Cardinal Cushing Library
Elections/Voter Information


Web Sites
American Presidency Project
Contains more than 100,000 documents "related to the study of the Presidency."  John Woolley and Gerhard Peters,  University of California, Santa Barbara.

Real Clear Politics: Latest Polls
Compiles poll data from from various sources along with providing links to the original sources. Created by John McIntyre and Tom Bevan.

FactCheck.org
“[A] nonpartisan, nonprofit "consumer advocate" for voters that aims to reduce the level of deception and confusion in U.S. politics.”  Annenberg Public Policy Center, University of Pennsylvania.

Federal Election Commission
The FEC is an “independent regulatory agency” whose duties are to “disclose campaign finance information, to enforce the provisions of the law such as the limits and prohibitions on contributions, and to oversee the public funding of Presidential elections.”

Follow the Money
"[I]ncludes a 50-state database of 100,00+ lobbyists and clients who register annually, and a 50-state database of contributions documenting $28 billion."

Living Room Candidate: Presidential Campaign Commercials 1952-2012
"[A]n online exhibition presenting more than 300 television commercials from every election year since 1952, when the first campaign TV ads aired." Museum of the Moving Image.

Massachusetts Elections Division, Secretary of the Commonwealth
Contains information about voter registration, where to vote, sample ballots, and more.

PolitiFact
Fact-check statements made by politicians. Click on the truth-o-meter, located in the top menu bar of the page, to browse by subject. Or scroll to the Browse the Truth-O-Meter section on the right hand side of the page to search by person. Tampa Bay Times.

Presidential Speech Archives
"The Scripps Library, through cooperation with various presidential libraries, has been collecting some of the most important presidential speeches in American history."
Miller Center, University of Virginia

Project Vote Smart
  • Contains candidate biographies, voting records, issue positions, public statements, campaign finance and interest group ratings for federal and state elections.
  • Information on ballot initiatives and current legislative votes organized by state.
  • Provides links to resources to learn more about the elections and the election process.
  • Learn how to register to vote in your state of legal residence.
  • For listing of political parties, see [http://votesmart.org/political-parties#.UFoSua5N4Yw] and select the desired state.


U.S. Electoral College
Find answers to questions such as, "What is the Electoral College?" and "Why do we have the Electoral College?" Also contains historical election results.
National Archives and Records Administration.

Voting and Elections: Official information and services from the U.S. government



(top)
Search for Books
 
Selected Reference Books
  • American Campaign: U.S. Presidential Elections and the National Vote Restricted Resource
  • American presidential campaigns and elections REFERENCE JK1965 .A57 2003
  • Executive Branch REFERENCE JK501 .E94 2005
  • Guide to Congress REFERENCE JK1021 .C565 2008
  • Guide to the Presidency REFERENCE JK516 .C57 2008
  • Historical atlas of U.S. presidential elections 1788-2004 REFERENCE G1201.F9 H5 2006
  • National party conventions, 1831-2004 REFERENCE JK2255 .N373 2005
  • Presidential Elections, 1789-1992 REFERENCE JK524 .P678 1995
Public Opinion Resources
See also the following Research Guides: (Note: Not all content is open access.)

Last updated: Jun 28th 2017