Cardinal Cushing Library
Art/Art History


Book Cover_Textiles  Book Cover_Art of the American Still Life Book Cover_The Highwaymen  Book Cover_Crafting Modernism Book Cover_Frankenthaler  Book Cover_Irish Women Artists
Article Databases
FAQs
   Restricted Resource = Emmanuel Faculty, Staff & Students only

Article Databases: Ranked by Relevance
  • Art Full Text
    • Art Full-Text provides articles from over 300 journals from 1995 to present and abstracts and indexing of more than 600 periodicals back to 1984, many of them peer-reviewed. Expanded coverage of Latin American, Canadian, Asian and non-Western art, new artists, contemporary art, exhibition reviews, and feminist criticism.
    • Art Index Retrospective indexes almost 600 titles published between 1929 and 1984.
  • Humanities International Complete Restricted Resource
    Features are literary critique content and inclusion of original works of poetry, short fiction, photography, illustrations, and artwork. This database was originally funded by a gift from the Emmanuel College Class of 2006.
  • JSTOR Restricted Resource
    A total of more than 900 full-text scholarly journal titles in an online archive beginning with the first issue of each title. The archive includes nine JSTOR Arts and Sciences Collections. In JSTOR, there is usually a time lag in full-text content. Use JSTOR in conjunction with our current online databases and print holdings.
    (See also Example of a Search in JSTOR pdf)
  • Project MUSE® Restricted Resource
    Offers over 400 quality journal titles from nearly 100 not-for-profit publishers. Project MUSE® covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.


 
Search for Books

 

Reference Books
Selected Full-Text Journals
Restricted Resource = Emmanuel Faculty, Staff & Students only
Search for Journals
Architecture
Local Architecture
  • Boston, Massachusetts History and Architecture
    Provides descriptions and histories of public art and architecture and biographies of historical figures. Select Research Goodies for population demographics for the city and specific neighborhoods, interactive maps, and a detailed description of Trinity Church. Dave Wieneke.
American Architecture European Architecture Muslim Cultural Architecture
  • Archnet
    "Officially launched in 2002 as a partnership between the Aga Khan Trust for Culture and the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT), Archnet has since evolved into the largest open, online architectural library with a focus on Muslim cultures."
Worldwide Architecture
  • ARCHInform
    Focusing on world-wide architecture of the 20th Century, ARCHInform "includes information over more than 68000 built and unrealized projects from various architects and planners."
     
Art History: General
  • Art History Resources on the Web
    Award-winning directory linking to all periods of art history and art in all regions of the world, maintained by Chris Witcombe, Professor, Art History, Sweet Briar College.
  • Art Net
    This free resource from Grove Art Online is available off-campus. Artists’ biographies are searchable by name; selected online articles; gallery contact information for over 2,200 member galleries. On-campus, use Grove Art Online.
  • Clara: Database of Women Artists
    A unique, interactive database maintained by the National Museum of Women in the Arts, Clara contains "authoritative information on 18,000 women visual artists of all time periods and nationalities."
  • Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History
    An interactive resource that "comprises 300 timelines, 930 essays, close to 7,000 objects, and a robust index."  Based at the Metropolitan Museum of Art.
Art History: Ancient & Medieval
Art History: Modern & Contemporary
  • Artsy
    Artsy is the largest online collection of contemporary art, featuring 350,000 images of art, architecture, and design by 50,000 artists. Most images are freely downloadable for educational use.
  • ART21
    ART21 is a nonprofit organization uses digital media to teach people of all ages about contemporary art & artists.
  • ArtBabble
    Created by the Indianapolis Museum of Art in 2009, "ArtBabble is a website that showcases high quality art-related video content from more than 50 cultural institutions from around the world.
  • Journal of Contemporary Art - Online edition
    Covering the contemporary art scene with interviews, discussions, portfolios, and projects. Archived issues are available from 1990.
The Miriam and Ira D. Wallach Division of Art, Prints and Photographs: Print Collection, The New York Public Library. "Prima Parte di Architetture e Prospettive. [Title page]" New York Public Library Digital Collections. Accessed July 11, 2016. http://digitalcollections.nypl.org/items/639b6496-e50c-e1ae-e040-e00a18061b63
Conservation & Restoration
Studio Art
Color & Color Theory
Local Museums
  • Harvard Art Museums
    A searchable collection of art works from Harvard’s Fogg, Busch-Reisinger, and Sackler Museums. Provides provenance and exhibition histories.
  • Institute of Contemporary Art
    Boston, MA.
  • Isabella Stewart Gardner Museum
    An Emmanuel ID gains admission to regular hours of the Museum for the entire Emmanuel community; it does not gain access to special events.
    Boston, MA.
  • Museum of Fine Arts
    Emmanuel students have free admission to the MFA with their Emmanuel IDs. MFA Museum passes for Emmanuel Faculty and Staff are available in the Library to be checked out for a 24-hour period.
    Boston, MA.
  • Peabody Essex Museum
    Located in Salem, Massachusetts, the Peabody collection spans 200 years of history, representing: American Decorative Arts; Asian, Oceanic and African Arts and Culture; Asian Export Art; Early American Architecture; Maritime Art and History; Native American Art and Archaeology; and Natural History.
United States Museums
MFA
The Miriam and Ira D. Wallach Division of Art, Prints and Photographs: Photography Collection, The New York Public Library. "Museum of Fine Arts, Boston, Mass." New York Public Library Digital Collections. Accessed July 21, 2016. http://digitalcollections.nypl.org/items/510d47d9-3fd4-a3d9-e040-e00a18064a99
Virtual Tours & Digital Collections
  • Basilica of Saint John Lateran
    Take a virtual tour of the Basilica of Saint John Lateran, the Catherdral of Rome. Images may take a while to load.
  • Getty Publications Virtual Library
    Free online access to more than 250 books on the history of art and photography. Titles can be read online or downloaded in PDF format.
  • Google Cultural Institute: Art Project
    "Explore museums from around the world, discover and view hundreds of artworks at incredible zoom levels, and even create and share your own collection of masterpieces."
  • Vatican Museums
    Online tours of Sistine Chapel, the Raphael rooms, and the Egyptian and Etruscan collections. The images are of uneven quality; have patience as they load. A zoom function allows detailed viewing. (Click on the specific section of the image to be enlarged.) A substantial explanatory text accompanies each image.
International Museums
  • Rijksmuseum, Amsterdam
    A national institute, the Rijksmuseum offers a representative overview of Dutch art and history from the Middle Ages onwards, and of major aspects of European and Asian art. Also see Rijks Studio.
  • Vatican Museums
    Online tours of Sistine Chapel, the Raphael rooms, and the Egyptian and Etruscan collections. The images are of uneven quality; have patience as they load. A zoom function allows detailed viewing. (Click on the specific section of the image to be enlarged.) A substantial explanatory text accompanies each image.
  • Victoria and Albert Museum, London
    Based in the United Kingdom, the V&A houses a "permanent collection of over 4.5 million objects that span over 5,000 years."
Online Image Banks
Online Collections
  • Artsy
    Artsy is the largest online collection of contemporary art, featuring 350,000 images of art, architecture, and design by 50,000 artists. Most images are freely downloadable for educational use.
  • Art Images for College Teaching
    AICT is a free-use image resource for the educational community, which covers Ancient art through the 20th century and non-Western art. Perform specific searches or browse works by Title or Medium. The Textbook Concordance lists the source texts cited with each illustration. Good resolution, full-frame images and details are downloadable.
  • Berenice Abbott’s documentation of 1930s New York for the Federal Art Project (New York Public Library Digital Collections).
    Contains duplicates and variants of more than three-quarters of the 302 images in Abbott’s Changing New York Project.
  • Europeana
    Provides access to "millions of items from a range of Europe's leading galleries, libraries, archives and museums."
  • International Poster Archive
    "[A]round 100.000 posters from over 150 countries, mainly on political-social issues and the performing arts represents the most extensive and diverse privately owned archive of this kind."
  • Rijks Studio
    Amsterdam’s Rijksmuseum has launched the Rijks Studio, a new online presentation of 125,000 works in its collection. “Rijks Studio invites members of the public to create their own masterpieces by downloading images of artworks or details of artworks in the collection and using them in a creative way. The ultra high-resolution images of works, both famous and less well-known, can be freely downloaded, zoomed in on, shared, added to personal ‘studios’, or manipulated copyright-free."
  • SIRIS Smithsonian Institution Research Information System
    Searchable gateway of the Smithsonian research collections of libraries, archives, photographs, 600,000 records comprising the National Inventory of American Painting and Sculpture databases, and specialized research bibliographies.
  • Web Gallery of Art
    The Web Gallery of Art is a virtual museum and searchable database of European painting and sculpture of the Gothic, Renaissance and Baroque periods (1150-1800), currently containing over 33,300 reproductions. Commentaries on pictures, biographies of artists are available.
Collections in the Public Domain
  • Digital Public Library of America
    The Digital Public Library of America is a large cultural heritage site that provides books, images, historic records, and audiovisual materials for public use.
  • Flickr Commons
    Flickr Commons was launched in January of 2008, as a pilot project with the Library of Congress. You can find publicly-held photographic collections via the Commons, and even help to catalog images.
  • New York Public Library Digital Collections
    180,000 digitized photos, postcards, maps, and other images freely available online and in the public domain.   The NYPL has made the decision to treat these public-domain images as public intellectual property that can be reused by members of the public in any way they want.  (For the New York Public Library’s Press Release on promoting transformative use of their materials, click here.) 
  • Wikimedia Commons
    A database of over 31 million freely usable media files to which anyone can contribute.
     

The Miriam and Ira D. Wallach Division of Art, Prints and Photographs: Photography Collection, The New York Public Library. "Hell Gate Bridge: I. Central Steel Arch over East River looking toward west from Astoria Park, Queens, Queens." New York Public Library Digital Collections. Accessed July 11, 2016. http://digitalcollections.nypl.org/items/510d47d9-4f6d-a3d9-e040-e00a18064a99

 
The Miriam and Ira D. Wallach Division of Art, Prints and Photographs: Photography Collection, The New York Public Library. "Boston Common Brewer fountain." New York Public Library Digital Collections. Accessed July 11, 2016. http://digitalcollections.nypl.org/items/510d47e0-8635-a3d9-e040-e00a18064a99
Photography
  • Center for Creative Photography
    Browse online collections of fine arts photographs as well as archival documents from The Center for Creative Photography, University of Arizona.
  • Helios: Photography Online
    Sponsored by the Smithsonian American Art Museum, Helios is a digital collection of photographs in the areas of daguerrotypes, early American photography, and contemporary American lanscape photography.
  • LensCulture
    An excellent resource for trends in global contemporary photography, LensCulture was founded in 2004 by Jim Casper. The site covers global photography across many differing points of view, including photojournalism, street photography, and documentary photography.
  • Library of Congress: Prints and Photographs
    Browse the large collection of prints and photographs available through the Library of Congress by searching their online catalog, or selecting collection topics on the home page.
  • Photogrammar
    170,000 iconic pictures of America in the era of the Great Depression and WWII (1935-1945) housed in the Library of Congress, released by Yale and funded by the National Endowment for the Humanities.  Searchable by County map.

Last updated: Jul 11th 2017