Article and Newspaper Databases
Article Databases: Ranked by Relevance
- access databases off campus
- find peer-reviewed articles
- find the full text of an article from a citation
Article Databases: Ranked by Relevance
- Project MUSE®
Offers over 400 quality journal titles from nearly 100 not-for-profit publishers. Project MUSE® covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.
A total of more than 900 full-text scholarly journal titles in an online archive beginning with the first issue of each title. The archive includes nine JSTOR Arts and Sciences Collections. In JSTOR, there is usually a time lag in full-text content. Use JSTOR in conjunction with our current online databases and print holdings. (See also Example of a Search in JSTOR )
- Ebsco search for Performing Arts
- Academic OneFile (1980 - current) Contains peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources; extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature, and other subjects. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1985. Millions of full-text articles, updated daily.
- Lexis-Nexis Academic An interdisciplinary, full-text database of over 10,000 sources focusing on current news and business, government/legal, and medical issues.
- New York Times (1980-present)
- New York Times Archive (1851-2014)
Full-text and full-page images of the New York Times from the newspaper's first issue.
- See also: Newspaper Subject Guide
Search for Books
- Search individual E-Books Collections.
Reference Books (electronic and print)
- Credo Reference
- The Cambridge Guide to Theatre
- Chambers Film Factfinder
- Chronology of American Musical Theater REF ML1711.8 .N3 N6
- Garland Encyclopedia of World Music REF ML100 .G16 1998
- Harmony & Voice Leading REF MT50 .A444 2003
- Music in the USA: A Documentary Companion REF ML200 .M89 2008
- New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, 2nd edition (v. 1-29) REF ML100 .N48 2001
- American Society of Composers, Authors, and Publishers (ASCAP)
- Aria Database
Texts and translations of 1000+ operatic arias. Over 200 computer-generated audio MIDI files also available. Entries usually contain links to purchase musical scores and recordings. Maintained by Robert Glaubitz, Associate Professor of Voice and Assistant Director of the School of Music, University of Central Oklahoma
- Copyright for Music Librarians
Music Library Association.
- Fillius Jazz Archive
Full text transcripts, audio, and some video of interviews with Jazz and big band/swing era artists. Hamilton College.
- International Alliance for Women in Music (IAWM)
- Library of Congress: American Memory
Browse by topic for relevant materials.
- The Morgan Library & Museum
New York, New York.
- MuSICA: Music & Science Information Computer Archive
Full text and index for all MuSICA Research Notes from Spring 1994 to Summer 2001. All articles authored by Norman M. Weinberger at the University of California, Irvine.
- MusRef: A Guide to More than 7,400 Print and Internet Resources
Music and dance bibliography and reference tools. Select Search MusRef from the top menu. Publication Type limits include Website. Harold B. Lee Library, Brigham Young University
Sheet music and audio files of music in the public domain. Music on this site can be printed, downloaded, performed, and distributed without charge. Computer generated audio files are in MIDI (.mid) format, sheet music is in Postscript (.ps) and Acrobat (.pdf) formats. Volunteer project.
- OnMusic Dictionary
Free online dictionary of musical instruments, composers, and symbols. Successor to the Virginia Tech Multimedia Music Dictionary.
- ArtsJournal: Arts Journal News
Douglas McLennan, editor.