Cardinal Cushing Library
Genealogy


Article Databases
FAQs
   Restricted Resource = Emmanuel Faculty, Staff & Students only

Article Databases: A - Z
  • Gale Biography in Context Restricted Resource
    Integrates GALE Cengage Learning reference works along with magazine and journal articles, images, videos, audio files, and website links. Search for current or historical people by name, occupation, nationality, and birth/death dates.  Use the advanced search feature for further search options.
  • JSTOR Restricted Resource
    A total of more than 900 full-text scholarly journal titles in an online archive beginning with the first issue of each title. The archive includes nine JSTOR Arts and Sciences Collections. In JSTOR, there is usually a time lag in full-text content. Use JSTOR in conjunction with our current online databases and print holdings.
    (See also Example of a Search in JSTOR pdf)
  • Project MUSE® Restricted Resource
    Offers over 400 quality journal titles from nearly 100 not-for-profit publishers. Project MUSE® covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.
Book Resources
e-Book Collections
  • ProQuest Ebook Central Restricted Resource
    A new e-book platform from ProQuest combining ebrary and EBL content in one location.  ProQuest Ebook Central provides ebooks from scholarly sources, including University Presses and other top publishers.To create a personal bookshelf or to access off-campus, sign in using your Emmanuel username and password.
  • Credo Reference Restricted Resource
    Over 700 reference books covering a variety of disciplines and including foreign language dictionaries. Includes a concept map, which provides related subjects and noted personalities to assist beginning research.
  • Salem Press Online Restricted Resource
    Online access to the following Salem Press titles in the Library's Reference collection: The Decades series (1920's - 2000's), Careers in Chemistry, and Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender Events. 

Reference Books (print and electronic)
  • American Immigrant Cultures: Builders of a Nation REFERENCE E 184.A1 A63448 1997
  • Dictionary of American Immigration History REFERENCE JV 6450 .D53 1990
  • Encyclopedia of American Immigration REFERENCE JV 6465 .E53 2000
  • New Americans: A Guide to Immigration Since 1965 Restricted Resource
  • Political Handbook of the World REFERENCE JF37 .P6
  • St. James Encyclopedia of Labor History Worldwide Major Events in Labor History and Their Impact REFERENCE HD 4839 .S74 2003
Genealogy
  • CastleGarden.org
    "America's First Immigration Center." Search passenger records from 1820 through 1913.
    The Battery Conservancy.
  • Cyndi's List of Genealogical Sites on the Internet
    Use the left menu to browse topics or search the web site using the search box found in the upper right. Owned and maintained by Cyndi Howells.
  • Ellis Island – Free Port of New York Passenger Records Search
    Search passenger records from 1892 through 1924. Requires free registration to access the passenger records.
    The Statue of Liberty-Ellis Island Foundation, Inc.
  • Family Search
    Search by name, with the option to filter by criteria including location, record type, or year of birth, death, or marriage. Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints.
  • Internet Archive
    Search for Vital Records and [Town or City] and limit to Texts.
  • Researching Your Family's History at the Massachusetts Archives
    A repository for Massachusetts records generated by the state government, including passenger lists, vital records, census schedules, military reports and Plymouth Colony Records.
  • Resources for Genealogists and Family Historians
    The National Archives
    Find research tips and tutorials under Start Your Genealogy Research or explore the resources found in the Browse Popular Topics section.  A list of Most Requested records appears on the right-hand side of the page.
  • Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database
    Explore the Voyages Database, Assessing the Slave Trade interactive estimates page, and the African Names Database. Sponsored by the National Endowment for the Humanities, W.E.B. Du Bois Institute (Harvard University), and Emory University.
  • US Gen Web Project: Free Genealogy and Family History Online
    The left menu allows you to select resources by state. Select the Researchers option from the top menu to view the Help for Genealogy Researchers page.
  • USA.gov: Genealogy and Family History
    "Find Census, immigration, and military records, and record-finding aids for genealogists and family historians."
  • USGenNet
    "The First and Only Nonprofit Historical Genealogical Hosting Service on the Internet."
Genealogical Societies
General History
Historical Statistics
Immigration History

Last updated: Jun 28th 2017