Cardinal Cushing Library
Law/Legal


Article Databases
FAQs
   Restricted Resource = Emmanuel Faculty, Staff & Students only

Article Databases: A - Z
Legal Research at Emmanuel
Created by Karen Storin Linitz - Associate Dean, Library and Learning Resources

Further information:
Search for Books
Book Cover: Legal Reference for Librarians   Book Cover: Making Sense of the Constitution
Reference Books (Print and E-Books)
Federal Regulations/Executive Orders
  • Code of Federal Regulations (CFR)
    "[T]he codification of the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by the departments and agencies of the Federal Government." The U.S. Government Publishing Office.
    • Use govinfo to search across CFR.
  • Executive Orders
    The White House.
  • Executive Orders Disposition Tables Index
    ""[C]ontain information about Executive Orders beginning with those signed by President Franklin D. Roosevelt and are arranged according to Presidential administration and year of signature." The U.S. National Archives and Records Administration
  • Federal Register
    "Published by the Office of the Federal Register, National Archives and Records Administration (NARA), the Federal Register is the official daily publication for rules, proposed rules, and notices of Federal agencies and organizations, as well as executive orders and other presidential documents."
    U.S. Government Publishing Office.
    • Use govinfo to search across the Federal Register.
Legislative/Statutory Law
Federal
  • Century of Lawmaking for a New Nation: U.S. Congressional Documents and Debates 1774-1875
    Includes Continental Congress and the Constitutional Convention, Statutes and Documents, Journals of Congress, and Debates of Congress.
    Library of Congress.
  • Congress.gov
    "[T]he official website for U.S. federal legislative information." Search options include All Legislation, Committee Reports, and more. (See the About section for information about the source types.)
  • United States Code
    "[T]he codification by subject matter of the general and permanent laws of the United States. It is divided by broad subjects into 53 titles and published by the Office of the Law Revision Counsel of the U.S. House of Representatives. "
    • Use govinfo to search across the U.S. Code.
State
General Resources/Misc.
  • American Society of International Law (ASIL)
    Electronic resource guide for international law. Explore the Topics and Resources menu options at the top of the page.
  • FindLaw
    Access to Cases & Codes (both federal and state), extensive Legal News, and links to a number of legal Blogs using the Professional Site through the link on the top right.
    Thomson Reuters.
  • govinfo
    "The is GPO's beta website that will eventually replace the Federal Digital System (FDsys) public website."
  • GPO Federal Digital System
    Successor to GPO Access (effective March 2011). Search, browse and download Federal and Congressional documents including reports, statutes and more.
  • Legal Information Institute (LII)
    Cornell University Law School.
Judicial/Case Law
Federal
  • Federal Judicial Center
    "[T]he education and research agency for the federal courts."
  • GPO Federal Digital System
    Successor to GPO Access (effective March 2011). Search, browse and download Federal and Congressional documents including reports, statutes and more.
  • Oyez Project
    “A multimedia archive devoted to the Supreme Court of the United States and its work” containing audio recordings in the Supreme Court since October 1955. Use the top menu, for information on Justices and to explore Cases by Issues or Terms
    Chicago-Kent College of Law, Illinois Institute of Technology.
  • Supreme Court Collection
    The Legal Information Institute, Cornell University Law School.
  • Supreme Court of the United States
    Use the right menu to access recent Supreme Court decisions.
  • United States Courts
    Explore Educational Resources for basics on the federal court system, or consult Information for Researchers in the box on the upper right-hand side of the page. Administrative Office of the U.S. Courts on behalf of the Federal Judiciary.
State
U.S. Constitution
  • First Amendment Center
    "The center’s programs ... provide education and information to the public and groups including First Amendment scholars and experts, educators, government policy makers, legal experts and students."
    Vanderbilt University.
  • Guide to Law Online: U.S. Constitution
    Library of Congress.
United States
International
  • Europol
    Europol is the European Union’s law enforcement agency. Europol assists European Union’s Member States with fight against serious international crime and terrorism.
  • INTERPOL
    "[T]he world’s largest international police organization, with 190 member countries." Browse Crime Areas or keyword search at top of the page.
  • World Factbook of Criminal Justice Systems
    “This factbook, developed under BJS grants, provides narrative descriptions of the criminal justice systems of 45 countries around the world. “ Bureau of Justice Statistics (BJS).
Non-Governmental
Statistics
Citation Style Manuals
Chicago Style of CitationsBook Cover: Chicago Manual of Style
The Bluebook
Book Cover: The Bluebook
 




See the Writing Resources guide for information about other citation styles.
Citation Management Tool
RefWorks Restricted Resource
Registration: Sign up for a New Account by creating a Login Name and Password from a computer on campus. You will receive an email confirming your new account with instructions for accessing your RefWorks account off campus.

Using RefWorks:

Last updated: Jun 28th 2017