 2017