Article Databases: Ranked by Relevance
- access databases off campus
- find peer-reviewed articles
- find the full text of an article from a citation
Article Databases: Ranked by Relevance
A total of more than 900 full-text scholarly journal titles in an online archive beginning with the first issue of each title. The archive includes nine JSTOR Arts and Sciences Collections. In JSTOR, there is usually a time lag in full-text content. Use JSTOR in conjunction with our current online databases and print holdings. (See also Example of a Search in JSTOR )
- Project MUSE®
Offers over 400 quality journal titles from nearly 100 not-for-profit publishers. Project MUSE® covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.
- ATLA Religion Databases with ATLASerials
ATLA Religion Database® (ATLA RDB®) with ATLASerials® (ATLAS®) combines the premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion with ATLA's full text collection of 300+ major religion and theology journals. This collection also includes content previously available in the ATLA Catholic Periodical and Literature Indec (ATLA CPLI). This database is produced by the American Theological Library Association.
- Humanities International Complete
Features are literary critique content and inclusion of original works of poetry, short fiction, photography, illustrations, and artwork. This database was originally funded by a gift from the Emmanuel College Class of 2006.
- Search for the journal title using the A-Z Journals by Title list to verify the journals peer-reviewed status.
- Environmental Ethics
An interdisciplinary journal which seeks to combine nonprofessional environmental philosophy with the professional interest in the subject; articles in all areas of philosophy and environmental affairs.
- Journal of Philosophy
The Journal of Philosophy covers topics relating to philosophy in general as well as specific topics in the field. Published by Columbia University.
- Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Explore the Alphabetical Index or perform a keyword search. Articles are open access and peer reviewed. Edited by James Fieser, Ph.D. and Bradley Dowden, Ph.D.
- Michel Foucault Audio Archive
Comprehensive online audio collection of lectures and courses spanning two decades by French philosopher and historian, Michel Foucault. Made available by the Media Resources Center at the University of California, Berkeley.
- Notre Dame Philosophical Reviews
Notre Dame Philosophical Reviews "is entirely devoted to publishing substantive, high-quality book reviews (normal length: 1500-2500 words)." Unitversity of Notre Dame.
- The Perseus Digital Library Project
Select Collections/Texts in the top menu to access and explore literature, visual resources, and reference sources for the study of the ancient world. Department of Classics, Tufts University.
- Philosophy Talk
"Philosophy Talk is a weekly, one-hour radio series produced by Ben Manilla." Shows are archived and available on the web site. Stanford University.
- Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Open-access encyclopedia, administered by Stanford University in partnership with the International Coalition of Library Consortia (ICOLC) and the Scholarly Publishing and Academic Resources Coalition (SPARC), with grants from the National Endowment for the Humanities.
- Bioethics Research Library at Georgetown University
Explore Bioethics topics from variety of viewpoints. Kennedy Institute of Ethics.
- Department of Bioethics
See Resources link on the left. National Institutes of Health.
- The Hastings Center
“A nonpartisan research institution dedicated to bioethics and public interest since 1969.” Explore the menu options under Publications & Resources. Use the Full-Text Finder to find full-text coverage of The Hastings Center Report.