Cardinal Cushing Library
History


Book Cover: Across a Great Divide Book cover: Bind Us Apart  Book Cover: The Long Walk to Freedom  Book Cover: Russia's Foreign Policy Book Cover: The War and Its Shadows  Book Cover: Remembering the Revolution
Article Databases
FAQs
   Restricted Resource = Emmanuel Faculty, Staff & Students only

Article Databases: Ranked by Relevance
  • JSTOR Restricted Resource
    A total of more than 900 full-text scholarly journal titles in an online archive beginning with the first issue of each title. The archive includes nine JSTOR Arts and Sciences Collections. In JSTOR, there is usually a time lag in full-text content. Use JSTOR in conjunction with our current online databases and print holdings.
    (See also Example of a Search in JSTOR pdf)
  • Project MUSE┬« Restricted Resource
    Offers over 400 quality journal titles from nearly 100 not-for-profit publishers. Project MUSE® covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.
  • Ebsco search for History Restricted Resource
    Search across the following databases:
    • Academic Search Premier
    • Humanities International Complete
      Features are literary critique content and inclusion of original works of poetry, short fiction, photography, illustrations, and artwork. This database was originally funded by a gift from the Emmanuel College Class of 2006.
    • Military & Government Collection
      Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government, this database offers a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals, and other content pertinent to the increasing needs of those sites. It provides cover-to-cover full text for nearly 300 journals and periodicals and indexing and abstracts for nearly 400 titles.
  • Gale PowerSearch for History Restricted Resource
    Search across the following databases:
  • European Views of the Americas: 1493-1750 Restricted Resource

    Indexes more than 32,000 entries and is a comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750, covering the history of European exploration as well as portrayals of native American peoples. The original bibliography was co-developed by John Alden and Dennis Landis, Curator of European Books at The John Carter Brown Library, Brown University.

Search for Books
  
Video Databases
  • American History in Video Restricted Resource
    Provides the largest and richest collection of video available online for the study of American history, with 2,000 hours and more than 5,000 titles on completion.
  • Kanopy Restricted Resource
    Kanopy is a streaming video resource with a board collection of over 26,000 films on every subject imaginable and from leading producers such as Criterion Collection, The Great Courses, New Day Films, HBO California Newsreel, Kino Lorber, PBS, BBC, First Run Features, The Video Project, Documentary Education Resources. Kanopy’s website makes it easy to watch, share and discuss films across campus. Enjoy!
General Resources
  • Best of History on the Web
    Directory of rated web sites accessed by category or through search option. The Center for Teaching History with Technology.
  • Complete Works of Charles Darwin Online
    Explore Complete Publications, Private Papers & Manuscripts, and Supplementary Works, which includes a bibliography of works cited. Darwin Online project  was founded by Dr. John van Wyhe, University of Cambridge.
  • History World
    World history resource that includes historical narratives, timelines, and more. Conceived and written by Bamber Gascoigne and updated regularly.
  • Map History / History of Cartography
    Selected links to information about and images of early maps. Source of the linked site given. Sections for both printed and online literature on the subject. Regularly updated. Part of the World Wide Web Virtual Library project. Maintained by Tony Campbell, Map Librarian (retired), British Library, London.
  • New York State Archives: Digital Collections
    Collections and images from the New York State Archives, NYS Museum, NYS Library.
Photographs
  • Photogrammar
    170,000 iconic pictures of America in the era of the Great Depression and WWII (1935-1945) housed in the Library of Congress, released by Yale and funded by the National Endowment for the Humanities.  Searchable by County map.
United States History
  • Alexis de Tocqueville Tour
    Site dedicated to de Tocqueville's 1831 visit to America. Includes biographical information, modern references to Tocqueville, the text of Democracy in America and a 2-hour streaming video documentary. Produced by C-SPAN.
  • Avalon Project at the Yale Law School:Documents in Law, History and Diplomacy
    Browse by century or document collection. The text comparison feature allows readers to view two versions of the same documents simultaneously. Maintained on Yale Law School's Lillian Goldman Law Library web site.
  • Black Abolitionist Archive
    A collection of speeches and editorials from the antislavery movement. Some items in the collection are available in mp3 format. University of Detroit Mercy.
  • Boston, Massachusetts History and Architecture
    Provides descriptions and histories of public art and architecture and biographies of historical figures. Select Research Goodies for population demographics for the city and specific neighborhoods, interactive maps, and a detailed description of Trinity Church. Dave Wieneke.
  • Calisphere
    "University of California's free public gateway" to primary documents "selected from the libraries and museums of the UC campuses."
  • Credo, Special Collections and University Archives
    Collections include the "Horace Mann Bond Papers" and "W. E. B. Du Bois Papers." 
    University of Massachusetts, Amherst.
  • Decisive Day is Come: the Battle of Bunker Hill
    Includes eyewitness accounts of the Battle of Bunker Hill, a timeline of events, contemporary maps, and more. Massachusetts Historical Society.
  • Densho: The Japanese American Legacy Project
    Created to "preserve the testimonies of Japanese Americans who were unjustly incarcerated during World War II before their memories are extinguished," Densho maintains a Learning Center, a multimedia Densho Encyclopedia, and a digital archive of primary sources (video oral histories and historical images); the latter requires free registration.
  • Digital History
    Specific to the United States, contains Primary Sources such as historical newspapers, Virtual Exhibitions, and Interactive Timeline, and more. Department of History and the College of Education at the University of Houston.
  • Early Americas Digital Archive
    Gateway to primary source material “written in or about the Americas from 1492 to approximately 1820.” Maryland Institute for Technology in the Humanities (MITH), University of Maryland, College Park.
  • Immigration to the United States, 1789-1930 (Open Collections Program, Harvard University Library)
    Digitized historical materials and image resources exploring immigration to the United States between 1789 and 1930. Materials selected from Harvard University's library, museum, and archive collections.
  • Making of America (MOA)
    "Digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction."  Cornell University.
    See also University of Michigan's Making of America.
  • Massachusetts Digital Commonwealth
    "Digital Commonwealth is a Web portal and fee-based repository service for online cultural heritage materials held by Massachusetts libraries, museums, historical societies, and archives."
  • National Archives and Records Administration (NARA)
    U.S. Federal Government website providing access to Federal Government Records and more. Select the Research Our Records option at the top left and, then, Research a Specific Topic.
  • National Historical Geographic Information System
    "[P]rovides population, housing, agricultural, and economic data, along with GIS-compatible boundary files, for geographic units in the United States from 1790 to the present."
  • National Museum of American History
    Explore Collections and Exhibitions. Smithsonian Institution.
  • Newberry Publications and Digital Resources
    The Newberry is a "world-renowned independent research library in Chicago."  Explore the Digital Resources and Publications using the left menu option.
  • Religion and the Founding of the American Republic
    Library of Congress exhibition of manuscripts, letters, prints, and more exploring the role of religion in early American history.
  • September 11 Digital Archive
    Center for History and New Media, George Mason University and American Social History Project, City University of New York Graduate Center.
  • Sixties Project
    Includes personal narratives, bibliographies, and primary documents on the 1960s and the Viet Nam War. Annotated links to additional web resources. Site has not been updated significantly since 1999.
  • Thomas A. Edison Papers Project
    Text and images covering Edison's career and inventions. Best viewed with Internet Explorer or Firefox. Sponsored by Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, the National Park Service, the New Jersey Historical Commission, and the Smithsonian Institution.
  • Thomas Jefferson Digital Archive
    University of Virginia Library.
  • Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database
    Explore the Voyages Database, Assessing the Slave Trade interactive estimates page, and the African Names Database. Sponsored by the National Endowment for the Humanities, W.E.B. Du Bois Institute (Harvard University), and Emory University.
  • Valley of the Shadow
    Documents and images detailing the Civil War experience of one Union and one Confederate community at opposite ends of the Shenandoah Valley. Parts of the site are searchable. Maintained by Edward L. Ayers, Professor of History at the University of Virginia.
  • White House
    The official web site of the Administration. Explore information on the President's legislative agenda, Cabinet nominations and appointments, branches of government, federal agencies and commissions.
  • Women Working, 1800-1930 (Open Collections Program, Harvard University Library)
    Digitized historical, manuscript, and image resources selected from Harvard University's library and museum collections that explore women's roles in the US economy between the beginning of the nineteenth century and the Great Depression.
World history
  • 1914-1918-online. International Encyclopedia of the First World War
    An English-language virtual reference work on the First World War. This “multi-perspective, open-access knowledge base is the result of an international collaborative project involving more than 1,000 authors, editors, and partners from over fifty countries. More than 1,000 articles will be gradually published.” Browse by Themes, Regions, or Timeline; search by keyword.  Freie Universität Berlin.
  • Ancient & Medieval Studies
    Columbia University Libraries.
  • British History Online
  • Cold War International History Project
    The project has sought "to disseminate new findings, views, and activities pertaining to Cold War history." The Wilson Center.
  • Contagion: Historical Views of Diseases and Epidemics (Open Collections Program, Harvard University Library)
    Digitized historical, manuscript, and image resources selected from Harvard University’s libraries, archives, and special collections that contribute to the understanding of the global, social–history, and public–policy implications of diseases and offer important historical perspectives on the science and the public policy of epidemiology today.
  • EuroDocs: Primary Historical Documents From Western Europe, Selected Transcriptions, Facsimiles and Translations
    Directory of internet sites. Richard Hacken, European Studies Bibliographer, Harold B. Lee Library, Brigham Young University, Provo, Utah, USA.
  • Labyrinth: Resources for Medieval Studies
    Easy-to-use resources for all aspects of medieval studies, including text, image, and archival databases. Maintained by Georgetown University.
  • Perseus Digital Library Project
    Select Collections in the top menu to access and explore literature, visual resources, and reference sources for the study of the ancient world. Department of Classics, Tufts University.
  • Slave Route
    Among its goals, the project aims to "contribute to a better understanding of the causes, forms of operation, issues and consequences of slavery in the world (Africa, Europe, the Americas, the Caribbean, the Indian Ocean, Middle East and Asia).”
    United Nations Educational Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO).
  • Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database
    Explore the Voyages Database, Assessing the Slave Trade interactive estimates page, and the African Names Database. Sponsored by the National Endowment for the Humanities, W.E.B. Du Bois Institute (Harvard University), and Emory University.
  • Vietnam Center and Archive
    "[C]ollects and preserves the documentary record of the Vietnam War, and supports and encourages research and education regarding all aspects of the American Vietnam Experience."
    Texas Tech University.
  • Wonders: Images of the Ancient World
    "Over 1,700 images of the civilizations of Egypt, Greece, Rome, and other ancient Mediterranean cultures as conceived and depicted by artists and travelers from the 18th to the early 20th century." The collection is indexed by subject.
    New York Public Library Digital Gallery.
Journal Articles Online
  • Radical America
    "A digital edition of Radical America, a product of the campus-based New Left of the late 1960s. . . Its trajectory illustrates the effort to place an intellectual stamp on the radical impulses of the late twentieth century." Brown University Library Center for Digital Initiatives.
Historical Maps

Last updated: Jun 28th 2017