Cardinal Cushing Library
Africana Studies


Book Cover: The Long Walk to Freedom Book cover: The Great African American Cultural Migrations  Book Cover: African American Identity  Book Cover: Black Youth Rising Book Cover: The Making of African American  Book Cover: Setting Down the Sacred Past
Article Databases: Ranked by Relevance

FAQs  


Restricted Resource = Emmanuel Faculty, Staff & Students only


JSTOR Restricted Resource
A total of more than 900 full-text scholarly journal titles in an online archive beginning with the first issue of each title. The archive includes nine JSTOR Arts and Sciences Collections. In JSTOR, there is usually a time lag in full-text content. Use JSTOR in conjunction with our current online databases and print holdings.
(See also Example of a Search in JSTOR pdf)
  • Use the Journal Filter - Narrow by discipline and/or journal to explore the journals in African American Studies.

Project MUSE® Restricted Resource
Offers over 400 quality journal titles from nearly 100 not-for-profit publishers. Project MUSE® covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others. Taylor & Francis Group Journals Online Restricted Resource
Nearly 1,000 journals in the social sciences and humanities published by the Taylor & Francis Group, including: Routledge, Garland, Psychology Press, and Taylor & Francis.

Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource
Multidisciplinary database with extensive full-text coverage in biology, chemistry, engineering, physics, psychology, religion, theology and other disciplines in the humanities. Indexes 8,450 publications with full text for more than 4,600 of those titles (more than 3,900 are peer-reviewed). PDF backfiles to 1975 or earlier for more than one hundred journals. Searchable cited references for more than 1,000 publications.

Academic OneFile (1980 - current) Restricted Resource
Contains peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources; extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature, and other subjects. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1985. Millions of full-text articles, updated daily.
Search for Books
 

Explore the following keyword searches for Emmanuel print and e-books: (Results are limited to the last 5 years)
Reference Books (Print and Electronic)
Newspaper Databases
  • Boston Globe Restricted Resource
    Access to the daily Boston Globe with archive from the first issue of the paper (1872). A one-time registration from any computer on or off campus is required using this link: Register. For authentication purposes, you must use your Emmanuel email address as your login id then choose any password. This will become your login.
    To search the Boston Globe Archive, login here.
  • Lexis-Nexis Academic Restricted Resource
    An interdisciplinary, full-text database of over 10,000 sources focusing on current news and business, government/legal, and medical issues.

Explore the Newspapers guide for a complete list of the newspaper databases.
 
Web Sites/Magazines
  • African Arguments
    “African Arguments, a comment and analysis site, [publishes] high quality analysis of African current affairs and politics from inside the continent and through our global network of writers. It is hosted by the Royal African Society and run in partnership with The World Peace Foundation, the International Africa Institute and ECA-CREAC (Expertise on Central Africa)."
  • All Africa
    Provides “access to Africa’s media coverage.”  “We aggregate and distribute the reporting of more than 130 media organizations. Our aim is to reflect the diversity of reporting, analysis and commentary from as many as possible of the influential media in every country.  Browse by country, topics, governance, multimedia, sports or search by keyword.
  • Avoice Online: African American voices in Congress
    A virtual library of “information about historical and contemporary African American policy issues important to researchers, academics, educators and students.” Presented by the Congressional Black Caucus Foundation.
  • BBC News: Africa
  • Black Lives Matter
    The site of the “official #BlackLivesMatter Organization founded by Patrisse Cullors, Opal Tometi, and Alicia Garza. #BlackLivesMatter is an online forum intended to build connections between Black people and our allies to fight anti-Black racism, to spark dialogue among Black people, and to facilitate the types of connections necessary to encourage social action and engagement.”
  • Colorlines
    “[A] daily news site where race matters, featuring award-winning investigative reporting and news analysis. Colorlines is published by Race Forward, a national organization that advances racial justice through research, media and practice.”
  • The Crisis Restricted Resource
    The official publication of the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP).
  • Documenting Ferguson
    "[A] freely available resource that seeks to preserve and make accessible the digital media captured and created by community members following the shooting death of Michael Brown in Ferguson, Missouri, on August 9, 2014"
    University of Washington in St. Louis
  • Ebony Restricted Resource
    Note: Current issues are also available in the Periodical Collection (1st floor).
  • Ferguson Resources
    "A guide on Mike Brown's death and events in Ferguson, MO + beyond."
    The University of Arizona Libraries
  • Talks to help you understand racism in the world today (TED talks)
  • WGBH Basic Black
    Streaming site for complete episodes and clips from the PBS show hosted by Callie Crossley
Associations/Governmental Organizations
  • Kirwan Institute
    "[A]n interdisciplinary engaged research institute at The Ohio State University established in May 2003....Our goal is to connect individuals and communities with opportunities needed for thriving by educating the public, building the capacity of allied social justice organizations, and investing in efforts that support equity and inclusion."
  • National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP)
    Seeks “to ensure the political, educational, social, and economic equality of rights of all persons and to eliminate racial hatred and racial discrimination.”
  • National Urban League
    "The mission of the Urban League movement is to enable African Americans to secure economic self-reliance, parity, power and civil rights."
  • National Council for Black Studies
    Includes list of Graduate programs in Africana Studies.
  • Poverty Race and Research Action Council
    "[A] civil rights policy organization convened by major civil rights, civil liberties, and anti-poverty groups in 1989-90. PRRAC's primary mission is to help connect advocates with social scientists working on race and poverty issues, and to promote a research-based advocacy strategy on structural inequality issues."
  • Race Forward
    "Race Forward advances racial justice through research, media and practice. Founded in 1981, Race Forward brings systemic analysis and an innovative approach to complex race issues to help people take effective action toward racial equity. Race Forward publishes the daily news site Colorlines and presents Facing Race, the country’s largest multiracial conference on racial justice."
  • Southern Poverty Law Center
    "The SPLC is dedicated to fighting hate and bigotry and to seeking justice for the most vulnerable members of our society. Using litigation, education, and other forms of advocacy, the SPLC works toward the day when the ideals of equal justice and equal opportunity will be a reality."
  • U.S. Commission on Civil Rights
    Public information regarding the investigation and study of discrimination. Use the top menu to review press releases, find a regional office, file a complaint, or access USCCR publications.
Databases
  • American History 1493-1945 Restricted Resource
    Module 1: Settlement, Commerce, Revolution and Reform: 1493-1859
    Sources from the Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History, New York. Contains books, diaries, correspondence, newspapers, photographs, military documents, pamphlets, broadsides and other ephemera.
    “The majority of the collection is unique manuscript. It is an extensive resource for scholars, educators and students and is considered one of the finest archives for material on the revolutionary, early national, antebellum and civil war eras.” 
    Module 2: Civil War, Reconstruction and the Modern Era: 1860-1945
    Includes documents on slavery, the Civil War, and secession.
Web Sites
  • African American Newspapers Online
    Florida Agricultural and Mechanical University
  • African-American Odyssey
    Library of Congress
  • African American Women: Digitized Archival Material
    Digital Archival Material from: Elizabeth Harris Johnson Memoir, 1867-1923; Hannah Valentine and Lethe Jackson: Slave Letters from the Campbell Family Papers; and Violet Lester Letter. Duke University.
  • American Slavery Debate: Revolution and Abolition in Haiti, 1791-1865
    Office of Resources for International and Area Studies (ORIAS) at the University of California, Berkeley 
  • Anti-Slavery Collection, 1725-1911 (UMass Amherst Special Collections and University Archives)
    "The Antislavery Collection contains several hundred printed pamphlets and books pertaining to slavery and antislavery in New England, 1725-1911. The holdings include speeches, sermons, proceedings and other publications of organizations such as the American Anti-Slavery Society and the American Colonization Society, and a small number of pro-slavery tracts."
  • Black Press Research Collective (BPRC)
    "[A]n interdisciplinary group of scholars committed to generating digital scholarship about the historical and contemporary role of black newspapers in Africa and the African Diasporas."
  • Black Women Oral History Project: Interviews of The Black Women Oral History Project, 1976-1981
    "[C]onsists of audiotapes and transcripts of the oral histories of 72 African-American women from across the United States. The interviews discuss family background, marriages, childhood, education and training, significant influences affecting their choice of primary career or activity, professional and voluntary accomplishments, union activities, the ways in which being black and a woman had affected their options and the choices made."
    Schlesinger Library
  • Born in Slavery: Slave Narratives from the Federal Writers’ Project, 1936-38
    Contains more than 2,300 first-person accounts of slavery and 500 b&w photographs of former slaves, collected in the 1930s as part of the Federal Writers’ Projects of the Works Progress Administration (WPA).  Maintained by the Library of Congress.
  • Boston Public Library Anti-Slavery Collection
    Contains approximately 40,000 digitized primary documents. In the late 1890's, the family of William Lloyd Garrison, along with others closely involved in the anti-slavery movement, presented the library with a major gathering of correspondence, documents, and other original material relating to the abolitionist cause from 1832 until after the Civil War.
  • Civil Rights Digital Library
    "The Civil Rights Digital Library promotes an enhanced understanding of the Movement [in the 1950s and 1960s] by helping users discover primary sources and other educational materials from libraries, archives, museums, public broadcasters, and others on a national scale."
  • Digital Library on American Slavery (UNC Greensboro)
    "The Digital Library on American Slavery is an expanding resource compiling various independent online collections focused upon race and slavery in the American South, made searchable through a single, simple interface."
  • National Archives: Black History
    The U.S. National Archives and Records Administration
  • Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture
    Relying on the expertise of distinguished curators and scholars, Digital Schomburg provides access to trusted information, interpretation, and scholarship on the global black experience 24/7. . . . [Contains] exhibitions, books, articles, photographs, prints, audio and video streams, and selected external links for research in the history and cultures of the peoples of Africa and the African Diaspora.
  • Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database
    Explore the Voyages Database, Assessing the Slave Trade interactive estimates page, and the African Names Database. Sponsored by the National Endowment for the Humanities, W.E.B. Du Bois Institute (Harvard University), and Emory University.
  • Voices of Civil Rights
    Online exhibit documenting “events during the Civil Rights Movement in the United States.” Created by the Library of Congress.
Related Research Guides
Search for Books
 
Book Cover: Chronicles of a Two-Front War  Book Cover: A Slave No More
Keywords to include when searching for primary documents include: autobiographies, diaries, historical documents, letters, narratives, primary documents, or sources.

Selected Books (print and e-books)
History
Article Databases
Video Databases
Web Sites
(See also this guide's Primary Doc. & Hist. Newspapers)
  • Avoice Online: African American voices in Congress
    A virtual library of “information about historical and contemporary African American policy issues important to researchers, academics, educators and students.” Presented by the Congressional Black Caucus Foundation.
  • BlackPast.org: Remembered and Reclaimed
    "[D]edicated to providing the inquisitive public with comprehensive, reliable, and accurate information concerning the history of African Americans in the United States and people of African ancestry in other regions of the world.”  
  • Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture
    Relying on the expertise of distinguished curators and scholars, Digital Schomburg provides access to trusted information, interpretation, and scholarship on the global black experience 24/7. . . . [Contains] exhibitions, books, articles, photographs, prints, audio and video streams, and selected external links for research in the history and cultures of the peoples of Africa and the African Diaspora.
  • Visualizing Emancipation
    "Funded by a We the People grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities, it shows how emancipation occurred unevenly across the South, beginning before the first major battles and ending after the end of the Confederacy."
Search for Books (Print and E-Books)
   Book Cover: The Warmth of Other Suns Book Cover: Boycotts, Buses, and Passes
Museums

See also this guide's Arts & Literature section.
Table of Contents
Book Cover: African American Art
Restricted Resource = Emmanuel Faculty, Staff & Students only 
Literature
General Resources

Books (print and e-books)
Web Sites
  • African American Women Writers of the 19th Century
    Contains 52 published works of 19th century black women writers. Keyword search full-text across the database or in individual works. New York Public Library, Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture.
 
Selected Authors

Maya Angelou
James Baldwin
Countee Cullen Frederick Douglass
W.E.B. Du Bois
Ralph Ellison
Henry Louis Gates Jr.
bell hooks
Langston Hughes
Zora Neale Hurston
June Jordan
Audre Lorde
Toni Morrison
Sojourner Truth
Alice Walker
Rebecca Walker
Booker T. Washington
Phillis Wheatley
Performing Arts
Books (print and e-books)
Web Sites
Visual Arts
General Resources


Books (print and e-books)
  • African-American architects : a biographical dictionary, 1865-1945 Reference NA736 .A47 2004
  • African American Visual Arts: From Slavery to Present N6538.N5 B47 2008
  • Grove Art Online Restricted Resource
    Searchable online version of the 34-volume Grove Dictionary of Art covering the visual arts from prehistory to the 1990s. Also includes The Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.

Web Sites

Selected Artists 


Edward Mitchell Bannister
Jean-Michel Basquiat
Aaron Douglas
Robert S. Duncanson
Jacob Lawrence
Betye Saar
Kara Walker

Last updated: Jun 28th 2017