Cardinal Cushing Library
Diversity


Sources by Type


Restricted Resource = Emmanuel Faculty, Staff & Students only


1. Bibles (print and electronic)
(top)


Native American Rights Fund
The Native American Rights Fund (NARF) provides "legal assistance to Indian tribes, organizations, and individuals nationwide who may have otherwise gone without adequate representation."

z_plusletpage
(top)


Association of Humanitarian Lawyers
Originally founded as "International Disability Law" in 1982, the Association of Humanitarian Lawyers is a "non-profit organization that supports initiatives in human rights and humanitarian law" around the world.
Black Youth Project
"BYP100 is an activist member-based organization of Black 18-35 year olds, dedicated to creating justice and freedom for all Black people."
Center for Disease Control: LGBT Youth Resources
Large collection of resources for LGBT youth, educators, and parents including information on bullying, homelessness, and relationships.
GLAAD LGBTQ Resource List
Wide array or resources including information on political, legal, military, and age-related LGBTQ issues.
National Indian Law Library
"The National Indian Law Library (NILL) of the Native American Rights Fund is a law library devoted to federal Indian and tribal law. NILL maintains a unique and valuable collection of Indian law resources and assists people with their Indian law-related research needs. You can find some of our most popular resources below."
The National LGBT Bar Association
An affiliate of the National Bar Association, the LGBT Bar Association is a "a national association of lawyers, judges and other legal professionals that works to promote justice in and through the legal profession for the LGBT community."

E-Books
(top)


American Social Reform Movements Reference Library Restricted Resource
"This four-volume set chronicles and illustrates movements from the American Revolution to the present day."
Encyclopedia of Black Studies Restricted Resource
"Encyclopedia containing a full analysis of the economic, political, sociological, historical, literary, and philosophical issues related to Americans of African descent."

Web Sites
(top)


Amnesty International
“A worldwide movement of people who campaign for internationally recognized human rights for all.” Provides news feeds, human rights information by country, and more.

Institute for Diversity and Ethics in Sports (TIDES)
“A comprehensive resource for issues related to gender and race in amateur, collegiate and professional sports.” Presented by the University of Central Florida’s College of Business Administration.
Mapping Census 2000: The Geography of U.S. Diversity
A Census Special Report series that “presents a synthesis of the basic patterns and changes in U.S. population distribution” from 1990 to 2000. U.S. Census Bureau.
Teaching Tolerance
Resources for teachers, parents, teenagers and young children for the promotion of tolerance. Created by the Southern Poverty Law Center.
U.S. Commission on Civil Rights
Public information regarding the investigation and study of discrimination. Use the top menu to review press releases, find a regional office, file a complaint, or access USCCR publications.
UnderstandingPrejudice.org
“Educational resources and information on prejudice, discrimination, multiculturalism, and diversity.” Funded by National Science Foundation and McGraw-Hill Higher Education grants.
Universal Human Rights Index of United Nations Documents
“Provides instant access for all countries to human rights information from the United Nations system.” Use search box in the center; advanced search options available.
Voices of Civil Rights
Online exhibit documenting “events during the Civil Rights Movement in the United States.” Created by the Library of Congress.

Web Sites: Age (Ageism)
(top)


American Association of Retired Persons (AARP)
Enter discrimination in the search box to retrieve current, relevant articles.
American Society on Aging (ASA)
Explore Education and Diversity in the top menu.

Web Sites: Civil Rights
(top)


Affirmative Action and Civil Rights
Internet directory of resources including: U.S. Information; International Information; and Nongovernmental Sources. Maintained by the University of Colorado at Boulder.
Anti-Defamation League (ADL)
“Fights anti-Semitism and all forms of bigotry, defends democratic ideals and protects civil rights for all.”
Civil Rights Project: Resources
Created by the University of California Los Angeles.
Leadership Conference on Civil and Human Rights
Explore the Get Informed and Resources menu options. Created by the Leadership Conference on Civil Rights and the Leadership Conference on Civil Rights Education Fund.
Martin Luther King, Jr. Center for Nonviolent Social Change (The King Center)
The King Center is "dedicated to educating the world on the life, legacy and teachings of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., inspiring new generations to carry forward his unfinished work, strengthen causes and empower change-makers who are continuing his efforts today." Founded by Mrs. Coretta Scott King.
U.S. Commission on Civil Rights
Public information regarding the investigation and study of discrimination. Use the top menu to review press releases, find a regional office, file a complaint, or access USCCR publications.
U.S. Department of Justice, Civil Rights Division
Provides relevant documents and other governmental information. Select the Resources tab for forms and publications and News for blogs and videos.
Voices of Civil Rights
Online exhibit documenting “events during the Civil Rights Movement in the United States.” Created by the Library of Congress.

Web Sites: Ethnicity
(top)


Avoice Online: African American voices in Congress
A virtual library of “information about historical and contemporary African American policy issues important to researchers, academics, educators and students.” Presented by the Congressional Black Caucus Foundation.
Race - The Power of an Illusion
"The online companion to California Newsreel's three-part documentary about race in society, science & history." Public Broadcasting Service (PBS).
Note: Race - The Power of an Illusion (DVD) is available in our media collection. (Check availability)

Web Sites: Family
(top)


WorkLife Law a Center of UC Hastings College of Law
"Seeks to jumpstart the stalled gender revolution by focusing, at any given time, on a few initiatives that hold the promise of producing concrete social or institutional change within a three- to-five year time frame."

Web Sites: Gender
(top)


Catalyst
"Founded in 1962, Catalyst is the leading nonprofit membership organization expanding opportunities for women and business."
Gender Data Portal
"The Gender Data Portal is the World Bank Group’s comprehensive source for the latest sex-disaggregated data and gender statistics covering demography, education, health, access to economic opportunities, public life and decision-making, and agency."

Web Sites: Gender Expression/Sexual Orientation
(top)


Boston GLASS
A community center for GLBT youths to meet and share their experiences. Provides counseling and advocacy services also.
Gay, Lesbian and Straight Education Network (GLSEN)
Resources for students, parents, and educators with a focus on K-12 education. Explore the menu options Learn, Act, Teach, Connect, Support, as well as News updates on the home page.
GenderTalk
Archive of Gender talk radio programs broadcast by MIT’s WMBR from 1997–2006 with topical and date indexes.
Human Rights Campaign
Advocates for the civil rights of GLBT individuals at the national level. Explore Issues drop down menu.
Massachusetts Transgender Political Coalition (MTPC)
“Dedicated to ending discrimination on the basis of gender identity and gender expression” through education and lobbying. Explore Take Action, Get Help, Issues, About MTPC, Media Center, and Community/Events.

Web Sites: Health/Disability
(top)


Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA)
“Information and Technical Assistance on the Americans with Disabilities Act.”
U.S. Department of Justice.
Disability History Museum
Designed “to foster a deeper understanding about how changing cultural values, notions of identity, laws and policies have shaped and influenced the experience of people with disabilities, their families and their communities over time."
Disability Rights and Independent Living Movement
“Primary sources exploring the social and political history of the disability movement from the 1960s to the present.” Maintained by the University of California, Berkeley.
Disability Support Services
"Disability Support Services provides Emmanuel College students with documented disabilities access to classroom and testing accommodations and assistive technology."
DiversityRX
Designed “to improve the accessibility and quality of health care for minority, immigrant, and indigenous communities. “ Created by Resources for Cross Cultural Health Care (RCCHC) and Drexel University, School of Public Health’s, Center for Health Equality.
Genetic Information Nondiscrimination Act of 2008
Presented by the National Human Genome Research Institute.
MAB Community Services: Brain Injury, developmental disability, vision rehabilitation
"Specializ[ing] in individualized rehabilitation and family-focused strategies that help individuals with disabilities live full lives in the community," the Massachusetts Association for the Blind (MAB) Community Services provides support for adult and adolescents.
National Center for Learning Disabilities (NCLD)
“Envisions a society in which every individual possesses the academic, social and emotional skills needed to succeed in school, at work and in life.”
National Council on Disability
“Is an independent federal agency charged with advising the President, Congress, and other federal agencies regarding policies, programs, practices, and procedures that affect people with disabilities.” Explore the Publications and Policy Briefs link at the top and the NCD Policy Areas menu at the left.
National Council on Independent Living
“Advances independent living and the rights of people with disabilities through consumer-driven advocacy.” Explore the Resources link.
National Institute on Disability and Rehabilitation Research (NIDRR)
Explore Programs/Initiatives, Reports & Resources, and more in the central menu. Maintained by the U.S. Department of Education, Office of Special Education and Rehabilitative Services.
Positive Exposure
A nonprofit organization that takes and displays photos of people with genetic differences in order to celebrate "the beauty and richness of human diversity. A partnership between visual arts, genetics, mental health and human rights."

Web Sites: Legal/Law
(top)


Affirmative Action and Civil Rights
Internet directory of resources including: U.S. Information; International Information; and Nongovernmental Sources. Maintained by the University of Colorado at Boulder.
American Civil Liberties Union (ACLU)
Explore Key Issues in the top menu and scroll through Our Work: News & Updates at the top left.
National Workrights Institute
Seeks “to improve the legal protection of human rights in the workplace.” Explore specific Issues including Genetic Discrimination and Lifestyle Discrimination, found in the Privacy category.
United Nations Office of the High Commissioner
Explore the News and events and Publications and resources links. Additionally, use the drop down menu to search for Human Rights by Country.
U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission (EEOC)
Under Federal Agencies tab, select the Laws, Regulation, Guidance & MOUs link.

Web Sites: Lobbying Groups
(top)


American Civil Liberties Union (ACLU)
Explore Key Issues in the top menu and scroll through Our Work: News & Updates at the top left.
National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP)
Seeks “to ensure the political, educational, social, and economic equality of rights of all persons and to eliminate racial hatred and racial discrimination.”
Rainbow Push Coalition
An “International Human Rights Organization, committed to economic development, voter registration and participation, healthcare, jobs, peace, education and justice” founded by Reverend Jesse Louis Jackson, Sr. Explore the links, Issues or Videos categories.

Web Sites: Socio-Economic Status
(top)


National Coalition for the Homeless
Select Advocacy in the top menu to explore Civil Rights issues related to homelessness.
Poverty & Race Research Action Council (PRRAC)
“To help connect social scientists with advocates working on race and poverty issues, and to promote a research-based advocacy strategy on issues of structural racial inequality.”

Last updated: Jun 28th 2017