Cardinal Cushing Library
Education


Article Databases
FAQs
Restricted Resource = Emmanuel Faculty, Staff & Students only

Article Databases: Ranked by Relevance


Education Full Text (EBSCO) Restricted Resource
Education Full Text provides more than 360 journals full-text online. It indexes a total of more than 770 English-language periodicals, yearbooks, education-related books published after 1983. Full-text coverage begins in January 1996.  

Education Journals (ProQuest) Restricted Resource
Access to over 750 top educational publications, including more than 550 of the titles in full text. Covers the literature on primary, secondary, and higher education as well as special education, home schooling, adult education, and related topics.

Educator's Reference Complete (1980 - present) Restricted Resource
Educator's Reference Complete is a selection of more than 450 full-text academic journals, hundreds of full-text reports, and many premier reference sources. Content focuses on educational principles, child development and psychology, and best practices in education. Majority of the full-text titles included are also found in the ERIC database. Updated daily.

ERIC (EBSCO) Restricted Resource
ERIC, the Educational Resource Information Center contains more than 1,300,000 records along with references for additional information, citations and abstracts. Contains more than 323,000 full-text documents beginning with coverage from 1966.

ERIC: All Access
ERIC (the U.S. Dept. of Education database) provides free access to more than 1.3 million bibliographic records of journal articles and other education-related materials. Limited access to full-text materials.

Science Direct (Elsevier) Restricted Resource
Access to full text of over 2,500 scholarly, peer-reviewed journals in the areas of: Biochemistry; Business and Management; Genetics and Molecular Biology; Chemistry; Immunology and Microbiology; Medicine; Psychology; and Social Science. Includes recently-accepted articles in press.

JSTOR Restricted Resource
A total of more than 900 full-text scholarly journal titles in an online archive beginning with the first issue of each title. The archive includes nine JSTOR Arts and Sciences Collections. In JSTOR, there is usually a time lag in full-text content. Use JSTOR in conjunction with our current online databases and print holdings.
(See also Example of a Search in JSTOR pdf)

Project MUSEĀ® Restricted Resource
Offers over 400 quality journal titles from nearly 100 not-for-profit publishers. Project MUSE® covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.

Sage Journals Online Restricted Resource
More than 800 Sage journals in Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology and Medicine. Browse list of available titles.

CQ Researcher Restricted Resource
Search for education or use the right menu option for media reports on current issues in education.

 
Databases: Resources for K - 12
  • Kids Infobits Restricted Resource
    A database developed especially for beginning researchers in Kindergarten through Grade 5. The content is curriculum-related, age appropriate, and full-text and covers geography, current events, the arts, science, health, people, government, history, sports and more.
  • MAS Ultra - School Edition Restricted Resource
    Designed specifically for high school libraries; provides full text for more than 700 popular general interest and current events publications with information dating back to 1975 for key magazines.
    It also provides more than 500 full-text pamphlets, 542 full-text reference books, 84,074 biographies, 86,135 primary source documents, and an Image Collection of 107,135 photos, maps, and flags. This database is updated daily.
  • Primary Search Restricted Resource
    Provides full text for more than 60 popular magazines for elementary school research. All full- text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles), and full-text information dates back to 1990. This database is updated daily. 
  • Research in Context Restricted Resource
    Created specifically for middle-schoolers, Research in Context combines the best of Gale's reference content with age-appropriate videos, newspapers, magazines, primary sources, and much more. Students will find outstanding support to complete assignments in core subjects including literature, science, social studies, and history.
  • Student Edition Restricted Resource
    Designed for high-school students, accessing a variety of indexed and full-text magazines, newspapers, and reference books for information on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports, and more.
Search for Books
Emmanuel Juvenile Collection only
All FLO libraries

 
Book Cover: Bats at the Library
Web Sites: Children's Literature
Web Sites: Lesson Plans
  • Discovery Education: Lesson Plan Library
    Lesson plans library page on Discovery School site, a division of Discovery Communications, LLC.
  • History Matters
    Explore the site's directory of annotated web resources, teaching materials, and primary historical documents related to the study of United States history for high school and college students. Created by the American Social History Project/Center for Media and Learning (Graduate Center, CUNY) and the Center for History and New Media (George Mason University).
  • National Council for Teachers of Mathematicsā€”Illuminations Page
    Interactive activities, lessons, standards, and web links at grade-appropriate levels for teachers of mathematics.
  • PBS LearningMedia
    Browse by Grade Level, Subjects, Standards, or Collections.
  • Teacher Resources.
    "The Library of Congress offers classroom materials and professional development to help teachers effectively use primary sources from the Library's vast digital collections in their teaching."
Web Sites: Educational Technology
  • Milken Family Foundation Education Technology
    "A selection of publications from the Milken Family Foundation, its initiatives and affiliated organizations including the Milken Educator Awards, the Lowell Milken Institute, and the National Institute for Excellence in Teaching" can be accessed by selecting Publications  from the menu options.
Web Sites: Art Education
Curriculum Development
See Curriculum Development tab above.
General Resources/Special Topics
Research/Statistics
  • Child Care & Early Education Research Connections
    "Research Connections is a partnership among the National Center for Children in Poverty (NCCP) at the Mailman School of Public Health, Columbia University; the Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) at the Institute for Social Research, the University of Michigan."
  • Childstats.gov
    "The Federal Interagency Forum on Child and Family Statistics (Forum) is a collection of 22 Federal government agencies involved in research and activities related to children and families."
  • Eurydice: Network on Education Systems and Policies in Europe
    "The Eurydice Network provides information on and analyses of European education systems and policies."  European Commission
  • National Center for Education Statistics
    "The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education." 
  • Research About Teacher Research
    Graduate School of Education, George Mason University.

Last updated: Jun 28th 2017