Print and E-Books
- access databases off campus
- determine a journal's impact factor/other journal metrics
- find peer-reviewed articles
- find the full text of an article from a citation
- Project MUSE®
- ProQuest Central
- Ebsco search for History
Searches across: Academic Search Premier , Humanities International Complete , and Military & Government Collection .
- Gale PowerSearch for History
Searches across: Academic OneFile (1980 - current) , General OneFile (1980 - current)
- Additionally, search in Google Scholar .
- Search for the journal title using the A-Z Journals by Title list to verify the journals peer-reviewed status.
Emmanuel College Library Contact
- Each student will be assigned one of the historical figures listed.
- You will have to do research on your person.
- You need to find at least one book or one article, published by a scholarly press, that discuses the person.
- You will pick one specific event in the life of this person and narrate it in your presentation.
- You will use the event (passing of a law, signing of a decree, creation of a specific movie, creation of a specific piece of art or literature) to discuss the time period your person lived in.
- You will have to place in historical context the event and elaborate on the historical background developing a narration around the life of the person assigned to you.
- You will turn in your notes and everything you have gathered to create the presentation.
- Part of your grade will be based on the research you have done to discover info and secrets about the person (when you turn in your material you will have the citations of the sources you used--random websites or Wikipedia are NOT good sources) and part on the creativity of the presentation of your historical figure (examples of creative presentations: a poem, a script, a video game, a mock interview, a poster, a painting, an act... it's on you).
- Zen Guofan
- Yuan Shikai
- Chiang Kai-shek
- Madame Chiang
- Lu Xun
- Mao Dun
- Matteo Ricci
- Liang Qichao
- Li Peng
- Jiang Zemin
- Yuan Shikai
- Hong Xiuquan
- Feng Guigeng
- Chen Duxiu
- Hu Shi
- Ba Jin
- Yan Fu
- Zhou Enlai
- Hua Guofeng
- Zhu De
- Zheng He
- ChongXheng (last Ming emperor)
- Lin Biao
- Jiang Qing
- Art of Asia
The Museum of Fine Arts "collection of Asian art covers the creative achievement of more than half the world's population since 4,000 BC. The collection encompasses Japanese, Chinese, and Indian painting and sculpture; Japanese prints and metalwork; Chinese, Korean, and Vietnamese ceramics; and the arts of the Islamic world."
- Chinese Historical Society of New England
The CHSNE is the "first educational organization dedicated solely to documenting, preserving, and promoting the history and legacy of Chinese immigration in New England."
- National Art Museum of China
China's national art museum features exhibitions and collections that can be browsed online.
- National Museum of China
Browse collections and research from China's national museum.
- San Diego Chinese Historical Museum
"Established in 1996, the San Diego Chinese Historical Museum (SDCHM) is one of America’s foremost institutions dedicated to sharing the Chinese American experience, and to promoting Chinese art and culture."
- China Institute
"China Institute advances a deeper understanding of China through programs in education, culture, art, and business. China Institute is the go-to resource on China—from ancient art to today’s business landscape and its rapidly shifting culture."
Chicago Style of Citations
- Chicago Manual of Style (17th ed.) REFERENCE DESK Z253 .U69 2017
- The Chicago Manual of Style Online: Chicago-Style Citation Quick Guide
For common examples of materials cited. University of Chicago Press.
- Chicago Manual of Style Shop Talk: Turabian for Students
This official Chicago Manual of Style guide to Kate L. Turabian's Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations includes paper formatting examples, tips on crafting a paper, and a crash course in citations.
- Purdue University Online Writing Lab (OWL)
Purdue University, West Lafayette, IN