The Emmanuel College Learning Commons offers a resource and technology-rich environment where you can discover, create, innovate, explore, study and reflect. Our team of caring professionals offers the expertise and support to help you learn and grow.

Library | ARC | ATIG | DiscoveryLab | IT Helpdesk

Learning Commons | Cardinal Cushing Library

Latin American Studies

Book Cover: Religion in Latin America Book cover: The Norton Anthology of Latino Literature  Book Cover: New Worlds  Book Cover: Nexus New York Book Cover: Sustaining Human Rights in the Twenty-First Century  Book Cover: The Tourism Encounter
Subject-Specific Databases
FAQs
Restricted Resource = Emmanuel Faculty, Staff & Students only

Subject-Specific Databases: A - Z

Ebsco search for Latin American Studies Restricted Resource
Search across the following databases:
Gale PowerSearch for Latin American Studies Restricted Resource
Search across the following databases:
JSTOR Restricted Resource
A total of more than 900 full-text scholarly journal titles in an online archive beginning with the first issue of each title. The archive includes nine JSTOR Arts and Sciences Collections. In JSTOR, there is usually a time lag in full-text content. Use JSTOR in conjunction with our current online databases and print holdings. (See also Example of a Search in JSTOR )

Project MUSE® Restricted Resource
Offers over 400 quality journal titles from nearly 100 not-for-profit publishers. Project MUSE® covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.

ProQuest Central Restricted Resource
A multidisciplinary resource providing the largest aggregated full-text database in the market today totaling more than 12,665 titles - with over 9,745 titles in full text. Covers more than 160 subject areas, including business and economics, health and medical, news and world affairs, technology, social sciences and more. Provides over 400 full-text U.S., Canadian and international newspapers; nearly 30,000 full-text dissertations in the areas of business, psychology, physical sciences, health, education; and nearly 9,000 market reports for business information for 43 industries in 40 countries.

Additionally, search in Google Scholar .
  • Search for the journal title using the  A-Z Journals by Title list to verify the journals peer-reviewed status.
Need Help?
Phone Icon
617-735-9927
Newspaper Databases

Explore the Newspapers guide for a complete list of the newspaper databases.
 
Web Sites
  • Americas - CNN.com
  • BBC - Latin American & Caribbean
  • Inter-American Dialogue
    "The Inter-American Dialogue is the leading U.S. center for policy analysis, exchange, and communication on issues in Western Hemisphere affairs."
  • Latin American Network Information Center (LANIC)
    Browse by subjects including Economy, Education, Government, and more. University of Texas at Austin.
    Note: As of July 2015, site is no longer activly updated or maintained.
  • Latin American Public Opinion Project (LAPOP)
    "Every two years it carries out the AmericasBarometer survey, which currently covers 26 nations including all of North, Central and South America, and the Caribbean."  Based at Vanderbilt University
    Note: As of July 2015, site is no longer activly updated or maintained.
  • Pew Research: Hispanic Trends Project
    Contains reports, datasets, surveys, and more, which capture the present-day Latino experience in the United States. Immigration, education, labor, and other data are covered.
    Note: As of July 2015, site is no longer activly updated or maintained.
  • Political Database of the Americas
    Center for Latin American Studies, Georgetown University.
    Note: As of July 2015, site is no longer activly updated or maintained.
Associations/Organizations
Table of Contents

Restricted Resource = Emmanuel Faculty, Staff & Students only 
Literature
General Resources

Books (print and e-books)

Article Databases (See also the English Literature guide)  
Selected Authors

Theater & Performing Arts
Books (print and e-books)
Article Databases (See also the Performing Arts guide) Web Sites
  • Cuban Theater Digital Archive
    The CTDA is an online resource created by the University of Miami College of Arts and Sciences and the Libraries for the research, teaching, and learning of Cuban theater and performance.
  • Latin American Network Information Center (LANIC)
    Note: As of July 2015, site is no longer activly updated or maintained.
    Includes access to primary materials, especially play and production reviews published in Latin American newspapers. See Performing Arts.
Visual Arts
General Resources

Books (print and e-books)
  • Grove Art Online Restricted Resource
    Searchable online version of the 34-volume Grove Dictionary of Art covering the visual arts from prehistory to the 1990s. Also includes The Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.
  • Readings in Latin American Modern Art Restricted Resource

Article Databases (See also the Art/Art History guide)
Web Sites
  • Art Museum of the Americas
    "AMA | Art Museum of the Americas is the oldest museum of modern and contemporary Latin American and Caribbean art in the United States." Washington, D.C.
  • The ICAA - International Center for the Arts of the Americas
    Created by the Museum of Fine Arts, Houston, "to bring about a long-term transformation in the appreciation and understanding of Latin American and Latino visual arts in the United States and abroad."
  • Latin American Art
    Provides lists of current exhibitions of Latin American art, as well as information on relevant artists, galleries, museums, and news and events.
  • The Mexican Museum
    "The Mexican Museum voices the complexity and richness of Latino art throughout the Americas, encouraging dialogue among the broadest public." San Francisco, CA
  • Museum of Fine Arts
    Emmanuel students, faculty and staff have free general admission to the MFA with their Emmanuel IDs.
 
Selected Artists

Web Sites

Additionally, explore the resources available through the below research guides:
Related Research Guides
Search for Books
 

Keywords to include when searching for primary documents include: autobiographies, diaries, historical documents, letters, narratives, primary documents, or sources.
History
Article Databases

Web Sites
(See also this guide's Primary Doc. & Hist. Newspapers)
  • Mapping History: Latin America
    “The Mapping History Project has been designed to provide interactive and animated representations of fundamental historical problems and/or illustrations of historical events, developments, and dynamics.” University of Oregon.
  • Mercedes Agulló y Cobo Digital Library
    An ongoing project of the UMass Boston’s University Library, University Archives & Special Collections, and the University’s Latin American and Iberian Studies Department. Provides open, online access to published and unpublished Spanish-language research indices, the life’s work of Spanish historian Mercedes Agulló y Cobo, about Spanish and Latin American history, art, literature and politics.
Search for Books (Print and E-Books)
   Book Cover: A History of Minding in Latin America Book Cover: Latin American Political History
Museums
  • El Museo del Barrio
    New York, NY.
  • Museo de las Americas
    "Museo De Las Americas is dedicated to educating our community through collecting, preserving, interpreting and exhibiting the diverse arts and cultures of the Americas from ancient to contemporary, through innovative exhibitions and programs." Denver, CO.
  • Smithsonian Latino Center
    "The Smithsonian Latino Center was created in 1997 to promote Latino presence within the Smithsonian."
See also this guide's Arts & Literature section.
Chicago Style of Citations
Citation Management Tool

RefWorks
[Access legacy RefWorks]