Cardinal Cushing Library
Gender + Women's Studies


Book Cover: Gender in Communication Book cover: Gender  Book Cover: Masculinities and the Law  Book Cover: Confronting Equality Book Cover: Brain Storm  Book Cover: Gender & Popular Culture
Article Databases
FAQs Restricted Resource = Emmanuel Faculty, Staff & Students only
 

Article Databases: Ranked by Relevance
 
Project MUSE® Restricted Resource
Offers over 400 quality journal titles from nearly 100 not-for-profit publishers. Project MUSE® covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others. JSTOR Restricted Resource
A total of more than 900 full-text scholarly journal titles in an online archive beginning with the first issue of each title. The archive includes nine JSTOR Arts and Sciences Collections. In JSTOR, there is usually a time lag in full-text content. Use JSTOR in conjunction with our current online databases and print holdings.
(See also Example of a Search in JSTOR pdf)

Gender Studies Collection Restricted Resource
Gender Studies Collection provides balanced coverage of this significant aspect of culture and society. The database offers access to scholarly journals and magazines covering topics including gender studies, family and marital issues, and more.

SocINDEX with Full Text Restricted Resource
This index features more than 2.1 million records with subject headings from a more than 20,000 term sociology-specific thesaurus designed by expert lexicographers. SocINDEX with Full Text contains full text for more than 860 journals dating back to 1908. This database also includes full text for more than 830 books and monographs, and full text for over 16,800 conference papers.

Humanities International Complete Restricted Resource
Features are literary critique content and inclusion of original works of poetry, short fiction, photography, illustrations, and artwork. This database was originally funded by a gift from the Emmanuel College Class of 2006.

PsycINFO (1887 - present) Restricted Resource
This database, provided by the American Psychological Association, contains indexing and abstracts for over 3 million articles. Most covered materials are from peer-reviewed publications. Links to available full-text in other EBSCO databases including PsycARTICLES®.

CINAHL with Full Text Restricted Resource
The Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature (CINAHL) provides indexing for more than 3,000 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health. The database contains more than 2.3 million records dating back to 1981. Includes full text for more than 610 journals, plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials. PDF backfiles to 1981.
Search for Books


Explore Emmanuel print and e-books by subject (from the last 5 years)
Reference Books (print and electronic)
Newspaper Databases
  • Boston Globe Restricted Resource
  • Lexis-Nexis Academic Restricted Resource
    An interdisciplinary, full-text database of over 10,000 sources focusing on current news and business, government/legal, and medical issues.

Explore the Newspapers guide for a complete list of the newspaper databases.
 
Web Sites/Magazines
  • The Advocate Restricted Resource
    "Articles, commentary, personality profiles, reviews and book reviews representing a wide variety of gay and lesbian ideas and perspectives." [Ebsco]
    Note: Current issues are available in the Browsing Collection (2nd floor).

     
    • Out (Shelved in the Browsing Collection)
      Supplement to: The Advocate
  • Curve : The lesbian magazine Restricted Resource
    Note: Current issues are available in the Browsing Collection (2nd floor).
  • Gender Data Portal
    "The Gender Data Portal is the World Bank Group’s comprehensive source for the latest sex-disaggregated data and gender statistics covering demography, education, health, access to economic opportunities, public life and decision-making, and agency."
  • National LGBTQ Task Force
    "The National LGBTQ Task Force advances full freedom, justice and equality for LGBTQ people."
  • Ms. Magazine Online
    "Ms. continues to be an award-winning magazine recognized nationally and internationally as the media expert on issues relating to women’s status, women’s rights, and women’s points of view."
  • UN Women Watch
    Provides "information and resources on the promotion of gender equality and the empowerment of women throughout the United Nations system.” Maintained by the United Nations Inter-Agency Network on Women and Gender Equality (IANWGE).
Assoc/Gov/Org
Databases
  • American History 1493-1945 Restricted Resource
    Module 1: Settlement, Commerce, Revolution and Reform: 1493-1859
    Sources from the Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History, New York. Contains books, diaries, correspondence, newspapers, photographs, military documents, pamphlets, broadsides and other ephemera.
    “The majority of the collection is unique manuscript. It is an extensive resource for scholars, educators and students and is considered one of the finest archives for material on the revolutionary, early national, antebellum and civil war eras.” 
    Module 2: Civil War, Reconstruction and the Modern Era: 1860-1945
    Includes documents on slavery, the Civil War, and secession.
  • Boston Globe Archive (1872 - present) Restricted Resource
    Note: A one-time registration from any computer on or off campus is required using this link: Register. For authentication purposes, you must use your Emmanuel email address as your login id then choose any password. This will become your login.
  • Eighteenth Century Collections Online Restricted Resource
    Full-text, searchable primary documents from the 18th century; over 180,000 titles: books, pamphlets, essays, broadsides and other material in all subject areas, published in the UK and elsewhere.  Includes an image gallery.
  • Historical Newspapers Restricted Resource
    Accesses complete runs of the Christian Science Monitor (1908-2003),  New York Times (1851-2013), Washington Post (1877-2000), and Wall Street Journal (1889-1999).
  • Nineteenth Century Collections: Women Restricted Resource
    Nineteenth Century Collections Online - Women: Transnational Networks provides primary source documents—serials, books, manuscripts, diaries, reports, and visuals focusing on issues at the intersection of gender and class from the late-eighteenth century to the era of suffrage in the early-twentieth century, all through a transnational perspective. The collection draws from the Library of Congress, the London School of Economics and Political Science Library, and the Library of the Society of Friends.
Web Sites
  • African American Women: Digitized Archival Material
    Digital Archival Material from: Elizabeth Harris Johnson Memoir, 1867-1923; Hannah Valentine and Lethe Jackson: Slave Letters from the Campbell Family Papers; and Violet Lester Letter. Duke University.
  • Black Women Oral History Project: Interviews of The Black Women Oral History Project, 1976-1981
    "[C]onsists of audiotapes and transcripts of the oral histories of 72 African-American women from across the United States. The interviews discuss family background, marriages, childhood, education and training, significant influences affecting their choice of primary career or activity, professional and voluntary accomplishments, union activities, the ways in which being black and a woman had affected their options and the choices made."
    Schlesinger Library
  • Digital Transgender Archive
    The Digital Transgender Archive (DTA) based in Worcester, Massachusetts contains transgender history in the form of digitized historical materials, born-digital materials, and information on archival holdings throughout the world. Materials can be accessed freely by using the database function.
  • Discovering Women’s History Online
    "[P]rovides access to digital collections of primary sources (photos, letters, diaries, artifacts, etc.) that document the history of women in the United States." Use the Primary Source Types menu option to search by advertisements, newspapers, etc. Maintained by Ken Middleton, Digital Initiatives Librarian, Middle Tennessee State University's Walker Library
  • Documents from the Women's Liberation Movement: An On-line Archival Collection
    Search by Subject Categories or Keyword Search. Duke University, Special Collections Library.
  • Gay & Lesbian History
    Contains three Digital Collections. New York Public Library.
  • Queer Zine Archive Project
    "The mission of the Queer Zine Archive Project (QZAP) is to establish a 'living history' archive of past and present queer zines and to encourage current and emerging zine publishers to continue to create."
  • Schlesinger Library
    "The Arthur and Elizabeth Schlesinger Library on the History of Women in America documents the lives of women of the past and present for the future and furthers the Radcliffe Institute's commitment to women, gender, and society."
    Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Study, Harvard University.
  • Transgender Oral History Project
    "[A] community-driven effort to collect and share a diverse range of stories from within the transgender and gender variant communities. We accomplish this by promoting grassroots media projects, documenting trans people’s experiences, maintaining a publicly accessible digital archive, and teaching media production skills.”
  • Women Working, 1800-1930 (Open Collections Program, Harvard University Library)
    Digitized historical, manuscript, and image resources selected from Harvard University's library and museum collections that explore women's roles in the US economy between the beginning of the nineteenth century and the Great Depression.

Additionally, explore the resources available through the below research guides:
 
Related Research Guides
Search for Books
 
Book Cover: Through Women's Eyes
Keywords to include when searching for primary documents include: autobiographies, diaries, historical documents, letters, narratives, primary documents, or sources.

Selected Books (print and e-books)
History
Article Databases

Web Sites
(See also this guide's Primary Doc. & Hist. Newspapers)
  • Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index
    "[C]overs journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages." University of Iowa.
  • The History Project
    "The History Project — established in 1980 by a group of historians, activists and archivists — is the only group focused exclusively on preserving the history of Boston’s LGBT community, and on making that history accessible to future generations."
  • Monastic Matrix
    "Scholarly resource for the study of women's religious communities from 400 to 1600 C.E. [A.D.]." Presented by The Ohio State University, The Harvey Goldberg Center for Excellence in Teaching and the Department of History.
Search for Books (Print and E-Books)
   Book Cover: Pioneer Chinese Christian Women Book Cover: Dreamers of a New Day
Museums
Book Cover: Painting Gender, Constructing Theory Book cover: Surrealist Masculinities Book Cover: The Cambridge Companion to Gay and Lesbian Writing  Book Cover: The Female Gaze Book Cover: Women Novelists Before Jane Austen  Book Cover: Women to Women
Web Sites
  • African American Women Writers of the 19th Century
    Contains 52 published works of 19th century black women writers. Keyword search full-text across the database or in individual works. New York Public Library, Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture.
  • The Arch and Bruce Brown Foundation
    The foundation "holds yearly literary competitions for works that concern LGBT (lesbian/gay/bisexual/transgender) life and that are based on, or inspired by, a historical person, culture, event or work of art" along with offering grants.
  • Celebration of Women Writers
    Use the left-hand menu to conduct specific searches or browse the collection; narrow your search by genre/theme, e.g. Diplomatic Difficulties or Utopias & Science Fiction, by clicking the headings in the center of the page. Hosted by the University of Pennsylvania's, Digital Library Initiative and edited by Mary Mark Ockerbloom in collaboration with John Ockerbloom.
  • Elizabeth A. Sackler Center for Feminist Art
    "The Elizabeth A. Sackler Center for Feminist Art is an exhibition and education environment dedicated to feminist art—its past, present, and future."
    Brooklyn Mueum
  • Emory Women Writers Resource Project
    “[A] collection of edited and unedited texts by women writing from the seventeenth century through the early twentieth century.”
  • Lambda Literary
    “Lambda Literary believes Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender and Queer literature is fundamental to the preservation of our culture, and that LGBTQ lives are affirmed when our stories are written, published and read.”
  • National Association of Women Artists, Inc.
    "The Association promotes culture and education in the visual arts through exhibitions of its members’ works, educational programs, scholarships, awards, its historical archive, and other appropriate means."
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts, Washington D.C.
    Contains art work from the 16th century to the present. Select Explore for Exhibitions, Collection Highlights, and Artist Profiles. Select Learn for  Library & Archives.
  • OutFest
    “Founded by UCLA students in 1982, Outfest is the leading organization that promotes LGBT equality by creating, sharing, and protecting LGBT stories on the screen. Outffest builds community by connecting diverse populations to discover, discuss and celebrate stories of LGBT lives.”
  • The Theater Offensive
    Presents "the diversity of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender lives in art so bold it breaks through personal isolation, challenges the status quo, and builds thriving communities."
  • Women Romantic-Era Writers
    Contains links to texts, bibliographies, and sites for individual female authors. Created by Adriana Craciun at the University of California, Riverside.
Search for Books
 

Reference Books (print and electronic)
  • Grove Art Online Restricted Resource
    Searchable online version of the 34-volume Grove Dictionary of Art covering the visual arts from prehistory to the 1990s. Also includes The Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.
  • A feminist reader: Feminist thought from Sappho to Satrapi (Reference PN56.F46 F4655 2013)

Last updated: Jun 28th 2017