Cardinal Cushing Library
Company Information


Annual Reports
Description of Annual Reports
Public companies will typically have their annual reports readily available since they are required to file financial reports to the Security and Exchange Commission (SEC) [http://www.sec.gov]. Private companies, however, do not have this requirement. Therefore, they often do not have annual reports publicly accessible.
 

Internet Resources:
  • Company's Web Site
    Search Tip: 1. Look on the company homepage for a link to investor or financial information;
    Search Tip: 2. Use the search feature, if available, on the company's website; or
    Search Tip: 3. Search Google.com for [annual report and site:company homepage].
     
  • Corporate Reports Online: Browse by Company
    Historical Annual Reports from 1800s through 1955.  Lippincott Library at University of Pennsylvania.

(top
Business Rankings/ Market Share
Reference BooksBook Cover: Business Ranking Annual  
Databases
Search Tip: Include, as a subject or keyword term, "market share" or ranking along with the industry descriptors; "company name" or ticker; or other features to be compared.

For further information on competitors and business rankings/market shares:
Industry Information to identify other companies that share the same industry.


(top)
Company Profile
Company Profiles may include the following information:
1. Whether a company is PUBLIC [Investopedia.com definition] or PRIVATE [Investopedia.com definition];
2. U.S. or internationally based;
3. SUBSIDIARY [Investopedia.com definition] or the PARENT company [Investopedia.com definition];
4. Description of the Company;
5. Trading information for public companies [including Ticker Symbol and the Exchange that the company stock is traded];
6. Industry of the Company [See also Industry Information.];
7. Executive Officers [See also Executive Officers]; and
8. Financial Information [See also Financial Data for Public Companies; Financial Data for Private Companies; and Stocks and Funds.]
9. Company History

 

Database Resources:
  • Business Source Premier Restricted Resource
    Search Tip 1: Choose Company Profiles tab on the top of the page. Browse from the alphabetical list or search by company name for MarketLine reports.
    Search Tip 2: Search for articles on the company using the default search screen.
     
  • Hoover's Company Records Restricted Resource
    "Featuring profiles of more than 40,000 companies, 600 industries, and 225,000 key executives, Hoover's Company Records provides easy access to the most thorough and up-to-date business information available."
     
  • Lexis-Nexis Academic Restricted Resource
    Search Tip: After expanding the Get Company Info box below the Hot Topics Links, enter the company name or ticker symbol and click Go.
    Note: If possible, enter the ticker symbol for the company when searching for a company. If the company name is common, a list of three possible matches will appear when a company name search is conducted. If the company is not in that list, click the View All Companies button at the top. Once the appropriate company has been found, click on the link for that company.  
    See the Lexis-Nexis guides: 
  • Mergent Online Restricted Resource
    The Mergent Moody's database of fundamental company information gives a detailed picture of over 10,000 U.S. public companies.
    Search Tip: Enter the Company name or ticker symbol in the Company Search option. Click on the Company name link to access company profile information. ("How do I use Mergent Online to create company comparison reports?")
     
  • Morningstar Investment Research Center Restricted Resource
    Enter the Company Ticker or Company Name in search box and select the company name from the list of possible companies. Select Company Profile from Overview tab options.
     
  • Business Insights: Essentials Restricted Resource
    Select Companies from the top menu.  Information includes SWOT Reports, Investment Reports, and Financial Reports.


(top)
Competitors
Database Resources:
 
  • Business Source Premier Restricted Resource
    Search Tip: Choose Company Profiles tab on the top of the page. Browse from the alphabetical list or search by company name. Detailed reports are provided by MarketLine for 5,000 U.S. and international companies.
     
  • Hoover's Company Records Restricted Resource
    "Featuring profiles of more than 40,000 companies, 600 industries, and 225,000 key executives, Hoover's Company Records provides easy access to the most thorough and up-to-date business information available."
     
  • Lexis-Nexis Academic Restricted Resource
    Search Tip: After expanding the Get Company Info box below the Hot Topics Links, enter the company name or ticker symbol and click Go. Under the Snapshot heading in the left menu, click on the Competitors.
    Note: If possible, enter the ticker symbol for the company when searching for a company. If the company name is common, a list of three possible matches will appear when a company name search is conducted. If the company is not in that list, click the View All Companies button at the top. Once the appropriate company has been found, click on the link for that company.
    See the Lexis-Nexis guides: 
  • Morningstar Investment Research Center Restricted Resource
    Enter the Company Ticker or Name in search box and click on Get Report. Under the Quote tab, which is the default, Competitors is located on the right side of the page. Also, select Industry Peers in the menu bar directly under the Quote tab.
 
For further information on competitors and business rankings/market shares: (top
MarketLine (Datamonitor)-SWOT Analysis, etc.
  • Business Source Premier Restricted Resource
    1. SWOT [Strengths Weaknesses Opportunities Threats] analyses are found within MarketLine (Datamonitor) Reports.
    [Note: Not all reports include SWOT analyses.]
    • Select Company Profiles at the top of the page.
    • Browse the alphabetical list or search by company name.
     
    2. Search for articles that discuss trends in your company's industry.
    • Enter a search string in the text boxes.
    • Choose Peer Reviewed from the Limit your results section.
    • Example searches:
      textile and industry and threats and (America or "United States")
      textile and industry and (trends or forecast or projections)
      ("International Business Machines" or IBM) and (trends or projections or forecast)

(top
Executive Officers
Database Resources:
  • Gale Biography in Context Restricted Resource
    Integrates GALE Cengage Learning reference works along with magazine and journal articles, images, videos, audio files, and website links. Search for current or historical people by name, occupation, nationality, and birth/death dates.  Use the advanced search feature for further search options.
     
  • Business Source Premier Restricted Resource
    Search Tip: Choose People from the search field options and then enter the person's name, last name first.
     
  • Lexis-Nexis Academic Restricted Resource
    Resource Type: Database
    Search Tip: After expanding the Get Company Info box below the Hot Topics Links, enter the company name or ticker symbol and click Go. On the default Snapshot page, scroll down to explore the Top Executives or click on Executives in the left hand menu for more details.
     
Internet Resources:
  • Company's Web Site
    Search Tip: 1. Look on the company homepage for a link to investor or financial information;
    Search Tip: 2. Use the search feature, if available, on the company's website; or
    Search Tip: 3. Search Google.com for [annual report and site:company homepage].
     
  • Executive Officer's Web Site
    Curricula Vitae (CV) or other biographical information may be available online.

(top
Financial information: Private Companies
Description of Financial Data for Private Companies
Private companies have no obligation to reveal their financial data to the public. It may therefore be difficult (or impossible) to obtain detailed financial data. (See also Profile of the company or contact the company directly.)
 

Database Resources:
  • Business Source Premier Restricted Resource
    Full text and indexing of scholarly business journals covering management, economics, finance, accounting, international business and related topics.

     
  • Lexis-Nexis Academic Restricted Resource
    Search Tip: After expanding the Get Company Info box below the Hot Topics Links, enter the company name or ticker symbol and click Go. On the default Snapshot page, click on Financials in the left menu.
    Note: If the company name is common, a list of three possible matches will appear when a company name search is conducted. If the company is not in that list, click the View All Companies button at the top. Once the appropriate company has been found, click on the link for that company.

Internet Resources:
  • Company's Web Site
    Search Tip: 1. Look on the company homepage for a link to investor or financial information;
    Search Tip: 2. Use the search feature, if available, on the company's website.
(top
Financial and SEC filings: Public Companies
Description of Financial Data/SEC Filings for Public Companies
Public companies are required to file financial reports to the Security and Exchange Commission (SEC). The SEC filings are available through the following databases and internet sites listed below. (See also Annual Reports and Company Profile.)
 

Database Resources:
  •  Lexis-Nexis Academic
    Search Tip:
    • After expanding the Get Company Info box below the Hot Topics Links, enter the company name or ticker symbol and click Go.
    • On the left menu, click on the link for SEC Filings  found under the category Financials
       
  • Mergent Online Restricted Resource
    Search Tip: Enter Company name or Ticker in the Company Search option. Click on the company name link to access Company financials, Filings (SEC filings), or the Report Builder. ("How do I create company comparison reports using Mergent Online?")
     
  • Morningstar Investment Research Center Restricted Resource
    Enter the Company Ticker or Name in search box and click on Get Report. Menu bar options include Key Ratios, Valuation, Financials, and Filings (SEC Filings).
 

Internet Resources:
(top
Financial/Investment Analysis

(top
News
Print Resources:

The following newspapers are available at the Library Circulation Desk
  • The Boston Globe 
  • The New York Times
  • The Wall Street Journal
     
 
Database Resources:
 
Access the complete list newspaper databases through the Research Guide: Newspapers.
 

Internet Resources:
(top
Stocks and Funds
Database Resources:
Internet Resources:
(top
Ticker
Description of a Ticker Symbol
Each company is identified on each stock exchange by a unique alphabetic ticker symbol. Using the ticker symbol when doing research will ensure that information on the correct company is found.

The symbol is listed in the company profile. In addition, the internet and database resources for stock information, which have either ticker symbol look up or a search by company name, will list the ticker along with the stock quotes.


(top

Last updated: Jun 14th 2017