Cardinal Cushing Library
Middle East Studies


Book Cover: Tablet & Pen: Literary Landscapes from the Modern Middle East Book cover: A History of the Arab Peoples  Book Cover: The Modern Middle East: A History  Book Cover: The Peace Puzzle: America's Quest for Arab-Israeli Peace, 1989-2011 Book Cover: Arabic Language and Linguistics  Book Cover: The Politics of National Celebrations in the Arab Middle East
Article Databases: Ranked by Relevance

FAQs  


Restricted Resource = Emmanuel Faculty, Staff & Students only


JSTOR Restricted Resource
A total of more than 900 full-text scholarly journal titles in an online archive beginning with the first issue of each title. The archive includes nine JSTOR Arts and Sciences Collections. In JSTOR, there is usually a time lag in full-text content. Use JSTOR in conjunction with our current online databases and print holdings.
(See also Example of a Search in JSTOR pdf)
  • Use the Journal Filter - Narrow by discipline and/or journal to explore the journals in Middle East Studies.
Project MUSEĀ® Restricted Resource
Offers over 400 quality journal titles from nearly 100 not-for-profit publishers. Project MUSE® covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.

Taylor & Francis Group Journals Online Restricted Resource
Nearly 1,000 journals in the social sciences and humanities published by the Taylor & Francis Group, including: Routledge, Garland, Psychology Press, and Taylor & Francis.

Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource
Multidisciplinary database with extensive full-text coverage in biology, chemistry, engineering, physics, psychology, religion, theology and other disciplines in the humanities. Indexes 8,450 publications with full text for more than 4,600 of those titles (more than 3,900 are peer-reviewed). PDF backfiles to 1975 or earlier for more than one hundred journals. Searchable cited references for more than 1,000 publications.

CountryWatch Restricted Resource
Provides country-specific intelligence and data on all countries, including daily news coverage, intelligence briefings, and up-to-date articles from regional news wire services across the globe.

Academic OneFile (1980 - current) Restricted Resource
Contains peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources; extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature, and other subjects. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1985. Millions of full-text articles, updated daily.
Search for Books
 

Explore the following keyword searches for Emmanuel print and e-books: (Results are limited to the last 5 years)

Reference Books (Print and Electronic)
Think Tanks/Research Centers
Government Resources

Country-specific data and analyses are also sometimes available through the websites of various intergovernmental organizations (IGOs).  Explore an extensive list of IGOs produced by Northwestern University Library.
 
Online News and Reference Resources
  • Gulf/2000 Project
    A project of Columbia University's School of International and Public Affairs "designed to make available in a single location a wealth of information on the eight countries of the Persian Gulf region."  Resources include country-specific information and links (through the "Visit a Country" tab) and an extensive collection of current and historical maps.
  • Middle East Studies: News Sources
    A listing of mostly English-language news sources based in or otherwise focused on the Middle East. Broken down by country and focus/media type. Maintained by Georgia State University Library.
  • The Middle East 1916-2001: A Documentary Record
    Provides access to important historical documents related to the region.  Maintained by the Avalon Project at Yale University Law School.
  • Islamopedia Online
    "The mission of Islamopedia Online is to provide access to news and background analysis on Muslim countries and Islamic topics that are often absent from Western media because of language barriers or lack of familiarity with the country, the issues or players at stake." Part of the Islam in the West Program, hosted by Harvard University's Alwaleed Islamic Studies Program. 
Visual Arts
Databases
  • Art Full Text Restricted Resource
    • Art Full-Text provides articles from over 300 journals from 1995 to present and abstracts and indexing of more than 600 periodicals back to 1984, many of them peer-reviewed. Expanded coverage of Latin American, Canadian, Asian and non-Western art, new artists, contemporary art, exhibition reviews, and feminist criticism.
    • Art Index Retrospective indexes almost 600 titles published between 1929 and 1984.

Books (print and e-books)

Web Sites
  • Archnet
    "Officially launched in 2002 as a partnership between the Aga Khan Trust for Culture and the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT), Archnet has since evolved into the largest open, online architectural library with a focus on Muslim cultures."
  • Art of the Islamic World (Khan Academy)
    An introduction to the history of the visual arts in Muslim societies.  Part of a larger online resource on the history of art.
 
 
Literature
Books (print and e-books)

Last updated: Jun 28th 2017