Cardinal Cushing Library
Philosophy


Article Databases
FAQs
   Restricted Resource = Emmanuel Faculty, Staff & Students only

Article Databases: Ranked by Relevance
  • JSTOR Restricted Resource
    A total of more than 900 full-text scholarly journal titles in an online archive beginning with the first issue of each title. The archive includes nine JSTOR Arts and Sciences Collections. In JSTOR, there is usually a time lag in full-text content. Use JSTOR in conjunction with our current online databases and print holdings.
    (See also Example of a Search in JSTOR pdf)
  • Project MUSEĀ® Restricted Resource
    Offers over 400 quality journal titles from nearly 100 not-for-profit publishers. Project MUSE® covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.
  • ATLA Religion Database Restricted Resource
    American Theological Library Association's index of journal articles, essays, book reviews, and other research material on "Biblical studies, world religions, church history, and religious perspectives on social issues."
  • Humanities International Complete Restricted Resource
    Features are literary critique content and inclusion of original works of poetry, short fiction, photography, illustrations, and artwork. This database was originally funded by a gift from the Emmanuel College Class of 2006.
Search for Books

 
 
Reference Books (Electronic and Print)
General Resources
  • Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy
    Explore the Alphabetical Index or perform a keyword search. Articles are open access and peer reviewed. Edited by James Fieser, Ph.D. and Bradley Dowden, Ph.D.
  • Michel Foucault Audio Archive
    Comprehensive online audio collection of lectures and courses spanning two decades by French philosopher and historian, Michel Foucault. Made available by the Media Resources Center at the University of California, Berkeley.
  • Notre Dame Philosophical Reviews
    Notre Dame Philosophical Reviews "is entirely devoted to publishing substantive, high-quality book reviews (normal length: 1500-2500 words)."
    Unitversity of Notre Dame.
  • Perseus Digital Library Project
    Select Collections in the top menu to access and explore literature, visual resources, and reference sources for the study of the ancient world. Department of Classics, Tufts University.
  • Philosophy Talk
    "Philosophy Talk is a weekly, one-hour radio series produced by Ben Manilla." Shows are archived and available on the web site. Stanford University.
  • Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
    Open-access encyclopedia, administered by Stanford University in partnership with the International Coalition of Library Consortia (ICOLC) and the Scholarly Publishing and Academic Resources Coalition (SPARC), with grants from the National Endowment for the Humanities.
Bioethics

Last updated: Jun 28th 2017