Cardinal Cushing Library
Industry Information


Table of Contents
General Industry Research Information
Industry Classification
The industry classification for a particular company is found in its company profile.

There are two major systems used to classify the industries of a company. These are useful for identifying companies within a given industry.

1. The U.S. Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) system uses a two- to four-digit, hierarchical, numeric code to classify industries based on their business activities. 
[For further information, see Standard Industry Classification (SIC) System, U.S. Department of Labor]

2. North American Industry Classification System (NAICS), pronounced "nakes", is a new system that is gradually replacing SIC. NAICS was developed by the United States, Canada, and Mexico to identify more industries and provide a more precise classification of individual businesses.  [For further information, see North American Industry Classification System, U.S. Census Bureau]


(top)
Industry Information: Database Resources
  • Value Line Investment Survey - Standard Edition Restricted Resource
    To access an industry profile, in the Browse Research tab (default), enter a public company within your industry in the top right box and click Quote. In the resulting page, scroll down and click on the PDF icon under the heading Industry Analysis.
    Note: Three concurrent users only.
     
  • Business Source Premier Restricted Resource
    • To find industry reports, limit the Publication Type to Industry Profile. The limit options are found below the search text boxes in the Limit your results section.
    • Also, conduct article searches.
      Search Example:
      publishing and industry and (trends or outlook or forecast)
 
  • Business Insights: Essentials Restricted Resource
    • Use the Industries tab at the top to browse All Industries, Market Share Reports, or Industry Essays.
    • To search by industry NAICS or SIC code, select Advanced Search on the right and enter the code underneath the Select Limiters heading.
 
  • Morningstar Investment Research Center Restricted Resource
    • Select Industries  found under the Markets section. To access a list of companies in a specific industry, click on an Industry Name.
    • For more in depth industry reports, select Markets from the top menu. Then, select from the Industry Reports listed by quarters for each year.
       
  • Mergent Online Restricted Resource
    Search Tip: Search by Primary SIC or NAICS code in the Classification search option. There is also a code lookup option. Public companies that meet the industry classification will be listed. ("How do I create company comparison reports using Mergent Online?")
     
  • ProQuest Central Restricted Resource
    A multidisciplinary resource providing the largest aggregated full-text database in the market today totaling more than 12,665 titles - with over 9,745 titles in full text. Covers more than 160 subject areas, including business and economics, health and medical, news and world affairs, technology, social sciences and more. Provides over 400 full-text U.S., Canadian and international newspapers; nearly 30,000 full-text dissertations in the areas of business, psychology, physical sciences, health, education; and nearly 9,000 market reports for business information for 43 industries in 40 countries.

     
(top)
Industry Ratios
  • MSN Money
    1. Enter the ticker symbol for the company within a particular industry and click on Search Money.
    2. Scroll down to the Fundamentals section and use the Key Statistics menu on the right-hand side to choose from Growth, Profitability, Price Ratios, etc.

     
  • Reuters
    1.  Enter the Ticker Symbol for a company within a particular industry in the top, right search box and click Search.
    2.  Select your company's name.
    3.  Select the Financials tab.
    4.  Scroll down to view Valuation Ratios and Profitability Ratios.

     

(top

Last updated: Jun 14th 2017