Cardinal Cushing Library
Nursing and Medical


Article Databases
FAQs
  
Restricted Resource = Emmanuel Faculty, Staff & Students only

Article Databases: Ranked by Relevance
  • CINAHL with Full Text Restricted Resource
    The Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature (CINAHL) provides indexing for more than 3,000 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health. The database contains more than 2.3 million records dating back to 1981. Includes full text for more than 610 journals, plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials. PDF backfiles to 1981.
  • Nursing@OVID Restricted Resource
    Subscriptions to 54 Lippincott Williams & Wilkins nursing journals containing scholarly and research articles published by Wolters Kluwer Health Medical Research.   
  • Science Direct (Elsevier) Restricted Resource
    Access to full text of over 2,500 scholarly, peer-reviewed journals in the areas of: Biochemistry; Business and Management; Genetics and Molecular Biology; Chemistry; Immunology and Microbiology; Medicine; Psychology; and Social Science. Includes recently-accepted articles in press.
  • PubMed
    PubMed comprises more than 24 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
    Note: Click on "Find it@Emmanuel" in the upper right of the detailed article record to link to Emmanuel Full-Text resources.
  • Medline (EBSCO) Restricted Resource
    MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree numbers, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from approximately 5,400 current biomedical journals.
  • TRIP Database - Clinical Search Engine
    "Trip is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care." It originates in the UK and is directed by Jon Brassey and Dr. Chris Price.
  • Nursing and Allied Health Source (Proquest) Restricted Resource
    Journal titles provide broad coverage of the Nursing profession.
  • Health Reference Center - Academic Restricted Resource
    InfoTrac database for general health topics with some full text.
  • Health and Medical Complete (ProQuest) Restricted Resource
    ProQuest Health and Medical Complete™ combines the clinical research titles available in ProQuest Medical Library™ with hundreds of additional consumer and health administration titles. ProQuest Health and Medical Complete provides in-depth coverage from over 1,500 publications with almost 1,300 available in full text and of these, over 900 include MEDLINE® indexing.
  • Sage Journals Online Restricted Resource
    More than 800 Sage journals in Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology and Medicine. Browse list of available titles.
  • Taylor & Francis Group Journals Online Restricted Resource
    Nearly 1,000 journals in the social sciences and humanities published by the Taylor & Francis Group, including: Routledge, Garland, Psychology Press, and Taylor & Francis.

Open Access Article Databases
  • BioMed Central
    Over 200 open access journals covering all areas of biology and medicine.
  • PubMed Central
    A free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM)
Search for Books
Book Cover - NOC and NIC Linkages to NANDA-I and Clincal Conditions Book Cover - Nursing Theorists and Their Work

Search individual E-Books Collections.

Explore Emmanuel books by subject

Reference Books (Print and Electronic)
Videos
  • Kanopy Restricted Resource
    Kanopy is a streaming video resource with a board collection of over 26,000 films on every subject imaginable and from leading producers such as Criterion Collection, The Great Courses, New Day Films, HBO California Newsreel, Kino Lorber, PBS, BBC, First Run Features, The Video Project, Documentary Education Resources. Kanopy’s website makes it easy to watch, share and discuss films across campus. Enjoy!
     
  • Nursing Theorist DVDs (on Reserves)
Introduction to the Library
Handouts
Tutorials
  • Introduction to Library Resources for Emmanuel College BSN Program Restricted Resource
    This tutorial was developed by the Library Staff for students in the Bachelor of Science in Nursing program. Areas covered include: search strategies;  the online catalog; and article databases.
    Note: Guest/Non-Emmanuel user access
  • Basics of APA style
    Tutorial created by the American Psychological Association (APA).
    Note: Works best in Firefox. If using Chrome, click on the circled "i" in the address bar to display a drop-down menu.

    Change the drop-down setting for "Flash" to "Always Allow on this Site." Click on the "X" at the top right of the drop-down menu to close it and, then, click on the "Reload" button.
Search for Journals
Enter journal name:
[e.g., American Journal of Sociology]
 
 

Powered by SFX
Dictionaries and General Resources
Diversity
  • Race - The Power of an Illusion
    "The online companion to California Newsreel's three-part documentary about race in society, science & history." Public Broadcasting Service (PBS).
    Note: Race - The Power of an Illusion (DVD) is available in our media collection. (Check availability)
Evidence-Based Practice
Research/Statistics
Women's Health
  • Women's Health
    Compiled from all branches of the National Institutes of Health (NIH).
Nursing Theorists
Grants
  • Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality
    For information about grant opportunities, select Funding & Grants from the top menu.
    U.S. Department of Health & Human Services.
  • National League for Nursing
    From the Quick Links drop down menus, select Research Data, Research Priorities and Research Grants among other options.
  • National Institute of Nursing Research
    Click on Research & Funding. Extramural and Intramural research are supported by NINR. The Extramural Research Program supports the work of scientists in universities, teaching hospitals, and other organizations outside NINR. The Intramural Research Program supports scientists at NINR on the NIH campus in Bethesda, MD.
  • Sigma Theta Tau International
Governmental Agencies

Last updated: Aug 22nd 2017