Cardinal Cushing Library

MGMT2307 - Basile

Article Databases: A-Z
FAQs
   Restricted Resource = Emmanuel Faculty, Staff & Students only

ABI/INFORM Complete (ProQuest) Restricted Resource
Includes:
  • Dateline: Business, Economics: local and regional business publications
  • Global: Business, Finance, Economics: journals, company profiles, Wall Street Journal
  • Trade & Industry: Business, Economics: trade and industry periodicals


Business Source Premier Restricted Resource
Full text and indexing of scholarly business journals covering management, economics, finance, accounting, international business and related topics.
Use this database to find articles from the Harvard Business Review, Fast Company, Personnel Psychology, and the Academy of Management Journal

CountryWatch Restricted Resource
Provides country-specific intelligence and data on all countries, including daily news coverage, intelligence briefings, and up-to-date articles from regional news wire services across the globe.


EconLit™ with Full Text Restricted Resource
Published by the American Economic Association; provides full-text for nearly 600 publications including titles from the American Economic Association (all with no embargo), such as: American Economic Review, Journal of Economic Literature, and Journal of Economic Perspectives; citations and abstracts to economic research dating back to 1969, covering all fields of economics, including capital markets, country studies, econometrics, economic forecasting, environmental economics, government regulations, labor economics, monetary theory, and urban economics.


JSTOR Restricted Resource
A total of more than 900 full-text scholarly journal titles in an online archive beginning with the first issue of each title. The archive includes nine JSTOR Arts and Sciences Collections. In JSTOR, there is usually a time lag in full-text content. Use JSTOR in conjunction with our current online databases and print holdings. (See also Example of a Search in JSTOR pdf) Use this database to find articles from the Journal of Organizational Behavior

Lexis-Nexis Academic Restricted Resource
An interdisciplinary, full-text database of over 10,000 sources focusing on current news and business, government/legal, and medical issues.


Mergent Online Restricted Resource
The Mergent Moody's database of fundamental company information gives a detailed picture of over 10,000 U.S. public companies. ("How do I use Mergent Online to create company comparison reports?")


Morningstar Investment Research Center Restricted Resource

Project MUSE® Restricted Resource
Offers over 400 quality journal titles from nearly 100 not-for-profit publishers. Project MUSE® covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.

ProQuest Central Restricted Resource
Includes the following databases:

RDS Business Reference Suite Restricted Resource
Includes the following databases:
  • TableBase: "information such as: market share, market size, capacity, production, imports, exports, sales, product and brand rankings, forecasts, healthcare statistics and demographics."
  • Business and Industry: "content from over 1,800 trade and industry publications, regional, national and international newspapers, business dailies and newsletters."
  • Business & Management Practices: "coverage from more than 300 current professional and trade journals containing information relevant to the fields of management, planning, production, finance, marketing, information technology and human resources; as well as an additional 1,000+ more general business journals and newspapers."
Provided by the Boston Regional Library System.


Science Direct (Elsevier) Restricted Resource
Access to full text of over 2,500 scholarly, peer-reviewed journals in the areas of: Biochemistry; Business and Management; Genetics and Molecular Biology; Chemistry; Immunology and Microbiology; Medicine; Psychology; and Social Science. Includes recently-accepted articles in press.

Value Line Investment Survey - Standard Edition Restricted Resource
Note: Three concurrent users only.


 
Search for Books
Book Cover of New Book in Subject Management & EconomicsBook Cover of New Book in Subject Management & Economics
Video Database
  • Kanopy Restricted Resource : A streaming video resource with a broad collection of over 26,000 films. Note: Find case studies under Subjects>Business.
Annual Reports
Description of Annual Reports
Public companies will typically have their annual reports readily available since they are required to file financial reports to the Security and Exchange Commission (SEC) [http://www.sec.gov]. Private companies, however, do not have this requirement. Therefore, they often do not have annual reports publicly accessible.
 

Internet Resources:
  • Company's Web Site
    Search Tip: 1. Look on the company homepage for a link to investor or financial information;
    Search Tip: 2. Use the search feature, if available, on the company's website; or
    Search Tip: 3. Search Google.com for [annual report and site:company homepage].

 
Business Rankings/ Market Share
Reference BooksBook Cover: Business Ranking Annual  
Databases
Search Tip: Include, as a subject or keyword term, "market share" or ranking along with the industry descriptors; "company name" or ticker; or other features to be compared.

For further information on competitors and business rankings/market shares:
Industry Information to identify other companies that share the same industry.

 
Company Profile
Company Profiles may include the following information:
1. Whether a company is PUBLIC [Investopedia.com definition] or PRIVATE [Investopedia.com definition];
2. U.S. or internationally based;
3. SUBSIDIARY [Investopedia.com definition] or the PARENT company [Investopedia.com definition];
4. Description of the Company;
5. Trading information for public companies [including Ticker Symbol and the Exchange that the company stock is traded];
6. Industry of the Company [See also Industry Information.];
7. Executive Officers [See also Executive Officers]; and
8. Financial Information [See also Financial Data for Public Companies; Financial Data for Private Companies; and Stocks and Funds.]
9. Company History

 

Database Resources:
  • Business Source Premier Restricted Resource
    Search Tip 1: Choose Company Profiles tab on the top of the page. Browse from the alphabetical list or search by company name for MarketLine reports.
    Search Tip 2: Search for articles on the company using the default search screen.
     
  • Hoover's Company Records Restricted Resource
    "Featuring profiles of more than 40,000 companies, 600 industries, and 225,000 key executives, Hoover's Company Records provides easy access to the most thorough and up-to-date business information available."
     
  • Lexis-Nexis Academic Restricted Resource
    Search Tip: After expanding the Get Company Info box below the Hot Topics Links, enter the company name or ticker symbol and click Go.
    Note: If possible, enter the ticker symbol for the company when searching for a company. If the company name is common, a list of three possible matches will appear when a company name search is conducted. If the company is not in that list, click the View All Companies button at the top. Once the appropriate company has been found, click on the link for that company.  
    See the Lexis-Nexis guides: 
  • Mergent Online Restricted Resource
    The Mergent Moody's database of fundamental company information gives a detailed picture of over 10,000 U.S. public companies.
    Search Tip: Enter the Company name or ticker symbol in the Company Search option. Click on the Company name link to access company profile information. ("How do I use Mergent Online to create company comparison reports?")
     
  • Morningstar Investment Research Center Restricted Resource
    Enter the Company Ticker or Company Name in search box and select the company name from the list of possible companies. Select Company Profile from Overview tab options.


 
Competitors
Database Resources:
 
  • Business Source Premier Restricted Resource
    Search Tip: Choose Company Profiles tab on the top of the page. Browse from the alphabetical list or search by company name. Detailed reports are provided by MarketLine for 5,000 U.S. and international companies.
     
  • Hoover's Company Records Restricted Resource
    "Featuring profiles of more than 40,000 companies, 600 industries, and 225,000 key executives, Hoover's Company Records provides easy access to the most thorough and up-to-date business information available."
     
  • Lexis-Nexis Academic Restricted Resource
    Search Tip: After expanding the Get Company Info box below the Hot Topics Links, enter the company name or ticker symbol and click Go. Under the Snapshot heading in the left menu, click on the Competitors.
    Note: If possible, enter the ticker symbol for the company when searching for a company. If the company name is common, a list of three possible matches will appear when a company name search is conducted. If the company is not in that list, click the View All Companies button at the top. Once the appropriate company has been found, click on the link for that company.
    See the Lexis-Nexis guides: 
  • Morningstar Investment Research Center Restricted Resource
    Enter the Company Ticker or Name in search box and click on Get Report. Under the Quote tab, which is the default, Competitors is located on the right side of the page. Also, select Industry Peers in the menu bar directly under the Quote tab.
 
For further information on competitors and business rankings/market shares:
MarketLine (Datamonitor)-SWOT Analysis, etc.
  • Business Source Premier Restricted Resource
    1. SWOT [Strengths Weaknesses Opportunities Threats] analyses are found within MarketLine (Datamonitor) Reports.
    [Note: Not all reports include SWOT analyses.]
    • Select Company Profiles at the top of the page.
    • Browse the alphabetical list or search by company name.
     
    2. Search for articles that discuss trends in your company's industry.
    • Enter a search string in the text boxes.
    • Choose Peer Reviewed from the Limit your results section.
    • Example searches:
      textile and industry and threats and (America or "United States")
      textile and industry and (trends or forecast or projections)
      ("International Business Machines" or IBM) and (trends or projections or forecast)

 
Executive Officers
Database Resources:
  • Gale Biography in Context Restricted Resource
    Integrates GALE Cengage Learning reference works along with magazine and journal articles, images, videos, audio files, and website links. Search for current or historical people by name, occupation, nationality, and birth/death dates.  Use the advanced search feature for further search options.
     
  • Business Source Premier Restricted Resource
    Search Tip: Choose People from the search field options and then enter the person's name, last name first.
     
  • Lexis-Nexis Academic Restricted Resource
    Resource Type: Database
    Search Tip: After expanding the Get Company Info box below the Hot Topics Links, enter the company name or ticker symbol and click Go. On the default Snapshot page, scroll down to explore the Top Executives or click on Executives in the left hand menu for more details.
     
Internet Resources:
  • Company's Web Site
    Search Tip: 1. Look on the company homepage for a link to investor or financial information;
    Search Tip: 2. Use the search feature, if available, on the company's website; or
    Search Tip: 3. Search Google.com for [annual report and site:company homepage].
     
  • Executive Officer's Web Site
    Curricula Vitae (CV) or other biographical information may be available online.
Financial information: Private Companies
Description of Financial Data for Private Companies
Private companies have no obligation to reveal their financial data to the public. It may therefore be difficult (or impossible) to obtain detailed financial data. (See also Profile of the company or contact the company directly.)
 

Database Resources:
  • Business Source Premier Restricted Resource
    Full text and indexing of scholarly business journals covering management, economics, finance, accounting, international business and related topics.

     
  • Lexis-Nexis Academic Restricted Resource
    Search Tip: After expanding the Get Company Info box below the Hot Topics Links, enter the company name or ticker symbol and click Go. On the default Snapshot page, click on Financials in the left menu.
    Note: If the company name is common, a list of three possible matches will appear when a company name search is conducted. If the company is not in that list, click the View All Companies button at the top. Once the appropriate company has been found, click on the link for that company.

Internet Resources:
  • Company's Web Site
    Search Tip: 1. Look on the company homepage for a link to investor or financial information;
    Search Tip: 2. Use the search feature, if available, on the company's website.
Financial and SEC filings: Public Companies
Description of Financial Data/SEC Filings for Public Companies
Public companies are required to file financial reports to the Security and Exchange Commission (SEC). The SEC filings are available through the following databases and internet sites listed below. (See also Annual Reports and Company Profile.)
 

Database Resources:
  •  Lexis-Nexis Academic
    Search Tip:
    • After expanding the Get Company Info box below the Hot Topics Links, enter the company name or ticker symbol and click Go.
    • On the left menu, click on the link for SEC Filings  found under the category Financials
       
  • Mergent Online Restricted Resource
    Search Tip: Enter Company name or Ticker in the Company Search option. Click on the company name link to access Company financials, Filings (SEC filings), or the Report Builder. ("How do I create company comparison reports using Mergent Online?")
     
  • Morningstar Investment Research Center Restricted Resource
    Enter the Company Ticker or Name in search box and click on Get Report. Menu bar options include Key Ratios, Valuation, Financials, and Filings (SEC Filings).
 

Internet Resources:
 
Financial/Investment Analysis

 
News
Print Resources:

The following newspapers are available at the Library Circulation Desk
  • The Boston Globe 
  • The New York Times
  • The Wall Street Journal
     
 
Database Resources:
 
Access the complete list newspaper databases through the Research Guide: Newspapers.
 

Internet Resources:
Stocks and Funds
Database Resources:
Internet Resources:
 
Ticker
Description of a Ticker Symbol
Each company is identified on each stock exchange by a unique alphabetic ticker symbol. Using the ticker symbol when doing research will ensure that information on the correct company is found.

The symbol is listed in the company profile. In addition, the internet and database resources for stock information, which have either ticker symbol look up or a search by company name, will list the ticker along with the stock quotes.


 
Table of Contents
General Industry Research Information
Industry Classification
The industry classification for a particular company is found in its company profile.

There are two major systems used to classify the industries of a company. These are useful for identifying companies within a given industry.

1. The U.S. Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) system uses a two- to four-digit, hierarchical, numeric code to classify industries based on their business activities. 
[For further information, see Standard Industry Classification (SIC) System, U.S. Department of Labor]

2. North American Industry Classification System (NAICS), pronounced "nakes", is a new system that is gradually replacing SIC. NAICS was developed by the United States, Canada, and Mexico to identify more industries and provide a more precise classification of individual businesses.  [For further information, see North American Industry Classification System, U.S. Census Bureau]


 
Industry Information: Database Resources
  • Value Line Investment Survey - Standard Edition Restricted Resource
    To access an industry profile, in the Browse Research tab (default), enter a public company within your industry in the top right box and click Quote. In the resulting page, scroll down and click on the PDF icon under the heading Industry Analysis.
    Note: Three concurrent users only.
     
  • Business Source Premier Restricted Resource
    • To find industry reports, limit the Publication Type to Industry Profile. The limit options are found below the search text boxes in the Limit your results section.
    • Also, conduct article searches.
      Search Example:
      publishing and industry and (trends or outlook or forecast)
 
  • Morningstar Investment Research Center Restricted Resource
    • Select Industries  found under the Markets section. To access a list of companies in a specific industry, click on an Industry Name.
    • For more in depth industry reports, select Markets from the top menu. Then, select from the Industry Reports listed by quarters for each year.
       
  • Mergent Online Restricted Resource
    Search Tip: Search by Primary SIC or NAICS code in the Classification search option. There is also a code lookup option. Public companies that meet the industry classification will be listed. ("How do I create company comparison reports using Mergent Online?")
     
  • ProQuest Central Restricted Resource
    A multidisciplinary resource providing the largest aggregated full-text database in the market today totaling more than 12,665 titles - with over 9,745 titles in full text. Covers more than 160 subject areas, including business and economics, health and medical, news and world affairs, technology, social sciences and more. Provides over 400 full-text U.S., Canadian and international newspapers; nearly 30,000 full-text dissertations in the areas of business, psychology, physical sciences, health, education; and nearly 9,000 market reports for business information for 43 industries in 40 countries.

     
Industry Ratios
  • MSN Money
    1. Enter the ticker symbol for the company within a particular industry and click on Search Money. 2. Scroll down to the Fundamentals section and use the Key Statistics menu on the right-hand side to choose from Growth, Profitability, Price Ratios, etc.

     
  • Reuters
    1.  Enter the Ticker Symbol for a company within a particular industry in the top, right search box and click Search. 2.  Select your company's name. 3.  Select the Financials tab. 4.  Scroll down to view Valuation Ratios and Profitability Ratios.

     

 
Selected Journal and Newspaper Databases
FAQs  


Restricted Resource = Emmanuel Faculty, Staff & Students only

Academic OneFile (1980 - current) Restricted Resource
Contains peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources; extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature, and other subjects. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1985. Millions of full-text articles, updated daily.

Business Source Premier Restricted Resource
Full text and indexing of scholarly business journals covering management, economics, finance, accounting, international business and related topics.

JSTOR Restricted Resource
A total of more than 900 full-text scholarly journal titles in an online archive beginning with the first issue of each title. The archive includes nine JSTOR Arts and Sciences Collections. In JSTOR, there is usually a time lag in full-text content. Use JSTOR in conjunction with our current online databases and print holdings. (See also Example of a Search in JSTOR pdf)

Lexis-Nexis Academic Restricted Resource
An interdisciplinary, full-text database of over 10,000 sources focusing on current news and business, government/legal, and medical issues.

Project MUSE® Restricted Resource
Offers over 400 quality journal titles from nearly 100 not-for-profit publishers. Project MUSE® covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.

ProQuest Central Restricted Resource
Includes the following databases:

Science Direct (Elsevier) Restricted Resource
Access to full text of over 2,500 scholarly, peer-reviewed journals in the areas of: Biochemistry; Business and Management; Genetics and Molecular Biology; Chemistry; Immunology and Microbiology; Medicine; Psychology; and Social Science. Includes recently-accepted articles in press.

Wall Street Journal, Eastern Edition (1984 - present) Restricted Resource

Wall Street Journal Archive (1889 - 2000) Restricted Resource

New York Times (1980-present) Restricted Resource

New York Times Archive (1851-2014) Restricted Resource
Search for Books

Reference Books (Print and Electronic)
Government Resources
Article Databases
FAQs
   Restricted Resource = Emmanuel Faculty, Staff & Students only

Article Databases: Ranked by Relevance
  • Business Source Premier Restricted Resource
    Full text and indexing of scholarly business journals covering management, economics, finance, accounting, international business and related topics.
  • Project MUSE® Restricted Resource
    Offers over 400 quality journal titles from nearly 100 not-for-profit publishers. Project MUSE® covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.
  • JSTOR Restricted Resource
    A total of more than 900 full-text scholarly journal titles in an online archive beginning with the first issue of each title. The archive includes nine JSTOR Arts and Sciences Collections. In JSTOR, there is usually a time lag in full-text content. Use JSTOR in conjunction with our current online databases and print holdings. (See also Example of a Search in JSTOR pdf)
  • Science Direct (Elsevier) Restricted Resource
    Access to full text of over 2,500 scholarly, peer-reviewed journals in the areas of: Biochemistry; Business and Management; Genetics and Molecular Biology; Chemistry; Immunology and Microbiology; Medicine; Psychology; and Social Science. Includes recently-accepted articles in press.
Search for Books
 

Reference Books (print and electronic)
  • Encyclopedia of Ethics, 2001 Restricted Resource
  • Encyclopedia of Leadership Restricted Resource
  • Leadership: Theory and Practice Mulvaney HM1261 .N67 2013
  • Oxford Handbook of Practical Ethics, 2005 REFERENCE BJ1031.O94 2005
  • Qualitative Research in the Study of Leadership REFERENCE HD57.7 .K548 2008
  • Routledge Companion to Ethics, 2010 REFERENCE BJ21.R68 2010
Web Sites
Current Newspapers
Restricted Resource = Emmanuel Faculty, Staff & Students only
 
Historical Newspapers
Restricted Resource = Emmanuel Faculty, Staff & Students only
 
APA Citation Style
Book Cover: Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (6th ed.) REFERENCE DESK BF 76.7 .P83 2010
 
Displaying your findings: A practical guide for creating figures, posters, and presentations (Print) REFERENCE BF76.8 .N53 2010

 
Additional Resources

Citation Management Tool