Cardinal Cushing Library
HIST3404 - Ravagnoli


Related Research Guides
Definitions
Credo Logo


acculturalization | citizenship | diaspora | ethnicity | globalization | human migration | identity (cultural) | immigration | memory (cultural) | nationalism | transnationalism
Video Database
  • Kanopy Restricted Resource : A streaming video resource with a broad collection of over 26,000 films.
Chicago Style of Citations
Citation Management Tool

RefWorks
Registration: Sign up for a New Account by creating a Login Name and Password from a computer on campus. You will receive an email confirming your new account with instructions for accessing your RefWorks account off campus.

Using RefWorks:
Online Primary Documents

Restricted Resource = Emmanuel Faculty, Staff & Students only

Searching Archives



Archive Grid
Contains over 3 million records from over 1,000 institutions that cover historic documents. Archive Grid aids in the search of primary sources.

Library of Congress
The Library of Congress site houses a large variety of databases, including:

National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) Research Page
Links to research tools available through the National Archives.

Historical Newspapers Online
"Website directory of U.S. historical newspapers organized by state.
Van Pelt Library, University of Pennsylvania."

Newspaper Archives/Indexes/Morgues
Website directory for both international and U.S. news archive resources.
Library of Congress.

NewspaperCat: Catalog of Historical Newspapers
"[A] tool that facilitates the discovery of online digitized historical newspaper content from newspapers published in the United States and the Caribbean."
George A. Smathers Libraries, University of Florida

WorldCat
Search for content available in libraries around the world. It aids in locating printed primary and secondary sources.
 
Online Primary Sources


Primary Source Databases and Websites

American Archives: Documents of the American Revolution, 1774-1776
Northern Illinois University Libraries

American History 1493-1945 Restricted Resource
Module 1: Settlement, Commerce, Revolution and Reform: 1493-1859
Sources from the Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History, New York. Contains books, diaries, correspondence, newspapers, photographs, military documents, pamphlets, broadsides and other ephemera.
“The majority of the collection is unique manuscript. It is an extensive resource for scholars, educators and students and is considered one of the finest archives for material on the revolutionary, early national, antebellum and civil war eras.” 
Module 2: Civil War, Reconstruction and the Modern Era: 1860-1945
Includes documents on slavery, the Civil War, and secession.

American Indian Histories and Cultures Restricted Resource
Contains manuscripts, artwork, photographs, rare printed books, and maps related to the historical and personal stories of the colonization of the Americas from early contacts between European settlers and American Indians  to the modern era, and “told against the backdrop of the 19th century expansion into the ‘Western Frontier’ right through to the civil rights movement of the mid-twentieth century.” Sources from the Edward E. Ayer Collection at The Newberry Library, Chicago.

American Presidency Project
Contains more than 100,000 documents "related to the study of the Presidency."  John Woolley and Gerhard Peters,  University of California, Santa Barbara.

American Slavery Debate: Revolution and Abolition in Haiti, 1791-1865
Office of Resources for International and Area Studies (ORIAS) at the University of California, Berkeley 

Archives of American Art
Includes all of the Archives of American Art records. Provides access to primary sources that document American visual arts. Sources from the Smithsonian Institution, Washington, D.C.

Avalon Project at the Yale Law School:Documents in Law, History and Diplomacy
Browse by century or document collection. The text comparison feature allows readers to view two versions of the same documents simultaneously. Maintained on Yale Law School's Lillian Goldman Law Library web site.

Black Abolitionist Archive
A collection of speeches and editorials from the antislavery movement. Some items in the collection are available in mp3 format. University of Detroit Mercy.

British History Online
British History Online is the digital library containing some of the core printed primary and secondary sources for the medieval and modern history of the British Isles. Created by the Institute of Historical Research and the History of Parliament Trust, it aims to support academic and personal users around the world in their learning, teaching and research. (Covers 11th – 19th centuries)

Brown Digital Repository
Provides access to primary resources produced via the scholarly, instructional, research, and administrative activities at Brown.
Providence, RI.

Calisphere
"University of California's free public gateway" to primary documents "selected from the libraries and museums of the UC campuses."

CastleGarden.org
"America's First Immigration Center." Search passenger records from 1820 through 1913.
The Battery Conservancy.

Center for Human Rights Documentation and Research
"[T]he official repository for the archives of major human rights organizations such as Amnesty International USA, the Committee of Concerned Scientists,  Human Rights First, and Human Rights Watch." Columbia University Libraries.

Century of Lawmaking for a New Nation: U.S. Congressional Documents and Debates 1774-1875
Includes Continental Congress and the Constitutional Convention, Statutes and Documents, Journals of Congress, and Debates of Congress.
Library of Congress.

Contagion: Historical Views of Diseases and Epidemics (Open Collections Program, Harvard University Library)
Digitized historical, manuscript, and image resources selected from Harvard University’s libraries, archives, and special collections that contribute to the understanding of the global, social–history, and public–policy implications of diseases and offer important historical perspectives on the science and the public policy of epidemiology today.

Complete Works of Charles Darwin Online
Explore Complete Publications, Private Papers & Manuscripts, and Supplementary Works, which includes a bibliography of works cited. Darwin Online project  was founded by Dr. John van Wyhe, University of Cambridge.

Credo, Special Collections and University Archives
Collections include the "Horace Mann Bond Papers" and "W. E. B. Du Bois Papers." 
University of Massachusetts, Amherst.

Decisive Day is Come: the Battle of Bunker Hill
Includes eyewitness accounts of the Battle of Bunker Hill, a timeline of events, contemporary maps, and more. Massachusetts Historical Society.

Densho: The Japanese American Legacy Project
Created to "preserve the testimonies of Japanese Americans who were unjustly incarcerated during World War II before their memories are extinguished," Densho maintains a Learning Center, a multimedia Densho Encyclopedia, and a digital archive of primary sources (video oral histories and historical images); the latter requires free registration.

Digital Archive of American Architecture
Provides primary resources that document the development of architecture in America from the 17th century to present.
Professor Jeffery Howe, Boston College.

Digital Archive of European Architecture
Offers primary resources that document European architecture from the 15th century to the present.
Professor Jeffery Howe, Boston College.

Digital Archive of the Documents on Japanese Foreign Policy
Note: Use Google Translate to navigate the page. Supplied English translation will take you to the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Japan home page and not a search page.

Digital Collections, Columbia University Library
Offers access to “photographs, posters, drawings, objects, ephemera, and manuscripts as well as other archival material from Columbia's rare and special collections.”
New York, NY.

Digital Collections, Harvard University
Access botanical studies primary resource materials such as, specimen databases, images, and other links.

Digital Collections, University of Washington Libraries

Digital Collections, Yale University Library

Digital Collections, UC Berkeley Library
Includes much of US Berkeley Library’s archival materials, as well as “born digital” materials, hosted through Calisphere.

D-Scribe Digital Collections
An array of primary source materials covering both the humanities and the sciences from the University Library System (ULS), University of Pittsburgh.

Digital Collections, Duke University Libraries
The digital collections of Duke University Libraries provides access to a growing collection of their archival materials, including both Full Text and Images.

Early Americas Digital Archive
Gateway to primary source material “written in or about the Americas from 1492 to approximately 1820.” Maryland Institute for Technology in the Humanities (MITH), University of Maryland, College Park.

Eighteenth Century Collections Online Restricted Resource

Full-text, searchable primary documents from the 18th century; over 180,000 titles: books, pamphlets, essays, broadsides and other material in all subject areas, published in the UK and elsewhere.  Includes an image gallery.

Ellis Island – Free Port of New York Passenger Records Search
Search passenger records from 1892 through 1924. Requires free registration to access the passenger records.
The Statue of Liberty-Ellis Island Foundation, Inc.

EuroDocs: Primary Historical Documents From Western Europe, Selected Transcriptions, Facsimiles and Translations
Directory of internet sites. Richard Hacken, European Studies Bibliographer, Harold B. Lee Library, Brigham Young University, Provo, Utah, USA.

Family Search
Search by name, with the option to filter by criteria including location, record type, or year of birth, death, or marriage. Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints.

First World War Digital Poetry Archive
"An online repository of over 7000 items of text, images, audio, and video for teaching, learning, and research. The heart of the archive consists of collections of highly valued primary material from major poets of the period, including Wilfred Owen, Isaac Rosenberg, Robert Graves, Vera Brittain, and Edward Thomas." University of Oxford.

French Revolution Digital Archive
"The French Revolution Digital Archive (FRDA) is a multi-year collaboration of the Stanford University Libraries and the Bibliothèque nationale de France (BnF) to produce a digital version of the key research sources of the French Revolution and make them available to the international scholarly community."

French Revolution Pamphlets
Digital Media Repository, Ball State University Libraries

General Court of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts
To find a specific Chapter or Section number of Massachusetts General laws use the The General Court of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts: Search General Laws page.

Hillsborough Independent Panel
This site discloses documents related to the Hillsborough sporting disaster of April 15, 1989.

History of France Primary Documents: France: 1789 - 1871
Harold B. Lee Library, Brigham Young University

Immigration to the United States, 1789-1930 (Open Collections Program, Harvard University Library)
Digitized historical materials and image resources exploring immigration to the United States between 1789 and 1930. Materials selected from Harvard University's library, museum, and archive collections.

Internet Archive
Search for Vital Records and [Town or City] and limit to Texts.

Living Room Candidate: Presidential Campaign Commercials 1952-2012
"[A]n online exhibition presenting more than 300 television commercials from every election year since 1952, when the first campaign TV ads aired." Museum of the Moving Image.

Making of America (MOA)
"Digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction."  Cornell University.
See also University of Michigan's Making of America.

The Mark Twain Papers & Project
Select Databases to access and search the Mark Twain Project Online for letters, writings and images. Also, explore the Exhibitions. The Bancroft Library, University of California, Berkeley.

Massachusetts Digital Commonwealth
"Digital Commonwealth is a Web portal and fee-based repository service for online cultural heritage materials held by Massachusetts libraries, museums, historical societies, and archives."

National Archives and Records Administration (NARA): DOCTEACH
A selection of thousands of documents held by the National Archives and Records Administration that cover the period from 1754 to the present.

National Historical Geographic Information System
"[P]rovides population, housing, agricultural, and economic data, along with GIS-compatible boundary files, for geographic units in the United States from 1790 to the present."

New York State Archives: Digital Collections
Collections and images from the New York State Archives, NYS Museum, NYS Library.

Newberry Publications and Digital Resources
The Newberry is a "world-renowned independent research library in Chicago."  Explore the Digital Resources and Publications using the left menu option.

Princeton University Digital Library
Princeton, NJ.

Primary Documents in American History: The American Revolution and The New Nation, 1775-1815
Resource Type: Web Site
Library of Congress

Rare Books & Manuscripts Department Collection
Boston Public Library.

Registry of Digital Collections
Cornell University Library

Religion and the Founding of the American Republic
Library of Congress exhibition of manuscripts, letters, prints, and more exploring the role of religion in early American history.

September 11 Digital Archive
Center for History and New Media, George Mason University and American Social History Project, City University of New York Graduate Center.

State Library of Massachusetts Digital Collections
The State Library of Massachusetts supports the research and information needs of government, libraries, and people through innovative services and access to a comprehensive repository of state documents and other historical items.

Statistical Abstract of the United States, 1789 - 2012
Contains "statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States." Continues annually as ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States, beginning with 2013.  
REFERENCE HA 202 .S73  [Check Availability]

Statistical Abstract: Law Enforcement, Courts, & Prisons
See Section 5: Law Enforcement, Courts, & Prisons. U.S. Census Bureau.

Thomas A. Edison Papers Project
Text and images covering Edison's career and inventions. Best viewed with Internet Explorer or Firefox. Sponsored by Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, the National Park Service, the New Jersey Historical Commission, and the Smithsonian Institution.

Thomas Jefferson Digital Archive
University of Virginia Library.

Vietnam Center and Archive
"[C]ollects and preserves the documentary record of the Vietnam War, and supports and encourages research and education regarding all aspects of the American Vietnam Experience."
Texas Tech University.

Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database
Explore the Voyages Database, Assessing the Slave Trade interactive estimates page, and the African Names Database. Sponsored by the National Endowment for the Humanities, W.E.B. Du Bois Institute (Harvard University), and Emory University.

Valley of the Shadow
Documents and images detailing the Civil War experience of one Union and one Confederate community at opposite ends of the Shenandoah Valley. Parts of the site are searchable. Maintained by Edward L. Ayers, Professor of History at the University of Virginia.

Witness to the Early American Experience
"The digital images of historical documents in this archive preserve the words of hundreds of eyewitnesses to the American Revolution in and around New York City." New York University Libraries and New-York Historical Society.

Women Working, 1800-1930 (Open Collections Program, Harvard University Library)
Digitized historical, manuscript, and image resources selected from Harvard University's library and museum collections that explore women's roles in the US economy between the beginning of the nineteenth century and the Great Depression.


Maps

American Memory: Map Collections
Library of Congress.

Charting North America: Maps from the Lawrence H. Slaughter Collection and Others
Digital Gallery, New York Public Library.

Harvard Map Collection: Digital Maps

Norman B. Leventhal Map Center at the Boston Public Library
The Boston Public Library's map and atlas collection surpasses 200,000 physical items. The Digital Collections portal grants access to over 8,000 digitized maps from all over the world dating from the 15th century.

Maps Etc.: An online service of Florida's Educational Technology Clearinghouse
Resource Type: Web Site
Browse Galleries or Search Database for "over 5,000 maps representing many different time periods."
Florida Center for Instructional Technology, College of Education, University of South Florida.

Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection

University of Texas Austin.


Newspapers

Contemporary Newspapers

Arts and Letters Daily, a service of The Chronicle of Higher Education
Provides essays on criticism, philosophy, aesthetics, literature, language ideas, culture, music and art.

Boston Business Journal Restricted Resource
Includes business newspapers specific to 39 other areas of the U.S.

Boston Globe Restricted Resource


Christian Science Monitor (current online)


Lexis-Nexis Academic Restricted Resource
An interdisciplinary, full-text database of over 10,000 sources focusing on current news and business, government/legal, and medical issues.


New York Times (1980-present) Restricted Resource


Pilot
Official newspaper of the Archdiocese of Boston.


ProQuest Central Restricted Resource
A multidisciplinary resource providing the largest aggregated full-text database in the market today totaling more than 12,665 titles - with over 9,745 titles in full text. Covers more than 160 subject areas, including business and economics, health and medical, news and world affairs, technology, social sciences and more. Provides over 400 full-text U.S., Canadian and international newspapers; nearly 30,000 full-text dissertations in the areas of business, psychology, physical sciences, health, education; and nearly 9,000 market reports for business information for 43 industries in 40 countries.


ProQuest US Newsstream Restricted Resource
National and local newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites' transcripts including U.S. major dailies, CNN, Meet the Press and hundred's more. Current coverage and back files will vary. For other newspapers, see Lexis-Nexis Academic.

Regional Business News Restricted Resource
Regional U.S. and Canadian business publications; some foreign coverage.

Wall Street Journal, Eastern Edition (1984 - present) Restricted Resource
See also WSJ Live for videos of breaking news, news clips, and opinions.

Historical Newspapers

Boston Globe Archive (1872 - present)
Note: A one-time registration from any computer on or off campus is required using this link: Register. For authentication purposes, you must use your Emmanuel email address as your login id then choose any password. This will become your login.

Boston Globe (1980 - 1996) Restricted Resource


Boston Globe (1997-current) Restricted Resource


Christian Science Monitor Archive (1908-2004) Restricted Resource
See also, current access to the Christian Science Monitor.

Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
Options include All Digitized Newspaper Pages from 1789 to 1924 and U.S. Newspaper Directory, 1690 - Present
Library of Congress

Historical Newspapers Restricted Resource
Accesses complete runs of the Christian Science Monitor (1908-2003),  New York Times (1851-2013), Washington Post (1877-2000), and Wall Street Journal (1889-1999).

New York Times Archive (1851-2013) Restricted Resource
Full-text and full-page images of the New York Times from the newspaper's first issue. 

Wall Street Journal Archive (1889 - 2000) Restricted Resource


Washington Post Archive (1877- 2000) Restricted Resource
Use this in conjunction with the daily updated Lexis-Nexis Academic.

U.S. Presidential Libraries

George H. W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum
College Station, TX.

George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum
Dallas, TX.

Jimmy Carter Library & Museum
Atlanta, GA.

William J. Clinton Presidential Library and Museum
Little Rock, AR.

Calvin Coolidge Presidential Library and Museum
Northampton, MA.

Dwight D. Eisenhower Presidential Library and Museum
Abilene, KS.

Gerald R. Ford Presidential Library and Museum
Grand Rapids, MI.

Herbert Hoover Presidential Library and Museum
West Branch, IA.

LBJ (Lyndon Baines Johnson) Presidential Library
Austin, TX.

John F. Kennedy Presidential Library and Museum
Use the Library's internal search engine to find unabridged files and explore the interactive exhibits: Boston, MA.

Abraham Lincoln Presidential Library and Museum
Springfield, IL.

William McKinley Presidential Library and Museum
Canton, OH.

Nixon Presidential Library & Museum
College Park, MD.

Ronald Reagan Presidential Foundation & Library
Simi Valley, CA.

Franklin D. Roosevelt Presidential Library and Museum
Hyde Park, NY.

Harry S. Truman Presidential Library & Museum
Independence, MO.

Woodrow Wilson Presidential Library & Museum
Staunton, VA.

Videos

American History in Video Restricted Resource
Provides the largest and richest collection of video available online for the study of American history, with 2,000 hours and more than 5,000 titles on completion.


C-SPAN
A collection of government hearing, speeches and ceremonies from around the world with a particular emphasis on the United States. Also included are C-SPAn produced documentaries.

Internet Archive: Moving Image Archive
"[C]ontains digital movies uploaded by Archive users which range from classic full-length films, to daily alternative news broadcasts, to cartoons and concerts."
  • Feature Film Collection of more than 3,900 films in the public domain, searchable by title, topic, genre, publication date
  • LibriVox Free Audiobook Collection of more than 8,700 audio books, searchable
  • Live Music Archive, more than 147,000 items browsable by year, artist, publication date
  • Old Time Radio, more than 2,400 historical radio programs, searchable by title, topic, date


Open Vault
Access material created by WGBH for television and radio.

See also: Research Guide History  and the College Online Catalog for further resorces.

Online Oral Histories
Google Search Tip: Limit to a specific doman such as org, edu or gov
e.g. east asian migration site:org

Asian Voice Oral History Project: University of Huddersfield, UK
http://www.asianvoices.org.uk/

Indian Association of Minnesota Oral History Project: Minnesota Historical Society
http://www.mnhs.org/collections/oralhistory/india.php

Indian American Communities in Indiana: Indiana University
http://www.dlib.indiana.edu/reference/cshm/ohrc065.html

South Asian Immigrants in the Philadelphia Area Oral History Project: Historical Society of Pennsylvannia
http://digitallibrary.hsp.org/index.php/Detail/Collection/Show/collection_id/461

South Asian Oral History Project: University of Washington
http://content.lib.washington.edu/saohcweb/index.html

UW East Asian Library Oral History Project for Seattle Chinese Immigrants
http://depts.washington.edu/oralhist/wordpress/

Women in US-Asian Relations Oral History Project
http://library.stonybrook.edu/digital-projects/women-in-us-asian-relations-oral-history-project/

Oral History Project: East West Center
https://www.eastwestcenter.org/research/research-information-services/oral-history-project

Institute for for Asian American Studies: University of Massachusetts Boston
https://www.umb.edu/iaas/research/past









 

Last updated: Oct 6th 2017