Cardinal Cushing Library
Country Information


This guide highlights library and online resources that support research about foreign countries and international studies.  General resources are listed below; more topic-specific resources are suggested on the tabs shown above.  

Restricted Resource = Emmanuel Faculty, Staff & Students only
General Country Information
Reference Books: 
Book cover: Political Handbook of the World 2014
Political Handbook of the World REFERENCE JF37 .P6  [Check Availability]
Provides government and intergovernmental organization data. 

Statesman's Yearbook REFERENCE JA51 .S7 [Check Availability]
Contains a listing of international organizations and country profiles.

World Factbook
Gives country overview; provides information on geography, people, government, economy, communications, and more. Listed by country and information type.
 


Database Resources:

Business Source Premier Restricted Resource
Type in the name of your country in the search box. Next, navigate to Limit your results, and find Publication Type. From this list select Country Report and then use the Search button.

CountryWatch Restricted Resource
Provides country-specific intelligence and data on all countries, including daily news coverage, intelligence briefings, and up-to-date articles from regional news wire services across the globe.

Lexis-Nexis Academic Restricted Resource
From the Search by Subject or Topic option, scroll down to People, Places, and Things, then select Country Information. Next, go to the Advanced Options and select a country from the Country drop-down box. Then, select a specific source from the list of Source. Source options include Business Monitor International, PRS Risk Guides & Service, or News Stories.
 


Statistical Resources:

UNdata: A World of Information
Searches include a keyword Data search (default), a Glossary, and a Country Profiles search (found under More). To find direct links to the national statistics offices of many countries go to More and select About UNdata. Next, in the left column click Country links to UNdata. Provided by the United Nations Statistics Division (UNSD) of the Department of Economic and Social Affairs (DESA).

WDI World Development Indicators (The World Bank Group)
World Bank Group's World Development Indicators.

Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD)
Presents comparable statistics regarding economic, social and environmental data for the international community. Explore the statistics by selecting the Data tab from the top menu and, then, browse by Topic or Country.

Eurostat
"Eurostat is the statistical office of the European Union situated in Luxembourg." Click on the Data top menu options and then choose Statistics A-Z to look up statistics by theme alphabetically; or to browse, select Database from the Data menu option. The Publications menu option includes access to the Eurostat yearbooks and the News menu option includes Themes in the Spotlight.

List of Foreign and International Governmental Statistical Agencies
“Provides access to statistical websites from foreign and international government organizations.” Foreign language sites here provide an option to translate into English; look for small print along the top of the page.  Maintained by Purdue University.
Related Research Guides
Note:  Certain resources are listed on multiple guides.
Search for Books
Book Cover: Qatar: Small State, Big Politics  Book Cover: European Foreign Policies
Think Tanks
An extensive list of think tanks is included in CIAO.
"Think  tanks  are  public-policy  research analysis  and  engagement  organizations  that generate policy-oriented  research,  analysis, and  advice  on domestic  and  international issues, thereby enabling policymakers and the public to make informed decisions about public policy."
(University of Pennsylvania, 2016)
 
Maps
  • Harvard Map Collection: Digital Maps
    “The Harvard Map Collection is one of the oldest and largest collections of cartographic materials in the United States with over 500,000 items. Resources range from 16th century globes to modern maps and geographic information systems (GIS) layers.“
    Harvard College Library.
  • Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection
    University of Texas Austin.
Economy
EconLit™ with Full Text Restricted Resource
Published by the American Economic Association; provides full-text for nearly 600 publications including titles from the American Economic Association (all with no embargo), such as: American Economic Review, Journal of Economic Literature, and Journal of Economic Perspectives; citations and abstracts to economic research dating back to 1969, covering all fields of economics, including capital markets, country studies, econometrics, economic forecasting, environmental economics, government regulations, labor economics, monetary theory, and urban economics.

World Bank
Select the Data tab from the top menu to browse data By Country and Indicators. Other menu options found on The World Bank home page include Research and Countries.
Doing Business Project (World Bank)
"Provides objective measures of business regulations and their enforcement across 189 economies and selected cities at the subnational and regional level."

International Monetary Fund (IMF)
Select Countries  from the top menu to access IMF reports and publications arranged by country.

World Economic Forum
Select "Reports" or "Projects" to access research and analysis produced by the organization.

European Centre for International Political Economy
"An independent and non-profit policy research think tank dedicated to trade policy and other international economic policy issues of importance to Europe."

Penn World Table (PWT)
"PWT is a database with information on relative levels of income, output, inputs and productivity, with country and period coverage depending on the release."  Focus on the relationship between purchasing power parity and measurement of these variables.  Currently maintained at the University of Groningen, Netherlands.
 
Trade
World Trade Organization (WTO)
To “see key information on trade statistics, WTO commitments, disputes, trade policy reviews, and notifications” by country, select from the WTO Membership menu option. Also explore the Trade Topics and Documents and Resources menu options.

Export.gov
Explore Opportunities and Solutions in the main menu.  Select International Offices under the Locations tab to find trade information by country. International Trade Administration, U.S. Department of Commerce.

International Trade Centre
Select a country from the Countries/Territories drop down menu for trade statistics. Joint agency of the World Trade Organization and the United Nations.

Office of the U.S. Trade Representative

U.S. International Trade Commission

International Markets & Trade, U.S. Department of Agriculture
Labor
ILOSTAT (International Labor Organization database)
A statistical database providing “multiple datasets with annual and infra-annual labor market statistics for over 100 indicators and 230 countries, areas and territories.”
Related Research Guides
Note:  Certain resources are listed on multiple guides.
Conflict and Security
Military & Government Collection Restricted Resource
Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government, this database offers a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals, and other content pertinent to the increasing needs of those sites. It provides cover-to-cover full text for nearly 300 journals and periodicals and indexing and abstracts for nearly 400 titles.

CIA Freedom of Information Act (FOIA) Electronic Reading Room
A large collection of declassified "historically significant Agency documents" organized by topic.

Homeland Security Digital Library
“The nation's premier collection of documents related to homeland security policy, strategy, and organizational management. The HSDL is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Homeland Security's National Preparedness Directorate, FEMA and the Naval Postgraduate School Center for Homeland Defense and Security.”  The Public Collection contains over 75,000 items.

National Security Archive
"Combines a unique range of functions: investigative journalism center, research institute on international affairs, library and archive of declassified U.S. documents." To access these declassified materials and associated research, click on the "documents" tab.  Based at George Washington University's Gelman Library.
 
North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO) e-Library
NATO’s library of publicly available materials.  Topical research guides (LibGuides) recommend further resources on external (non-NATO) web sites.

Uppsala Conflict Data Program
The UCDP "has recorded ongoing violent conflicts since the 1970s. The data provided is one of the most accurate and well-used data-sources on global armed conflicts."  The UCDP Conflict Encyclopedia is a gateway to conflict-related background information and analysis at the country level.
 
Stockholm International Peace Research Institute (SIPRI)
“An independent international institute dedicated to research into conflict, armaments, arms control and disarmament.”
 
Carnegie Endowment for International Peace
"The oldest international affairs think tank in the United States."

United States Institute of Peace
"Established by Congress in 1984 as an independent, federally-funded national security institution devoted to the nonviolent prevention and mitigation of deadly conflict abroad."  Access research by country, issue, or publication type.
Related Research Guides
Note:  Certain resources are listed on multiple guides.
Human Rights
Amnesty International
“A worldwide movement of people who campaign for internationally recognized human rights for all.” Provides news feeds, human rights information by country, and more.

Human Rights Watch
An international, nongovernmental organization focused on human rights research and advocacy that annually “publishes more than 100 reports and briefings on human rights conditions in some 90 countries.”  To find information for a specific country, go to the Countries drop-down menu and use the Search by Country Name option or browse by continent.

International Federation for Human Rights (FIDH)
To find information on a specific country, go to the Regions drop-down menu and choose a continent. Then, you may search by country, issue, and/or content type.
 

UN Women Watch
Provides "information and resources on the promotion of gender equality and the empowerment of women throughout the United Nations system.” Maintained by the United Nations Inter-Agency Network on Women and Gender Equality (IANWGE).

UN Women
"UN Women, among other issues, works for the elimination of discrimination against women and girls; empowerment of women; and achievement of equality between women and men as partners and beneficiaries of development, human rights, humanitarian action and peace and security."

United Nations Office of the High Commissioner
Explore the News and events and Publications and resources links. Additionally, use the drop down menu to search for Human Rights by Country.

UN Documentation: Human Rights (Research Guide)
A research guide produced by the UN's Dag Hammarskjöld Library.

Minority Rights Group International
An international NGO whose mission is to "ensure that disadvantaged minorities and indigenous peoples, often the poorest of the poor, can make their voices heard."  Search the directory on the home page to find out more about specific indigenous communities. Browse the News or Publications sections for press releases, analyses, and other materials.

Inter-American Commission on Human Rights
"The IACHR is a principal and autonomous organ of the Organization of American States ('OAS') whose mission is to promote and protect human rights in the American hemisphere."

African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights
Established by the African Charter, the African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights is charged with the protection, promotion, and interpretation of the African Charter on Human and Peoples' Rights. Use the States menu option to view statistics and state reports.

Center for Human Rights Documentation and Research
"[T]he official repository for the archives of major human rights organizations such as Amnesty International USA, the Committee of Concerned Scientists,  Human Rights First, and Human Rights Watch." Columbia University Libraries.

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Includes refereed articles on such topics as human rights, the rights of children, equality, and justice. Published by the Metaphysics Research Lab, Center for the Study of Language and Information (CSLI), Stanford University.
Related Research Guides
Note:  Certain resources are listed on multiple guides.
Environment
Science Direct (Elsevier) Restricted Resource
Access to full text of over 2,500 scholarly, peer-reviewed journals in the areas of: Biochemistry; Business and Management; Genetics and Molecular Biology; Chemistry; Immunology and Microbiology; Medicine; Psychology; and Social Science. Includes recently-accepted articles in press.

U.S. Energy Information Administration (EIA)
"[C]ollects, analyzes, and disseminates independent and impartial energy information to promote sound policymaking, efficient markets, and public understanding of energy and its interaction with the economy and the environment." Use the Geography drop-down menu to browse a variety of tools regarding global energy use.

United Nations Environment Programme
Provides a variety of information regarding global environmental issues including but not limited to climate change, ecosystem management, and disasters & conflicts.

United Nations Sustainability Development Goals
Click Goals to explore facts, targets, and links the United Nations has created for their Sustainable Development Agenda. Explore the Media tab to see recent coverage regarding the UN's 17 sustainability goals.

World Resources Institute (WRI)
Explore the What We Do, Maps & Data, and Publications (for WRI reports) top menu options.

World Water Council (WWC)
"The World Water Council's mission is to promote awareness, build political commitment and trigger action on critical water issues at all levels..."

World's Water: Information on the World's Freshwater Resources
Click the Water Conflicts tab to access a chronological list, timeline, and map of conflicts around the world regarding access to clean fresh water.  Project of the Pacific Institute.
Global Health
PubMed
PubMed comprises more than 24 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.

World Health Organization (WHO)
Click the Data option to access Country Statistics. The Publications menu option provides access to  World Health Statistics and the World Health Report. Explore also the resources found in the Countries menu option.

Global Health Watch
The Global Health Watch is a social justice approach of monitoring global health with the goal of counterbalancing market-driven perspectives and magnifying the voices of the poor and vulnerable.

Global Health Council
"Established in 1972, Global Health Council (GHC) is the leading membership organization supporting and connecting advocates, implementers and stakeholders around global health priorities worldwide."
Related Research Guides
Note:  Certain resources are listed on multiple guides.

Last updated: Aug 1st 2017