Cardinal Cushing Library
HIST2104 - Fortin


Book Cover: Americanos Book cover: You Are All Free  Book Cover: The Other Rebellion  Book Cover: Sovereignty and the Revolution in the Iberian Atlantic Book Cover: The French Revolution and Human Rights  Book Cover: Remembering the Revolution
Article Databases
Primary Sources - General
  • See the tutorial Primary vs. Secondary Sources (Twin Cities Library, St. Mary's University of Minnesota) for a definition and examples of Primary Sources.

Databases
  • American History 1493-1945 Restricted Resource
    Module 1: Settlement, Commerce, Revolution and Reform: 1493-1859
    Sources from the Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History, New York. Contains books, diaries, correspondence, newspapers, photographs, military documents, pamphlets, broadsides and other ephemera.
    “The majority of the collection is unique manuscript. It is an extensive resource for scholars, educators and students and is considered one of the finest archives for material on the revolutionary, early national, antebellum and civil war eras.” 
    Module 2: Civil War, Reconstruction and the Modern Era: 1860-1945
    Includes documents on slavery, the Civil War, and secession.
  • Eighteenth Century Collections Online Restricted Resource
    Full-text, searchable primary documents from the 18th century; over 180,000 titles: books, pamphlets, essays, broadsides and other material in all subject areas, published in the UK and elsewhere.  Includes an image gallery.
Web Sites
  • Avalon Project at the Yale Law School:Documents in Law, History and Diplomacy
    Browse by century or document collection. The text comparison feature allows readers to view two versions of the same documents simultaneously. Maintained on Yale Law School's Lillian Goldman Law Library web site.
  • Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database
    Explore the Voyages Database, Assessing the Slave Trade interactive estimates page, and the African Names Database. Sponsored by the National Endowment for the Humanities, W.E.B. Du Bois Institute (Harvard University), and Emory University.

See also: Research Guide: Primary Documents for further resources.
Search for Books (Print and E-Books)
Historical Sites in Boston
  • Bunker Hill Monument
    Site of the first battle of the American Revolutionary War.
  • USS Constitution
    Launched in 1797, the USS Constitution is the oldest commissioned military ship still afloat in the world.
  • Faneuil Hall
    Known as the "Cradle of Liberty," Faneuil Hall was used as a meeting place before and during the Revolutionary War.
  • Old North Church
    The location where Paul Revere had lanterns hung in 1775- "one if by land, two if by sea."
  • Old South Meeting House
    Historic church in Downtown Crossing where the Boston Tea Party was organized.
  • Old State House
    The oldest public building in Boston and the site of the Boston Massacre.
  • Paul Revere House
    Historic home of Paul Revere.
Primary Sources

Books Web Sites
Primary Sources

Books Web Sites
Primary Sources
 
Books Articles Websites
  • Digital Library of the Caribbean
    "The Digital Library of the Caribbean (dLOC) is a cooperative digital library for resources from and about the Caribbean and circum-Caribbean. dLOC provides access to digitized versions of Caribbean cultural, historical and research materials currently held in archives, libraries, and private collections."
  • The Early Caribbean Digital Archive
    The Early Caribbean Digital Archive is a "digital scholarly lab for the collaborative research and study of pre-20th century Caribbean literature."
  • John Carter Brown Library - Haiti Collection
    "The John Carter Brown Library holds one of the world's great collections relating to Haiti. Our rare books, maps and newspapers tell the story of the founding of the French colony of Saint Domingue (once the most lucrative colony in the Americas), its demise through the Haitian Revolution (the world's only successful slave revolution) and the founding of Haiti in its place."
Primary Sources
Books Web Sites  
Researching Historiographies
General Information about Historiography General Considerations
  • Who are the major historians for your topic?
  • How can these historians be organized into schools of approach or methodology?
  • How has the historiography of your topic evolved over time?
  • How did the various historians explore the topic through a political, social, or economic lens?
Books
Example searches:
  • historiography "French Revolution"
  • historians "French Revolution"
 

Articles
Example searches:
  • historiography and "Haitian Revolution"
  • historians and "French Revolution"
  • “historiographical-evolution” and "American Revolution"
     
  • Additionally, conduct searches on the topic (e.g., "French Revolution") and note who is cited in the bibliography.
Recommended databases:
 
Researching Historians
Do they have websites?
  • Often, scholars will post their Curriculum Vitae online, including their list of publications.
  • Are they associated with a university or other organizations?
Search for the authors and their articles/books on Google Scholar Restricted Resource .
  • On the results page, if an author's name is hyperlinked, click on it to see the author's page.
  • For specific books or articles, click the Cited by hyperlink to view books/articles that have cited the work.
Conduct author searches in history databases, such as JSTOR .

Additionally, explore the faculty of universities specializing in the field that you are research.
Chicago Style of Citations
Citation Management Tool

RefWorks
Registration: Sign up for a New Account by creating a Login Name and Password from a computer on campus. You will receive an email confirming your new account with instructions for accessing your RefWorks account off campus.

Using RefWorks:

Last updated: Jun 28th 2017