The Emmanuel College Learning Commons offers a resource and technology-rich environment where you can discover, create, innovate, explore, study and reflect. Our team of caring professionals offers the expertise and support to help you learn and grow.

Library | ARC | ATIG | DiscoveryLab | IT Helpdesk

Learning Commons | Cardinal Cushing Library

Mathematics

Article Databases
FAQs Restricted Resource = Emmanuel Faculty, Staff & Students only

Article Databases: Ranked by Relevance
 
  • Project MUSE® Restricted Resource
    Offers over 400 quality journal titles from nearly 100 not-for-profit publishers. Project MUSE® covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.
  • JSTOR Restricted Resource
    A total of more than 900 full-text scholarly journal titles in an online archive beginning with the first issue of each title. The archive includes nine JSTOR Arts and Sciences Collections. In JSTOR, there is usually a time lag in full-text content. Use JSTOR in conjunction with our current online databases and print holdings. (See also Example of a Search in JSTOR )
  • Science Direct (Elsevier) Restricted Resource
    Access to full text of over 2,500 scholarly, peer-reviewed journals in the areas of: Biochemistry; Business and Management; Genetics and Molecular Biology; Chemistry; Immunology and Microbiology; Medicine; Psychology; and Social Science. Includes recently-accepted articles in press.
Additionally, search in Google Scholar .
  • Search for the journal title using the  A-Z Journals by Title list to verify the journals peer-reviewed status.
Need Help?
Search for Books
 
Reference Books
Web Sites
  • AMS Digital Mathematics Registry
    A registry of digitized publications in the mathematical sciences containing open, mixed, and subscription access journals. American Mathematical Society.
  • ArXiv
    Open-access database with over 939,000 e-prints in physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, and statistics. Cornell University Libraries.
  • The Chaos Hypertextbook
    Illustrated presentation of chaos, fractals, and non-linear dynamics. Highly technical but intended for a general audience. Created by Glenn Elert, with fair use explicitly encouraged.
  • The MacTutor History of Mathematics Archive
    Biographical (including a section on female mathematicians), cultural, "famous curves," technical information, and a bibliography of printed works. Maintained at the site of the School of Mathematics and Statistics at University of St. Andrews, Scotland.
  • Math2.org
    Tables, charts, and equations for general math, algebra, geometry, trigonometry, linear algebra, discrete math, statistics, and calculus. In English and Spanish. Site as a whole can be downloaded in .htm or .pdf format for non-commercial purposes. Created by David Manura, this site was formerly titled Dave's Math Tables.
  • Plus
    "Plus is an internet magazine which aims to introduce readers to the beauty and the practical applications of mathematics." This publication is sponsored by Cambridge University.
  • U.S. Department of Energy, Office of Scientific and Technical Information
    "OSTI.GOV contains over 70 years of energy-related research results and citations..."
  • Women Mathematicians
    Biographies of women mathematicians, sorted alphabetically, chronologically and by location of birth. Explore Other Resources about Women Mathematicians. Hosted by Agnes Scott College Mathematics Department.
Blog on Math Blogs (AMS)