The Emmanuel College Learning Commons offers a resource and technology-rich environment where you can discover, create, innovate, explore, study and reflect. Our team of caring professionals offers the expertise and support to help you learn and grow.

Library | ARC | ATIG | DiscoveryLab | IT Helpdesk

Learning Commons | Cardinal Cushing Library

SOC2113 - Bueker

Book Cover: Basic Statistics for Social Research Book cover: Research Methods in Social Relations  Book Cover: CUsing Statistics in the Social and Health Sciences  Book Cover: Introducing Social Research Method Book Cover: Displaying your findings  Book Cover: The A-Z of Social Research
Article Databases
FAQs Restricted Resource = Emmanuel Faculty, Staff & Students only
 

Article Databases: Ranked by Relevance

SocINDEX with Full Text Restricted Resource
  • Use Academic Search Premier and click on Choose Databases (above the search boxes) to search SocINDEX with Full Text along with other Ebsco Databases.

JSTOR Restricted Resource

Project MUSE® Restricted Resource

Science Direct (Elsevier) Restricted Resource

PsycINFO (1887 - present) Restricted Resource

Additionally, search in Google Scholar .
  • Search for the journal title using the  A-Z Journals by Title list to verify the journals peer-reviewed status.
Emmanuel College Library Contact
Diane Zydlewski
Associate Librarian for Reference, Instruction, and Outreach
zydlewsd@emmanuel.edu | 617-735-9927
https://zydlewsd.youcanbook.me/

Dominique Barrault
Reference / Instructional Librarian
barraultd@emmanuel.edu | 617-732-1669
http://barraultd.youcanbook.me/
Need Help?
Text Message Icon
617-655-7979
Phone Icon
617-735-9927
Popular Press Sources
Definition of Peer Reviewed
"Peer-reviewed [refereed] journals are publications that include only those articles that have been reviewed and/or qualified by a selected panel of acknowledged experts in the field of study covered by the journal" (Ebsco Help).
Finding the Original Research Article
  • Search for the article title if provided or search using author's name along with relevent keywords in Google Scholar
  • Use the A-Z List of Journals to look explore full-text coverage for a particular journal title.
Qualtrics
Survey Software