Cardinal Cushing Library
Political Science


The Ethics of Voting  Book Cover: Imperialism Past and Present  Book Cover: The Origins of Political Order  Book Cover: The Scandal of Reason  Book Cover: Introduction to International Relations  Book Cover: Politics and the Twitter Revolution
Article Databases
FAQs
Restricted Resource = Emmanuel Faculty, Staff & Students only

Article Databases: Ranked by Relevance

JSTOR Restricted Resource
A total of more than 900 full-text scholarly journal titles in an online archive beginning with the first issue of each title. The archive includes nine JSTOR Arts and Sciences Collections. In JSTOR, there is usually a time lag in full-text content. Use JSTOR in conjunction with our current online databases and print holdings.

Project MUSEĀ® Restricted Resource
Offers over 400 quality journal titles from nearly 100 not-for-profit publishers. Project MUSE® covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.

HeinOnline Restricted Resource
Contains more than 150 million pages and 160,000 titles of legal history and government documents in a fully searchable, image-based format.

Ebsco search for Political Science Restricted Resource
Search across the following databases: Academic OneFile (1980 - current) Restricted Resource
Contains peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources; extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature, and other subjects. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1985. Millions of full-text articles, updated daily.


ProQuest Central Restricted Resource
A multidisciplinary resource providing the largest aggregated full-text database in the market today totaling more than 12,665 titles - with over 9,745 titles in full text. Covers more than 160 subject areas, including business and economics, health and medical, news and world affairs, technology, social sciences and more. Provides over 400 full-text U.S., Canadian and international newspapers; nearly 30,000 full-text dissertations in the areas of business, psychology, physical sciences, health, education; and nearly 9,000 market reports for business information for 43 industries in 40 countries.


Science Direct (Elsevier) Restricted Resource
Access to full text of over 2,500 scholarly, peer-reviewed journals in the areas of: Biochemistry; Business and Management; Genetics and Molecular Biology; Chemistry; Immunology and Microbiology; Medicine; Psychology; and Social Science. Includes recently-accepted articles in press.
 
Research Starter
CQ Researcher Restricted Resource
A good starting point for issues in the news.
Search for Books

 

Reference Books (Print and E-Books)
Video Databases
  • American History in Video Restricted Resource
    Provides the largest and richest collection of video available online for the study of American history, with 2,000 hours and more than 5,000 titles on completion.
  • Kanopy Restricted Resource
    Kanopy is a streaming video resource with a board collection of over 26,000 films on every subject imaginable and from leading producers such as Criterion Collection, The Great Courses, New Day Films, HBO California Newsreel, Kino Lorber, PBS, BBC, First Run Features, The Video Project, Documentary Education Resources. Kanopy’s website makes it easy to watch, share and discuss films across campus. Enjoy!
Web Sites (General)
  • Living Room Candidate: Presidential Campaign Commercials 1952-2012
    "[A]n online exhibition presenting more than 300 television commercials from every election year since 1952, when the first campaign TV ads aired." Museum of the Moving Image.
  • Photogrammar
    170,000 iconic pictures of America in the era of the Great Depression and WWII (1935-1945) housed in the Library of Congress, released by Yale and funded by the National Endowment for the Humanities.  Searchable by County map.
  • Scholars Strategy Network (SSN)
    "Seeks to improve public policy and strengthen democracy by organizing scholars working in America's colleges and universities, and connecting scholars and their research to policymakers, citizens associations, and the media."  A large number of policy briefs and other works are available; these cover topics as diverse as K-12 educational policy and U.S. foreign policy.
  • Women in Politics - Bibliographic Database
    Search for citations of books and articles by type of document, location, name of organization, subject, author, and keywords, and limit by year of publication and language. Hosted by the Inter-Parliamentary Union, located in Switzerland.
  • Real Clear Politics: Latest Polls
    Compiles poll data from from various sources along with providing links to the original sources. Created by John McIntyre and Tom Bevan.
  • Policy Archive
    A "global, non-partisan, public policy research," digital library of over 30,000 documents.  Center for Governmental Studies.
Web Sites: International Relations
Web Sites: United States Government
Web Sites: State and Local Government
Think Tanks
"Think tanks are policy institutes that carry out detailed research and provide analysis of, and information on, a range of policy ideas and programmes."

Think tanks. (2010). In D. Watts, Dictionary of American government and politics. Retrieved from https://library.emmanuel.edu:8443/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com
/content/entry/eupamgov/think_tanks/0
  • Brookings Institution
    A "nonprofit public policy organization based in Washington, DC."  Search by topic and use the "Expert" tab by country or region to access articles by experts in a specific region.
  • Council on Foreign Relations (CFR)
    CFR is "an independent, nonpartisan membership organization, think tank, and publisher." Use the top menu to browse content by Regions, Issues, and more.
  • Pew Research Center
    The Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan "fact tank" that provides information on the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. It does not take positions on policy issues. Click on Datasets link to find statistical reports arranged by broad research areas and to download data sets. Select Topics link to search by subject or among polling questions.  
  • Urban Institute
    Located in Washington, D.C., the Urban Institute is a nonprofit policy research organization. The Justice Policy Center (JPC) carries out nonpartisan research on crime, justice, and community safety.

Additionally, explore the Think Tanks and Civil Societies Program, University of Pennsylvania's annual rankings .

Last updated: Sep 26th 2017