Cardinal Cushing Library
MLA Citation Style


Print Style Manual
MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers MLA Handbook
  • MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers (7th ed.) REFERENCE DESK LB2369 .G53 2009
 
  • MLA Handbook (8th ed.) REFERENCE DESK LB2369 .G53 2016
Citation Management Tool
Print Style Manual
  • MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers (7th ed.) REFERENCE DESK LB2369 .G53 2009
    Book Cover: MLA7
Sample Citation
Example of an MLA style reference in text
See Chapter 6 in the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers (7th ed.) for citation mechanics.
Note: In the following example, the use of red is for illustration purposes only.

“As everyone who knows the texts is aware, the relation between Sherston and Sassoon is self-consciously playful regarding the boundary between the supposedly autobiographical and the supposedly invented self” (Bruce 176).
 

Example of an MLA Works Cited page
See Chapter 5 in the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers (7th ed.) for details on preparing a Works Cited page.
 
Works Cited
Bruce, Susan. "Sherston's Imaginary Friend: Siegfried Sassoon's Autobiographical Prose and the Idea of Photography." Biography 30.2 (2007): 173-193. Project MUSE. Web. 3 Aug. 2016
Hemmings, Robert. Modern Nostalgia: Siegfried Sassoon, Trauma, and the Second World War. Edinburgh: Edinburgh University Press, July 2008. ebrary. Web. 24 Aug. 2016. <site.ebrary.com/lib/emmanuel/reader.action?ppg=5&docID=10435216&tm=1472064307091>
Lane, Arthur. An Adequate Response: The War Poetry of Wilfred Owen and Siegfried Sassoon. Detroit: Wayne State University Press, 1972. Print.
Miller, Alisa, and Stuart Lee. “The Siegfried Sassoon Collection.” First World War Poetry Digital Archive.  University of Oxford, n.d. Web. 24 Aug. 2016. <www.oucs.ox.ac.uk/ww1lit/collections/sassoon>
Citation Management Tool
Print Style Manual
  • MLA Handbook (8th ed.) REFERENCE DESK LB2369 .G53 2016
    MLA Handbook (8th Ed.)
Sample Citation
Example of an MLA style reference in text
  • See pp. 116-128 in the MLA Handbook (8th ed.) for citation mechanics.
  • See pp. 54-58 for examples of in-text citations.
Note: In the following example, the use of red is for illustration purposes only.

“As everyone who knows the texts is aware, the relation between Sherston and Sassoon is self-consciously playful regarding the boundary between the supposedly autobiographical and the supposedly invented self” (Bruce 176).

 

Example of an MLA Works Cited page
See pp. 111-116 in the MLA Handbook (8th ed.) for page formatting details.
 
Works Cited
 
Bruce, Susan. “Sherston’s Imaginary Friend: Siegfried Sassoon’s Autobiographical Prose and the Idea of Photography.” Biography, vol. 30, no. 2, U of Hawaii P, Spring 2009, pp. 173-193. Project MUSE, DOI: 10.1353/bio.2007.0034 .
Hemmings, Robert. Modern Nostalgia: Siegfried Sassoon, Trauma, and the Second World War. Edinburgh UP, 2008. ebary. http://site.ebrary.com/lib/emmanuel/detail.action?docID=10435216. Accessed 24 August 2016.
Lane, Arthur. An Adequate Response: The War Poetry of Wilfred Owen and Siegfried Sassoon. Wayne State UP, 1972.
Miller, Alisa, and Stuart Lee. “The Siegfried Sassoon Collection.” First World War Poetry Digital Archive. U of Oxford. http://ww1lit.nsms.ox.ac.uk/ww1lit/collections/sassoon. Accessed 24 August 2016.

Last updated: Jun 28th 2017