The Emmanuel College Learning Commons offers a resource and technology-rich environment where you can discover, create, innovate, explore, study and reflect. Our team of caring professionals offers the expertise and support to help you learn and grow.

Library | ARC | ATIG | DiscoveryLab | IT Helpdesk

Learning Commons | Cardinal Cushing Library

Non-Profit Organization Information

General Resources/Existing Nonprofits
Database Resources Additionally, search in Google Scholar .
  • Search for the journal title using the  A-Z Journals by Title list to verify the journals peer-reviewed status.
     
Book Resources (Print and Electronic)
Web Site Resources
  • The Boston Indicators Project
    The Boston Indicators Project is a source for local statistics and analysis of the role of nonprofits in communities in the surrounding area.
  • Charity Navigator
    "[Charity Navigator rates] charities by evaluating two areas of performance: Financial Health and Accountability & Transparency. Our ratings show donors how efficiently we believe a charity will use their support today, how well it has sustained its programs and services over time, and their level of commitment to being accountable and transparent.
  • The Foundation Center
    Explore the Gain Knowledge menu option and the Find Funding  to find the Foundation Directory Online.
  • Indiana University Lilly Family School of Philanthropy
  • National Center for Charitable Statistics
    Explore the NCCS Data Archives and briefs from the Policy Center on Nonprofits and Philanthropy. National Center for Charitable Statistics, The Urban Institute.
  • Nonprofit Explorer: Research Tax-Exempt Organizations
    Resource Type: Web Site Search for IRS 990 Filings by institution or keyword, State, Major nonprofit categories, or Org. Type. ProPublica.
  • Philanthropic Directory
    Resource Type: Web Site
    The Philanthropic Directory is a guide to Nonprofits and philanthropic organizations in Massachusetts.

(top)
Information on Starting a Nonprofit
Database Resources
Web Site Resources
(top)
Grants and Fundraising
Book Resources (Print and Electronic)
Web Site Resources
  • Associated Grant Makers
    Associated Grant Makers is a New England association of foundations and corporations giving grants to nonprofit and philanthropic organizations.
  • The Foundation Center
    Explore the Gain Knowledge menu option and the Find Funding  to find the Foundation Directory Online.
  • Grants.gov
    The primary resource for finding and applying for federal grants. U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.

For more information, See Research Guide: Grants/Grant Writing.


(top)
Employment in Nonprofits
Web Site Resources
  • Associated Grant Makers
    Associated Grant Makers is a New England association of foundations and corporations giving grants to nonprofit and philanthropic organizations.
  • Idealist.org
    Search their database of open paid and volunteer positions at nonprofit and philanthropic organizations worldwide.


(top)
Need Help?
Search for Books