The Emmanuel College Learning Commons offers a resource and technology-rich environment where you can discover, create, innovate, explore, study and reflect. Our team of caring professionals offers the expertise and support to help you learn and grow.

Library | ARC | ATIG | DiscoveryLab | IT Helpdesk

Learning Commons | Cardinal Cushing Library

THRS 1103 - Exploring Catholic Theology - Vidaurrazaga

General considerations for your research
Special attention should be given to the date of publication of the resources you select for your papers. Catholic Theology underwent tremendous changes in 1965 with the Second Vatican Council. As a result, materials published before 1965 represent an historic view of Catholic theology. Materials published after 1965 reflect current Catholic theology.
Useful websites
Reference Books
Emmanuel College Library Contacts
Anne Hancock
Associate Librarian for Collection Strategies and Curriculum Integration
hancoan@emmanuel.edu
Search for Books
 
The human embryonic stem cell debate science, ethics, and public policy The Apostles' Creed the Apostles' Creed and its early Christian context The Oxford Handbook of Sacramental Theology The Concise Guide to the Documents of Vatican II Green Discipleship: Catholic theological ethics and the environment

If you are having trouble finding books, consider the following tips:
  • Create keyword search strings with "AND" and "OR"
    For example: "Catholic Church" and immigration

     
  • Put phrases in quotation marks
    For example "Nicene Creed"
Bibles
  • Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version, 1989 REFERENCE BS191.5.A1 1989 .N49
     
  • New Jerusalem Bible, 1985 REFERENCE BS195.J4
     
  • New Oxford Annotated Bible with the Apocrypha REFERENCE BS191.5 A1
    Library has the following editions in the Reference Collection; 1973, 1977 and 2007.
     
  • oremus Bible Browser
    Use this link to access the New Revised Standard Version (NRSV) Bible.  Search by passage or scroll down to the third search area for keyword searches (e.g. Samaritan). Deselect the check boxes at the top of the page to see verse numbers, footnotes, and section headings.
Bible Dictionaries
Bible dictionaries provide concise descriptions of words, places, people and concepts found in the Bible.  The Library has both single volume dictionaries with brief definitions and multi-volume dictionaries providing more in-depth definitions. 
 
  • Anchor Bible Dictionary, 1992 REFERENCE BS440.A54
     
  • Dictionary of Biblical Theology, 1973 REFERENCE BS543.A1 L413
     
  • Dictionary of the New Testament, 1980 REFERENCE BS2312.L45
     
  • Eerdmans Dictionary of the Bible, 2000 REFERENCE BS440.E44 2000
     
  • Harper Collins Bible Dictionary, 2011 REFERENCE BS440.H235 2011
     
  • Mercer Dictionary of the Bible, 1990 REFERENCE BS440.M429 1990
     
  • New Dictionary of Theology, 1991 REFERENCE BR95 .N38 1991
     
  • New Interpreter's Dictionary of the Bible, 2006 REFERENCE BS440.N443 2006
     
  • Oxford Companion to the Bible, 1993 REFERENCE BS440.M434 1993
     
  • Women in Scripture: A Dictionary of Named and Unnamed Women in the Hebrew Bible, 2000 REFERENCE BS575.W593 2000
 
Bible Commentaries
Bible commentaries provide interpretations of biblical texts as well as introductory information, background, and historical context for the books of the Bible. The Library has both single volume commentaries with brief topic coverage and multi-volume sets with more in-depth coverage of each book of the bible.

  • Anchor Bible REFERENCE BS192.2 A1 1964 G3
    (Multivolume commentary for each book of the Old & New Testaments)
     
  • Berit Olam REFERENCE BS1335.3 .W35 1996
    (Multivolume commentary for each book of the Old Testament)
     
  • Blackwell Companion to the Bible and Culture, 2006 REFERENCE BS538.7.B62 2006
     
  • Harper Collins Bible Commentary, 2000 REFERENCE BS491.2.H37 2000
     
  • International Bible Commentary, 1998 REFERENCE BS511.2.I57 1998
     
  • New Catholic Commentaries on the Holy Scripture, 1969 REFERENCE BS491.2.N48
     
  • New Interpreter's Bible: A Commentary in Twelve Volumes, 1994 REFERENCE BS 491.2 N484 1994
     
  • New Jerome Biblical Commentary, 1990 REFERENCE BS491.2.N485
     
  • Sacra Pagina Series REFERENCE BS2575.3 .H37 1991
    (Multivolume commentary for each book of the New Testament)
     
  • Women's Bible Commentary, 2012 REFERENCE BS491.3.W66 2012
 
Recommended Article Databases
 
ATLA Religion Databases with ATLASerials Restricted Resource
ATLA Religion Database® (ATLA RDB®) with ATLASerials® (ATLAS®) combines the premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion with ATLA's full text collection of 300+ major religion and theology journals. This collection also includes content previously available in the ATLA Catholic Periodical and Literature Indec (ATLA CPLI). This database is produced by the American Theological Library Association.

JSTOR Restricted Resource
A total of more than 900 full-text scholarly journal titles in an online archive beginning with the first issue of each title. The archive includes nine JSTOR Arts and Sciences Collections. In JSTOR, there is usually a time lag in full-text content. Use JSTOR in conjunction with our current online databases and print holdings. (See also Example of a Search in JSTOR )

Project MUSE® Restricted Resource
Offers over 400 quality journal titles from nearly 100 not-for-profit publishers. Project MUSE® covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.

ProQuest Central Restricted Resource
A multidisciplinary resource providing the largest aggregated full-text database in the market today totaling more than 12,665 titles - with over 9,745 titles in full text. Covers more than 160 subject areas, including business and economics, health and medical, news and world affairs, technology, social sciences and more. Provides over 400 full-text U.S., Canadian and international newspapers; nearly 30,000 full-text dissertations in the areas of business, psychology, physical sciences, health, education; and nearly 9,000 market reports for business information for 43 industries in 40 countries.

 
Database Tips
  • JSTOR and Project MUSE® contain peer-reviewed articles only.
     
  • For the ATLA Religion Databases with ATLASerials and Proquest Central you will need to limit your results to peer-reviewed.
     
  • In ATLA use the Scriptures tab above the search box to find articles by Bible book, chapter, or verse.
     
  • Create keyword searches using "AND" and "OR" to find relevant resources efficiently 
    Like Bible and (matrimony or marriage)
     
  • Put phrases in quotation marks to search for words as phrases.  
    Like "social justice"
Contemporary Discussions on your Topic
America
Founded in 1909 by the Jesuit order and directed today by Jesuits and lay colleagues, America is a forum for discussion of religion, society, politics and culture from a Catholic perspective.

Commonweal
Commonweal is edited and managed by lay Catholics and provides a forum for civil, reasoned debate on the interaction of faith with contemporary politics and culture.                     

The Tablet
The Tablet is a progressive Catholic international weekly review published in London, UK.

CQ Researcher
In-depth coverage of current events, providing full-length articles that include an overview, historical background, chronology, pro/con feature, plus resources for additional research.

 
Citation Style for THRS 1103
  • Professor Vidaurrazaga allows the use of MLA or Turabian citation styles.  Please choose only one of these styles and be consistent throughout your paper.
     
  • Below are print and electronic references to assist you with citing works used for your research paper. The print versions of the style guides contain the most complete citation and formatting information.
     
  • Print copies of these citation style guides are available at the Reference Desk.
     
 
Print Resources
  • Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations by Kate L. Turabian (8th ed.) REFERENCE DESK LB2369 .T8 2013
  • MLA Handbook (8th ed.) REFERENCE DESK LB2369 .G53 2016