Cardinal Cushing Library
Modern Languages


Article Databases and Newspapers

FAQs  


Restricted Resource = Emmanuel Faculty, Staff & Students only

Article Databases: Ranked by Relevance
  • JSTOR Restricted Resource
    A total of more than 900 full-text scholarly journal titles in an online archive beginning with the first issue of each title. The archive includes nine JSTOR Arts and Sciences Collections. In JSTOR, there is usually a time lag in full-text content. Use JSTOR in conjunction with our current online databases and print holdings.
    (See also Example of a Search in JSTOR pdf)
  • Project MUSE® Restricted Resource
    Offers over 400 quality journal titles from nearly 100 not-for-profit publishers. Project MUSE® covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.
  • Humanities International Complete Restricted Resource
    Features are literary critique content and inclusion of original works of poetry, short fiction, photography, illustrations, and artwork. This database was originally funded by a gift from the Emmanuel College Class of 2006.
  • Art Full Text Restricted Resource
    • Art Full-Text provides articles from over 300 journals from 1995 to present and abstracts and indexing of more than 600 periodicals back to 1984, many of them peer-reviewed. Expanded coverage of Latin American, Canadian, Asian and non-Western art, new artists, contemporary art, exhibition reviews, and feminist criticism.
    • Art Index Retrospective indexes almost 600 titles published between 1929 and 1984.

Newspapers
  • Lexis-Nexis Academic Restricted Resource
    Select Foreign Language News from the Search by Subject or Topic options found above the search box. Additionally, explore news by region by clicking on the Browse option on the top right.
Web Sites
  • Duolingo
    Includes courses in Spanish, French, and Italian. Developed by Luis Von Ahn, Carnegie Mellon University.
  • World Digital Library
    "A project of the U.S. Library of Congress, carried out with the support of the United Nations Educational, Cultural and Scientific Organization (UNESCO), and in cooperation with libraries, archives, museums, educational institutions, and international organizations from around the world. The WDL makes available on the Internet, free of charge and in multilingual format, significant primary materials from all countries and cultures."
Search for Books
 

Explore Emmanuel books by subject E-Book Collections
  • ProQuest Ebook Central Restricted Resource
    A new e-book platform from ProQuest combining ebrary and EBL content in one location.  ProQuest Ebook Central provides ebooks from scholarly sources, including University Presses and other top publishers.To create a personal bookshelf or to access off-campus, sign in using your Emmanuel username and password.

 
Websites
  • ACON Online
    Arabic verb conjugator. Erol Baykal.
  • Arabic Alphabet Chart
    Select a letter to see how it is written. Explore the left-hand menu for additional resources. Stanford University. View in Firefox to watch videos.
  • Arabic Voices
    “[D]esigned for learners and teachers of Arabic seeking materials for listening comprehension.” University of Texas at Austin.
  • Gulf/2000 Project
    A project of Columbia University's School of International and Public Affairs "designed to make available in a single location a wealth of information on the eight countries of the Persian Gulf region."  Resources include country-specific information and links (through the "Visit a Country" tab) and an extensive collection of current and historical maps.
  • Hazine
    Resources for those researching the Middle East and Islamic world. Christopher Markiewicz and Nir Shafir.
  • Middle East Studies: News Sources
    A listing of mostly English-language news sources based in or otherwise focused on the Middle East. Broken down by country and focus/media type. Maintained by Georgia State University Library.
  • Read Arabic!
    Funded by the US Department of Education, the materials of Read Arabic! were developed to provide online e-learning reading lessons aimed at beginning and intermediate students of the language.
    Note: Last updated 2012.
Newspapers/News Sources
Search for Books

Explore Emmanuel books by subject E-Book Collections
  • ProQuest Ebook Central Restricted Resource
    A new e-book platform from ProQuest combining ebrary and EBL content in one location.  ProQuest Ebook Central provides ebooks from scholarly sources, including University Presses and other top publishers.To create a personal bookshelf or to access off-campus, sign in using your Emmanuel username and password.
Dictionaries
  • Oxford Essential Arabic Dictionary (Reference PJ6640 .O94 2010)
Websites
  • ARTFL Project - Public Databases
    The American and French Research on the Treasury of the French Language (ARTFL) is "a cooperative project established in 1981 by the Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique and the University of Chicago."
  • BnF: Bibliotheque nationale de France
    From the Collections and Services drop-down, choose Digital Libraries - Gallica to gain Access to Gallica digital library. Select Cultural Events to view Virtual exhibitions.
  • Culturebox
    Cultural coverage by France Télévisions (francetv).
  • French Cultural Center in Boston
    “The French Cultural Center is a non-profit organization whose mission is to provide an authentic French cultural and social experience for the purpose of personal enrichment and greater understanding of the diverse peoples of the French-speaking world.“
  • Resources in French
    University of California, Berkeley.
Newspapers/News Sources
  • Newspapers - France
    News from France, Includes access to Le Monde. IPL2.
  • Lexis-Nexis Academic Restricted Resource
    Select Foreign Language News from the Search by Subject or Topic options found above the search box. Additionally, explore news by region by clicking on the Browse option on the top right.
Search for Books
 
Explore Emmanuel books by subject
E-Book Collections
  • ProQuest Ebook Central Restricted Resource
    A new e-book platform from ProQuest combining ebrary and EBL content in one location.  ProQuest Ebook Central provides ebooks from scholarly sources, including University Presses and other top publishers.To create a personal bookshelf or to access off-campus, sign in using your Emmanuel username and password.
Websites
  • Decameron Web
    A scholarly project out of Brown University. “Through a creative use of technology, our project provides the reader with an easily accessible and flexible yet well-structured wealth of information on the literary, historical and cultural context of the Decameron, thus allowing a vivid yet rigorously philological understanding of the past in which the work was conceived. At the same time, our project is meant to facilitate the creative expression of a multiplicity of perspectives which animate our contemporary readings.” Brown University
  • Italian Dialect Poetry
    Brooklyn College.
  • Medici Archive Project
    Project funded by the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation.
  • UC Italian Studies MRPI – Research
    University of California, Santa Barbara.
Newspapers/News Sources
  • Newspapers - Italian
    IPL2.
  • Italian Newspapers & Periodicals
    Maintained by the Western European Studies Section of the Association of College and Research Libraries.
  • Lexis-Nexis Academic Restricted Resource
    Select Foreign Language News from the Search by Subject or Topic options found above the search box. Additionally, explore news by region by clicking on the Browse option on the top right.
Search for Books
 
Explore Emmanuel books by subject
E-Book Collections
  • ProQuest Ebook Central Restricted Resource
    A new e-book platform from ProQuest combining ebrary and EBL content in one location.  ProQuest Ebook Central provides ebooks from scholarly sources, including University Presses and other top publishers.To create a personal bookshelf or to access off-campus, sign in using your Emmanuel username and password.
Dictionaries and Literature
Web Sites
Newspapers/News Sources
  • BBC - Spanish
  • Lexis-Nexis Academic Restricted Resource
    Select Foreign Language News from the Search by Subject or Topic options found above the search box. Additionally, explore news by region by clicking on the Browse option on the top right.
Search for Books
 

Explore Emmanuel books by subject
E-Book Collections
  • ProQuest Ebook Central Restricted Resource
    A new e-book platform from ProQuest combining ebrary and EBL content in one location.  ProQuest Ebook Central provides ebooks from scholarly sources, including University Presses and other top publishers.To create a personal bookshelf or to access off-campus, sign in using your Emmanuel username and password.

Last updated: Jun 28th 2017