Cardinal Cushing Library
MGMT1101 - Introduction to Business


Article/Newspaper Resources
Note: See Scholarly Journals, Trade Publications, and Popular Magazines (ProQuest) pdf  for a discussion of these commonly used types of resources in business research.
 
Restricted Resource = Emmanuel Faculty, Staff & Students only   

Suggest Readings
Databases
Emmanuel College Library Contact
Diane Zydlewski
Associate Librarian for Reference, Instruction, and Outreach
zydlewsd@emmanuel.edu | 617-735-9927
Competitors
Database Resources
  • Lexis-Nexis Academic Restricted Resource
    • To find companies in an industry or location: Expand the Get Company Info box below the Hot Topics Links and, then, click on the Company Dossier. Select Create a company List.
    • To view competitors: Enter the company name/ticker in Get Company Info (below the Hot Topics Links). Select Competitors from the left menu. Explore companies by industry by clicking on the hyperlinked industries under Industry Classification in the Snapshot Overview.
       
  • Morningstar Investment Research Center Restricted Resource
    Enter the Company Ticker or Name in search box and click on Get Report. Under the Quote tab, which is the default, Competitors is located on the right side of the page. Also, select Industry Peers in the menu bar directly under the Quote tab.
     
  • Mergent Online Restricted Resource
    Search by Primary SIC or NAICS code in the Classification search option to search for public companies.

Web Sites
Market Share/Business Ranking
Reference Books Databases
Search Tip: Include, as a subject or keyword term, "market share" or ranking along with the industry descriptors; "company name" or ticker; or other features to be compared.
Industry
There are two major systems used to classify the industries of a company, the U.S. Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) system and North American Industry Classification System (NAICS). These are useful for identifying companies within a given industry and for researching specific industries.

Databases
  • Business Source Premier Restricted Resource
    • Example search: restaurant and industry and (trends or outlook or forecast)
    • The search results may be limited by Source Types > Industry Profiles.
       
  • ProQuest Central Restricted Resource
    • Select Advanced for more search features.
       
  • Value Line Investment Survey - Standard Edition Restricted Resource
    • To access an industry profile, in the Browse Research tab (default), enter a public company within your industry in the top right box. In the resulting page, scroll down and click on the PDF icon under the heading Industry Analysis.
    • If you do not know a company within your industry, select your industry from the Industry Screens drop-down options below the heading Value Line Featured Lists. After clicking on a company name from the resulting list, follow the above instructions.
    • Note: Three concurrent users only.
 
Consumer Behavior/Demographics
Article Databases
Sample search: (Customer or Consumer) and pizza Selected Journal Titles Restricted Resource
Web Sites
Public Opinion
Article Databases
Sample search: "public opinion" and pizza
Web Sites
Expenses
Salaries and wages
  • Occupational Outlook Handbook
    Use the search option at the top right to search by industry.  Once you have selected an occupation from the results list, the Median Salary is displayed on the summary page.
    Department of Labor.

Employee benefits
Rent
Utilities

Insurance
Advertising
Revenue Projections/Income Statement
Business plans
Writing Business Plans
Sample Business Plans
 
Marketing Plans
Writing Marketing Plans
Sample Marketing plans
Marketing Information
Article Databases
Trade journals on Marketing
Associations
APA Citation Style
  • Book Cover for the Publication Manual of the American Psychological AssociationPublication Manual of the American Psychological Association (6th ed.) REFERENCE DESK BF 76.7 .P83 2010
   
Citation Management Tool

Last updated: Jun 28th 2017