Database List: All


A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z All
These databases are licensed for the exclusive use of enrolled Emmanuel College students, College Faculty, and Staff. Remote access is available for most of the Library's subscription databases with an Emmanuel portal username and password.

Restricted Resource = Emmanuel Faculty, Staff & Students only  


ABI/INFORM Complete (ProQuest) Restricted Resource about
Resource Type: Article Database
Includes:
  • Dateline: Business, Economics: local and regional business publications
  • Global: Business, Finance, Economics: journals, company profiles, Wall Street Journal
  • Trade & Industry: Business, Economics: trade and industry periodicals

Academic OneFile (1980 - current) - multidisciplinary Restricted Resource about
Resource Type: Article Database
Academic OneFile contains peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources; extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature, and other subjects. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1985. Millions of full-text articles, updated daily.

Academic Search Premier - multidisciplinary Restricted Resource about
Resource Type: Article Database
Multidisciplinary database with extensive full-text coverage in biology, chemistry, engineering, physics, psychology, religion, theology and other disciplines in the humanities. Indexes 8,450 publications with full text for more than 4,600 of those titles (more than 3,900 are peer-reviewed). PDF backfiles to 1975 or earlier for more than one hundred journals. Searchable cited references for more than 1,000 publications.

Accounting Research Manager (CCH) Restricted Resource about
Resource Type: Database
Provides the most current developments in accounting, SEC, auditing and government; discussion and analysis of current accounting and audit issues; accounting standards; biweekly news, feature reports, and analysis on accounting and financial reporting issues.

AGRICOLA: (AGRICultural OnLine Access) about
Resource Type: Article Database
"Database of citations to the agricultural literature created by the National Agricultural Library and its cooperators." Encompasses agricultural, veterinary, plant, forestry, aquaculture and fisheries, farming, food and human nutrition, and environmental sciences.
American History in Video Restricted Resource about
Resource Type: Video Database
American History in Video provides the largest and richest collection of video available online for the study of American history, with 2,000 hours and more than 5,000 titles on completion.

Art Full Text (FT 1995-current; indexing 1984-1995) and Art Index Retrospective (1929-1984) Restricted Resource about
Resource Type: Article Database
  • Art Full-Text provides articles from over 300 journals from 1995 to present and abstracts and indexing of more than 600 periodicals back to 1984, many of them peer-reviewed. Expanded coverage of Latin American, Canadian, Asian and non-Western art, new artists, contemporary art, exhibition reviews, and feminist criticism.
  • Art Index Retrospective indexes almost 600 titles published between 1929 and 1984.

ARTstor Digital Library Restricted Resource about
Note: *Off-campus access is available after registering with the database from a computer terminal located on campus.
Resource Type: Image Database
On-Campus Access || Off-Campus Access*
A repository of hundreds of thousands of digital images and related data. The image collections are interdisciplinary and include: American art, architecture, visual and material culture; arts of Asia; Old Master European prints from the 15th to 19th Centuries; graphic arts and design; Native American Art and Culture from the National Anthropological Archives, Smithsonian Institution; and the Schlesinger photographic archive on the history of women in America.
Link to "System Requirements" http://www.artstor.org/using-artstor/u-html/requirements.shtml
ATLA Catholic Periodical and Literature Index™ (ATLA CPLI™) Restricted Resource about
Resource Type: Article Database
ATLA Catholic Periodical and Literature Index (ATLA CPLI) provides indexing of periodicals, essay collections, church documents, papal documents and electronic resources expressly addressing the practice and intellectual tradition of Roman Catholicism.
ATLA Religion Database Restricted Resource about
Resource Type: Article Database
American Theological Library Association's index of journal articles, essays, book reviews, and other research material on "Biblical studies, world religions, church history, and religious perspectives on social issues."
BioMed Central - The Open Access Publisher about
Resource Type: Article Database
Over 200 open access journals covering all areas of biology and medicine.
Boston Business Journal Restricted Resource about
Resource Type: Newspaper Database
Includes 39 business news titles besides the Boston Business Journal.
Boston Globe Restricted Resource about
Note: Access to the daily Boston Globe with archive from the first issue of the paper (1872). A one-time registration from any computer on or off campus is required using this link: Register. For authentication purposes, you must use your Emmanuel email address as your login id then choose any password. This will become your login.
To search the Boston Globe Archive, login here.
Resource Type: Newspaper (Online)
Boston Globe (1980 - 1996 - from ProQuest) Restricted Resource about
Resource Type: Newspaper Database
Boston Globe (1997-current - from ProQuest) Restricted Resource about
Resource Type: Newspaper Database
Business Source Premier Restricted Resource about
Resource Type: Article Database
Full text and indexing of scholarly business journals covering management, economics, finance, accounting, international business and related topics.

Christian Science Monitor (current online) about
Resource Type: Newspaper (Online)

Christian Science Monitor Archive (1908-2000) Restricted Resource about
Resource Type: Newspaper (Online)
Use this in conjunction with our current online subscription and the daily updated Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe (1980 - current).  For direct access to this title, enter Christian Science Monitor into the Full-Text Finder.
CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online) Restricted Resource about
Note: *Off-campus access is available after registering with the database from a computer terminal located on campus
Resource Type: Article Database
On-Campus Access || Off-Campus Access*
A full-text online database for working papers, policy briefs, and selected journals in the areas of politics, area studies, diplomatic history, international law and business, policy formation, and country analysis. Coverage back to 1991. Published by Columbia University Press.
CINAHL with Full Text: Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature Restricted Resource about
Resource Type: Article Database
Provides indexing for more than 3,000 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health. The database contains more than 2.3 million records dating back to 1981. Includes full text for more than 610 journals, plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials. PDF backfiles to 1981.
The Cochrane Library Restricted Resource about
Resource Type: Article Database
Provides “independent high-quality evidence for health care decision making” from The Cochrane Collaboration. See the Quick Reference Guide (PDF) for further instructions.
Contemporary Literary Criticism - Select Restricted Resource about
Resource Type: Article Database
InfoTrac database providing selected "critical essays on contemporary authors."
CountryWatch Restricted Resource about
Resource Type: Database
Provides country-specific intelligence and data on all countries, including daily news coverage, intelligence briefings, and up-to-date articles from regional news wire services across the globe.

CQ Researcher Restricted Resource about
Resource Type: Article Database
A good starting point for original, comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news.
EconLit™ with Full Text Restricted Resource about
Resource Type: Article Database
Published by the American Economic Association; provides full-text for nearly 600 publications including titles from the American Economic Association (all with no embargo), such as: American Economic Review, Journal of Economic Literature, and Journal of Economic Perspectives; citations and abstracts to economic research dating back to 1969, covering all fields of economics, including capital markets, country studies, econometrics, economic forecasting, environmental economics, government regulations, labor economics, monetary theory, and urban economics.

Education Full Text (EBSCO) Restricted Resource about
Resource Type: Article Database
Education Full Text provides more than 360 journals full-text online. It indexes a total of more than 770 English-language periodicals, yearbooks, education-related books published after 1983. Full-text coverage begins in January 1996.  
Education Journals (ProQuest) Restricted Resource about
Resource Type: Article Database
Access to over 750 top educational publications, including more than 550 of the titles in full text. Covers the literature on primary, secondary, and higher education as well as special education, home schooling, adult education, and related topics.
Educator's Reference Complete (1980 - present) Restricted Resource about
Resource Type: Article Database
Educator's Reference Complete is a selection of more than 450 full-text academic journals, hundreds of full-text reports, and many premier reference sources. Content focuses on educational principles, child development and psychology, and best practices in education. Majority of the full-text titles included are also found in the ERIC database. Updated daily.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online Restricted Resource about
Full-text, searchable primary documents from the 18th century; over 180,000 titles: books, pamphlets, essays, broadsides and other material in all subject areas, published in the UK and elsewhere.  Includes an image gallery.

ERIC: Educational Resources Information Center (EBSCO) Restricted Resource about
Resource Type: Article Database; Web Site
ERIC, the Educational Resource Information Center contains more than 1,300,000 records along with references for additional information, citations and abstracts. Contains more than 323,000 full-text documents beginning with coverage from 1966.

ERIC: All Access
ERIC (the U.S. Dept. of Education database) provides free access to more than 1.3 million bibliographic records of journal articles and other education-related materials. Limited access to full-text materials.
Ethnographic Video Online Restricted Resource about
Resource Type: Video Database
Ethnographic Video Online provides a comprehensive resource for the study of human culture and behavior – more than 750 hours and 1,000 films at completion.

European Views of the Americas: 1493-1750 Restricted Resource about

Resource Type: Citational Database
Indexes more than 32,000 entries and is a comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750, covering the history of European exploration as well as portrayals of native American peoples. The original bibliography was co-developed by John Alden and Dennis Landis, Curator of European Books at The John Carter Brown Library, Brown University.


Expanded Academic ASAP - multidisciplinary Restricted Resource about
Resource Type: Article Database
Multidisciplinary database provides a combination of indexing, abstracts, images, and full text for scholarly (peer-reviewed/refereed) and general-interest journals and news magazines embracing all academic disciplines.
FreeMedicalJournals.com about
Resource Type: Article Database
This website is dedicated to the promotion of free and full text access to medical journals over the Internet. More than 1,577 journals in English and foreign languages are sorted by specialty and title. (Note there may be date restrictions.)
Gale Biography in Context Restricted Resource about
Resource Type: Database
Integrates GALE Cengage Learning reference works along with magazine and journal articles, images, videos, audio files, and website links. Search for current or historical people by name, occupation, nationality, and birth/death dates.  Use the advanced search feature for further search options.
Gallup Brain Restricted Resource about
Resource Type: Statistical Database
The Gallup Organization's website, which includes the Gallup Poll with more than 70 years of public opinion.

General BusinessFile ASAP Restricted Resource about
Resource Type: Article Database
InfoTrac database with some full text on business and management topics. “Includes directory listings for over 200,000 companies as well as investment analysts’ reports on major companies and industries.” The Advanced (default) Search screen will search Business Index ASAP, which covers management issues, economic indicators and business theories and practice, as well as the activities of companies and industries worldwide, and accesses academic and business journals with full text and images.

Three other components of General Business File ASAP are: Company Profiles, SIC Descriptions, and investment reports. Investment reports contain financial information, recommendations and other information for stock investors.

Access to the InfoTrac databases is made possible by the Massachusetts Library and Information Network. MLIN, a service of the Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners, can be found at http://www.mass.gov/mblc. The Board of Library Commissioners is the agency of state government responsible for the improvement of library services throughout the Commonwealth. This project is funded by the State of Massachusetts.

General OneFile (1980 - current) Restricted Resource about
Resource Type: Article Database
Contains news and periodical articles on: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social sciences, sports, technology, and many general-interest topics, updated daily.
General Reference Center Gold Restricted Resource about
Resource Type: Article Database
General interest, non-academic InfoTrac database with some full text. Covers news and popular culture.
GreenFILE Restricted Resource about
Resource Type: Article Database
A "collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles" concerning the environmental impact of humans. "Includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as open access, full text for more than 4,700 records."
Grove Art Online (now Oxford Art Online) Restricted Resource about
Resource Type: E-Book Collection
Searchable online version of the 34-volume Grove Dictionary of Art covering the visual arts from prehistory to the 1990s. Also includes The Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.

Health and Medical Complete (ProQuest) Restricted Resource about
Resource Type: Article Database
Health Reference Center - Academic Restricted Resource about
Resource Type: Article Database
InfoTrac database for general health topics with some full text.
Historical Newspapers Restricted Resource about
Resource Type: Newspaper Database
Accesses complete runs of the Christian Science Monitor (1908-2000),  New York Times (1851-2010), Washington Post (1877-1997), and Wall Street Journal (1889-1996). (See also "How do I print newspaper articles in  ProQuest Historical Newspapers?")
Humanities International Complete Restricted Resource about
Resource Type: Article Database
Full text for over 450 humanities journals that are not available in Academic Search Premier, with anticipated growth to 550+ unique journals. Features are literary critique content and inclusion of original works of poetry, short fiction, photography, illustrations, and artwork. This database was originally funded by a gift from the Emmanuel College Class of 2006.

JSTOR - multidisciplinary Restricted Resource about
Resource Type: Article Database
A total of more than 800 full-text scholarly journal titles in an online archive beginning with the first issue of each title. The archive includes nine JSTOR Arts and Sciences Collections. In JSTOR, there is usually a time lag in full-text content. Use JSTOR in conjunction with our current online databases and print holdings.

Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe - multidisciplinary Restricted Resource about
Resource Type: Newspaper Database, Article Database
An interdisciplinary, full-text database of over 10,000 sources focusing on current news and business, government/legal, and medical issues.

Library of Congress about
Resource Type: Web Site
The Library of Congress site houses a large variety of databases, including:
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA) about
Resource Type: Article Database
Provides coverage of librarianship and information management. LISTA indexes more than 600 periodicals, as well as books, research reports, and proceedings.
Literature Online (ProQuest) Restricted Resource about
Resource Type: Article Database
Texts of over 355,000 literary works with searchable, full-text criticism and reference resources for the study of literature in English.  LION also provides searchable indexes of literary criticism, including ABELL (Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature) and the full text of over 330 literature journals

Massachusetts History Online Restricted Resource about
Resource Type: Article Database
Contains full-text articles gathered from almost 50 sources that directly relate to Massachusetts history.
MEDLINE and other related databases about
Resource Type: Article Database
PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, provides free Internet access to the National Library of Medicine's database. It includes over 21 million citations for biomedical articles back to the 1950s. MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings), indexing with tree numbers, tree hierarchy and explosion capabilities to search abstracts from approximately 5,400 current biomedical journals. These citations are from MEDLINE and additional life science journals. PubMed also includes links to many sites providing full-text articles and other related resources.
Medline through EBSCO interface (linking to other Emmanuel resources) Restricted Resource about
Resource Type: Article Database
MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree numbers, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from approximately 5,400 current biomedical journals.
Mergent Online Restricted Resource about
Resource Type: Database
The Mergent Moody's database of fundamental company information gives a detailed picture of over 10,000 U.S. public companies. ("How do I use Mergent Online to create company comparison reports?")

Military & Government Collection Restricted Resource about
Resource Type: Article Database
Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government, this database offers a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals, and other content pertinent to the increasing needs of those sites. It provides cover-to-cover full text for nearly 300 journals and periodicals and indexing and abstracts for nearly 400 titles.
MLA International Bibliography Restricted Resource about
Resource Type: Article Database
Morningstar Investment Research Center Restricted Resource about
Resource Type: Database

Naxos Music Library Online Restricted Resource about
Resource Type: Database
The most comprehensive collection of classical music available online, offering the complete Naxos, Marco Polo and DaCapo catalogues as well as Jazz and World music.
Note: On-campus access only.
You must Log Out at the upper left of the screen when you are finished. Failure to do so may prevent other users from accessing the database. You will need to provide your own headsets for in-library use.

New York Times Archive, 1851-2009 Restricted Resource about
Resource Type: Newspaper (Online)
Full-text and full-page images of the New York Times from the newspaper's first issue. This fully searchable resource is important for students of history, social science, political science, communications, and the graphic arts. Use this in conjunction with our current print subscriptions and the daily updated Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe.
New York Times, 1980-present (from ProQuest Central) Restricted Resource about
Resource Type: Newspaper (Online)

Nursing and Allied Health Source (Proquest) Restricted Resource about
Resource Type: Article Database
Journal titles provide broad coverage of the Nursing profession.
Nursing@OVID Restricted Resource about
Resource Type: Article Database
Subscriptions to 54 Lippincott Williams & Wilkins nursing journals containing scholarly and research articles published by Wolters Kluwer Health Medical Research.   
Oxford English Dictionary Restricted Resource about
Resource Type: E-Book
Searchable version of the 20-volume set. Defines and identifies earliest known examples of words in written English.
Oxford Journals Online Restricted Resource about
Resource Type: Article Database
More than 265 titles in the Humanities, Law, Life Sciences, Mathematics, Economics, Physical Sciences, Medicine, and Social Sciences. Browse list of available titles.
Project MUSE® - multidisciplinary Restricted Resource about
Resource Type: Article Database
Offers over 400 quality journal titles from nearly 100 not-for-profit publishers. Project MUSE® covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.

ProQuest Central - multidisciplinary Restricted Resource about
Resource Type: Article Database; Newspaper Database
A multidisciplinary resource providing the largest aggregated full-text database in the market today totaling more than 12,665 titles - with over 9,745 titles in full text. Covers more than 160 subject areas, including business and economics, health and medical, news and world affairs, technology, social sciences and more. Provides over 400 full-text U.S., Canadian and international newspapers; nearly 30,000 full-text dissertations in the areas of business, psychology, physical sciences, health, education; and nearly 9,000 market reports for business information for 43 industries in 40 countries.

ProQuest Criminal Justice Restricted Resource about
Resource Type: Article Database
ProQuest Criminal Justice is a comprehensive database of U.S. and international criminal justice journals, indexing 250 titles with more than 100 titles in full-text. Content includes: criminal justice, law enforcement, corrections administration, drug enforcement, rehabilitation, family law, and industrial security.
ProQuest Newsstand Restricted Resource about
Resource Type: Newspaper Database
Over 1,400 local and international newspapers, including the Financial Times, the International Herald Tribune and the Washington Post; current coverage; back files will vary.  For all other newspapers, see Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe.

ProQuest Religion Restricted Resource about
Resource Type: Article Database
Provides “international periodicals for diverse religious and spiritual studies, covering formal theological studies of major religions, as well as the most recent trends and scholarly thought.”
PsycARTICLES Restricted Resource about
Resource Type: Article Database
PsycARTICLES® covers general psychology and specialized, basic, applied, clinical and theoretical research from 1894 to the present. The database contains more than 153,000 articles from nearly 80 journals published by the American Psychological Association and allied organizations. It includes all articles, letters to the editor, and errata from each journal. A PsycINFO search will link to full text in PsycARTICLES®.
PsycINFO (1887 - present) Restricted Resource about
Resource Type: Article Database
This database, provided by the American Psychological Association, contains indexing and abstracts for over 3 million articles. Most covered materials are from peer-reviewed publications. Links to available full-text in other EBSCO databases including PsycARTICLES®.
PubMed about
Resource Type: Article Database
PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, provides free Internet access to the National Library of Medicine's database. It includes over 21 million citations for biomedical articles back to the 1950's. MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings), indexing with tree numbers, tree hierarchy and explosion capabilities to search abstracts from approximately 5,400 current biomedical journals. These citations are from MEDLINE and additional life science journals. PubMed also includes links to many sites providing full-text articles and other related resources.
RDS Business Reference Suite Restricted Resource about
Includes the following databases:
  • TableBase: "information such as: market share, market size, capacity, production, imports, exports, sales, product and brand rankings, forecasts, healthcare statistics and demographics."
  • Business and Industry: "content from over 1,800 trade and industry publications, regional, national and international newspapers, business dailies and newsletters."
  • Business & Management Practices: "coverage from more than 300 current professional and trade journals containing information relevant to the fields of management, planning, production, finance, marketing, information technology and human resources; as well as an additional 1,000+ more general business journals and newspapers."
Provided by the Boston Regional Library System.

RefWorks Restricted Resource about
Registration
  1. Register from a computer on campus by going to http://www.refworks.com/refworks and following the directions.
  2. Once you are registered, you will receive an email confirming your registration and providing instructions for accessing your RefWorks account off campus.
Instructions

Regional Business News Restricted Resource about
Resource Type: Newspaper Database
Incorporates more than 80 regional business publications covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.
Sage Journals Online Restricted Resource about
Resource Type: Article Database
More than 690 Sage journals in Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology and Medicine. Browse list of available titles.

Science Direct (Elsevier) Restricted Resource about
Resource Type: Article Database
Access to full text of over 2,500 scholarly, peer-reviewed journals in the areas of: Biochemistry; Business and Management; Genetics and Molecular Biology; Chemistry; Immunology and Microbiology; Medicine; Psychology; and Social Science. Includes recently-accepted articles in press.

SciFinder Scholar (Chemical Abstracts Online) Restricted Resource about
Note: For on-campus use only by Emmanuel faculty and students (requires registration to access). If you have any questions, please email reference@emmanuel.edu using your Emmanuel Outlook email account.
Resource Type: Article Database
Explore the SciFinder Scholar How to Guides
Social and Cultural History: Letters and Diaries Online Restricted Resource about
Resource Type: Article Database
Comprehensive archive of social memory, which includes thousands of private writings and personal narratives. The resource brings together the voices of ordinary men and women from all walks of life with the personal accounts of well-known historical figures. "In their own words, people from diverse ethnic and social groups bring vividly to life hundreds of years of history through their perspectives on life, love, faith, politics, business, and countless personal events."
SocINDEX with Full Text Restricted Resource about
Resource Type: Article Database
This index features more than 2.1 million records with subject headings from a more than 20,000 term sociology-specific thesaurus designed by expert lexicographers. SocINDEX with Full Text contains full text for more than 860 journals dating back to 1908. This database also includes full text for more than 830 books and monographs, and full text for over 16,800 conference papers.
Taylor & Francis Group Journals Online Restricted Resource about
Resource Type: Article Database
Nearly 1,000 journals in the social sciences and humanities published by the Taylor & Francis Group, including: Routledge, Garland, Psychology Press, and Taylor & Francis.
TRIP Database - Clinical Search Engine about
Resource Type: Database
"Trip is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care." It originates in the UK and is directed by Jon Brassey and Dr. Chris Price.

Value Line Investment Survey - Standard Edition Restricted Resource about
Resource Type: Database
Note: On-campus only

Wall Street Journal Archive (1889 - 1996) Restricted Resource about
Resource Type: Newspaper (Online)
Wall Street Journal Online (1984 - present) Restricted Resource about
Resource Type: Newspaper (Online)

WSJ Live 
Videos of breaking news, news clips, and opinions.
Washington Post Archive (1877-1997) Restricted Resource about
Resource Type: Newspaper (Online)
Use this in conjunction with our current print subscriptions and the daily updated Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe.
WDI World Development Indicators (The World Bank Group) about
Resource Type: Statistical Database
World Bank Group's World Development Indicators.

Worldviews on Evidence-Based Nursing includes the archives of The Online Journal of Knowledge Synthesis for Nursing (formerly The Online Journal of Knowledge Synthesis for Nursing) Restricted Resource about
Resource Type: Journal (Online)
Provides full text of critical reviews of nursing research literature; including: primary and secondary research; reports on theoretical or methodological developments and innovations; and evaluation, methods and approaches to evidence-based practice.