Cardinal Cushing Library
ENGL4994/5 - Internship


Resources on Careers, Writing Resumes, etc.
Book Cover: The Career Guide for Creative and Unconventional PeopleBook Cover: Great Jobs for English MajorsBook Cover: What Color is your Parachute
Reference/E-Books:
  • Career Guide for Creative and Unconventional People Reference HF 5381 .E485 2007
  • Gallery of best resumes : a collection of quality resumes by professional resume writers Reference HF5383 .N62 2007
  • Great jobs for English majors Reference HF5382.7 .D43 2006
  • Resumes that knock 'em dead Reference HF5383 .Y38 2006
  • Smart moves for liberal arts graduates : Finding a path to your perfect career Reference HF 5382.5 .U5 C85 2006
  • What color is your parachute? : a practical manual for job-hunters and career-changers Reference HF5382.7 .B65 2013
  • ProQuest Ebook Central Restricted Resource (E-Book collection)
    Search for books on Resumes and Cover Letters.

Occupational Outlook Handbook (United States Department of Labor)

Career Center, Emmanuel College
Job Seekers: 8 Tips to Negotiation Your Starting Salary (Forbes)
Note: Be sure to click on Continue to Article.

Videos from the Career Services, Harvard Extension School
Emmanuel College Library Contact
Dominique Barrault
Reference / Instructional Librarian
barraultd@emmanuel.edu | 617-732-1669


Diane Zydlewski
Associate Librarian for Reference, Instruction, and Outreach
zydlewsd@emmanuel.edu | 617-735-9927
Assignment (word doc.)
  Library Assignment docx   
Finding a Company's Mission Statement
  • Mission statements, when available, may be posted on the company web site. 
  • To find a company's mission statement, look for sections such as About Us or Mission Statement. Additionally, if the site has a search feature, search for Mission Statement.
Examples/Description of a Mission Statement
Industry Profile/Trends
The two major Industry Classification systems:

1. The U.S. Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) system uses a two- to four-digit, hierarchical, numeric code to classify industries based on their business activities. [For further information, see Standard Industry Classification (SIC) System, U.S. Department of Labor]

Example Industry:
Newspapers: Publishing, Or Publishing And Printing (SIC  271)


2. North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) is a system that is gradually replacing SIC. NAICS was developed by the United States, Canada, and Mexico to identify more industries and provide a more precise classification of individual businesses. [For further information, see North American Industry Classification System, U.S. Census Bureau]

Example Industry:
Marketing management consulting services (NAICS 541613) 
Example of an article discussing an industry trend:
Kaufman, Leslie. "New Publisher Authors Trust: Themselves." New York Times, 17 April 2013, late ed. (East Coast). ProQuest. Web. 2 Oct. 2015.


Database Resources:
Note: See Scholarly Journals, Trade Publications, and Popular Magazines (ProQuest) pdf  for a discussion of these commonly used types of resources in business research.

  • Business Source Premier Restricted Resource
    • Example Search: publishing and industry and (trends or outlook or forecast)
    • The results may be limited by Source Types (e.g. Industry Profiles and Trade Publications) using the Refine Results options on the left.
       
  • ProQuest Central Restricted Resource
    • Example Search: marketing and industry and (America or "United States")
    • Use the filters on the left of the result list to limit by Source Type, e.g. Trade Journals or Scholarly Journals.
Newspaper Databases
Example of an article discussing an industry trend:
Kaufman, Leslie. "New Publisher Authors Trust: Themselves." New York Times, 17 April 2013, late ed. (East Coast). ProQuest. Web. 2 Oct. 2015.

Lexis-Nexis Academic Restricted Resource
Search Tip: After expanding the Search the News box below the Hot Topics Links, enter industry or company search terms and click Go.
To limit to local newspapers:
  • Select Browse from the Source Directory options on the top right.
  • Next, select the region using the Filter by options and the resource type using the Publication Type options and select the sources that you wish to search.
  • Click the OK - Continue button to search within the selected sources.
     
ProQuest US Newsstream Restricted Resource
Over 1,400 local and international newspapers, including the Financial Times, the International Herald Tribune and the Washington Post; current coverage; back files will vary. 

Regional Business News Restricted Resource
Incorporates more than 80 regional business publications covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.

Business Source Premier Restricted Resource
From the results list, use the limit Source Type  on the left to limit to only the Newspapers.
Specific Newspaper Titles
Web Site for Your Internship
The following information may be found on the web site:
  • History of the organization
  • Mission statement
  • Products or services provided
  • Executives or organizational leaders
Recommended Web Sites
Better Business Bureau (Council of Better Business Bureaus, Inc.)

National Center for Charitable Statistics
Explore Find a nonprofit, View forms 990, Learn about NCCS Data, and more.
National Center for Charitable Statistics, The Urban Institute.

National Center for Education Statistics
"The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education." 
Company Profile
Company Profiles include:

1. PUBLIC [Investopedia.com definition] or PRIVATE [Investopedia.com definition] status;
2. U.S. or internationally based;
3. SUBSIDIARY [Investopedia.com definition] or the PARENT company [Investopedia.com definition];
4. Company Description;
5. Trading information for public companies [including Ticker Symbol (Investopedia.com definition) and the Exchange that the company stock is traded];
6. Company Industry;
7. Executive Officers; and
8. Financial Information;
9. Company History

Database Resources:
Note: See Scholarly Journals, Trade Publications, and Popular Magazines (ProQuest) pdf  for a discussion of these commonly used types of resources in business research.

Business Source Premier Restricted Resource
  • Choose Company Profiles tab on the top of the page. Browse from the alphabetical list or search by company name for MarketLine reports.
  • Search for articles on the company using the default search screen.
     
Lexis-Nexis Academic Restricted Resource
  • After expanding the Get Company Info box below the Hot Topics Links, enter the company name or ticker symbol and click Go.

ProQuest Central Restricted Resource
  • Use the filters on the left of the result list to limit by Source Type, e.g. Trade Journals or Scholarly Journals.

Databases Resources for Public Companies:

Last updated: Jul 26th 2017