The Emmanuel College Learning Commons offers a resource and technology-rich environment where you can discover, create, innovate, explore, study and reflect. Our team of caring professionals offers the expertise and support to help you learn and grow.

Library | ARC | ATIG | DiscoveryLab | IT Helpdesk

Learning Commons | Cardinal Cushing Library

HIST1114 - Fortin

     
Article Databases
FAQs
   Restricted Resource = Emmanuel Faculty, Staff & Students only

Article Databases
  • JSTOR Restricted Resource
    A total of more than 900 full-text scholarly journal titles in an online archive beginning with the first issue of each title. The archive includes nine JSTOR Arts and Sciences Collections. In JSTOR, there is usually a time lag in full-text content. Use JSTOR in conjunction with our current online databases and print holdings. (See also Example of a Search in JSTOR )
  • Project MUSE® Restricted Resource
    Offers over 400 quality journal titles from nearly 100 not-for-profit publishers. Project MUSE® covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.
  • Ebsco search for History Restricted Resource
    Search across the following databases:
    • Academic Search Premier
    • Humanities International Complete
      Features are literary critique content and inclusion of original works of poetry, short fiction, photography, illustrations, and artwork. This database was originally funded by a gift from the Emmanuel College Class of 2006.
    • Military & Government Collection
      Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government, this database offers a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals, and other content pertinent to the increasing needs of those sites. It provides cover-to-cover full text for nearly 300 journals and periodicals and indexing and abstracts for nearly 400 titles.
  • Gale PowerSearch for History Restricted Resource
    Search across the following databases:
  • HeinOnline Restricted Resource
    Contains more than 150 million pages and 160,000 titles of legal history and government documents in a fully searchable, image-based format.
Additionally, search in Google Scholar .
  • Search for the journal title using the  A-Z Journals by Title list to verify the journals peer-reviewed status.
Video Databases
  • American History in Video
    Provides the largest and richest collection of video available online for the study of American history, with 2,000 hours and more than 5,000 titles on completion.
  • Kanopy Restricted Resource : A streaming video resource with a broad collection of over 26,000 films.
Need Help?
Related Research Guides
Search for Books
 
 
Selected books

 
 
 
  

   








 




Search individual E-Books Collections
Primary Documents/Images
Restricted Resource = Emmanuel Faculty, Staff & Students only

American History 1493-1945 Restricted Resource
Module 1: Settlement, Commerce, Revolution and Reform: 1493-1859 Sources from the Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History, New York. Contains books, diaries, correspondence, newspapers, photographs, military documents, pamphlets, broadsides and other ephemera. “The majority of the collection is unique manuscript. It is an extensive resource for scholars, educators and students and is considered one of the finest archives for material on the revolutionary, early national, antebellum and civil war eras.”  Module 2: Civil War, Reconstruction and the Modern Era: 1860-1945 Includes documents on slavery, the Civil War, and secession.

American Indian Histories and Cultures Restricted Resource
Contains manuscripts, artwork, photographs, rare printed books, and maps related to the historical and personal stories of the colonization of the Americas from early contacts between European settlers and American Indians  to the modern era, and “told against the backdrop of the 19th century expansion into the ‘Western Frontier’ right through to the civil rights movement of the mid-twentieth century.” Sources from the Edward E. Ayer Collection at The Newberry Library, Chicago.

Amistad Research Center Digital Projects
"The Amistad Research Center is committed to collecting, preserving, and providing open access to original materials that reference the social and cultural importance of America's ethnic and racial history, the African Diaspora, human relations, and civil rights."

Archives of American Art
Includes all of the Archives of American Art records. Provides access to primary sources that document American visual arts. Sources from the Smithsonian Institution, Washington, D.C.

Brown Digital Repository
Provides access to primary resources produced via the scholarly, instructional, research, and administrative activities at Brown. Providence, RI.

Calisphere
"University of California's free public gateway" to primary documents "selected from the libraries and museums of the UC campuses."

Center for Human Rights Documentation and Research
"[T]he official repository for the archives of major human rights organizations such as Amnesty International USA, the Committee of Concerned Scientists,  Human Rights First, and Human Rights Watch." Columbia University Libraries.

Civil War Diaries and Letters
 A collection of diaries and letters from Auburn University, covering both sides of the war; each item is scanned and transcribed.

Credo, Special Collections and University Archives
Collections include the "Horace Mann Bond Papers" and "W. E. B. Du Bois Papers."  University of Massachusetts, Amherst.

A Digital Archive of American Architecture
Provides primary resources that document the development of architecture in America from the 17th century to present. Professor Jeffery Howe, Boston College.

A Digital Archive of European Architecture
Offers primary resources that document European architecture from the 15th century to the present. Professor Jeffery Howe, Boston College.

Digital Collections, Columbia University Library
Offers access to “photographs, posters, drawings, objects, ephemera, and manuscripts as well as other archival material from Columbia's rare and special collections.” New York, NY.

Digital Collections, Duke University Libraries
The digital collections of Duke University Libraries provides access to a growing collection of their archival materials, including both Full Text and Images.

Digital Collections, Harvard University
Access botanical studies primary resource materials such as, specimen databases, images, and other links.

Digital Collections, University of Washington Libraries
Offers access primary source materials associated with the arts and humanities. Including access to digital resources associated with the Labor Archives of Washington and the Mountains and Mountaineering collection. Seattle, WA.

Digital Collections, Yale University Library
Contains a wide variety of digital primary source materials, including the Henry Kissinger Papers, the Cushing/Whitney Medical Library Digital Collections, and the Beinecke Rare Book and Manuscript Library Digital Collections. New Haven, CT.

Digital Collections, UC Berkeley Library
Includes much of US Berkeley Library’s archival materials, as well as “born digital” materials, hosted through Calisphere.

D-Scribe Digital Collections
An array of primary source materials covering both the humanities and the sciences from the University Library System (ULS), University of Pittsburgh.

Early Americas Digital Archive
Gateway to primary source material “written in or about the Americas from 1492 to approximately 1820.” Maryland Institute for Technology in the Humanities (MITH), University of Maryland, College Park.

Eighteenth Century Collections Online Restricted Resource
Full-text, searchable primary documents from the 18th century; over 180,000 titles: books, pamphlets, essays, broadsides and other material in all subject areas, published in the UK and elsewhere. Includes an image gallery.

First World War Digital Poetry Archive
"An online repository of over 7000 items of text, images, audio, and video for teaching, learning, and research. The heart of the archive consists of collections of highly valued primary material from major poets of the period, including Wilfred Owen, Isaac Rosenberg, Robert Graves, Vera Brittain, and Edward Thomas." University of Oxford.

Internet Archive: University of Massachusetts Amherst Libraries
Collection of books digitized by the Internet Archive for UMass, Amherst.  Primary documents include vital records, historical directories, gazetteers, and histories of Massachusetts towns and regions.

Library of Congress
The Library of Congress site houses a large variety of databases, including:

Massachusetts Digital Commonwealth
"Digital Commonwealth is a Web portal and fee-based repository service for online cultural heritage materials held by Massachusetts libraries, museums, historical societies, and archives."

National Archives and Records Administration (NARA)
U.S. Federal Government website providing access to Federal Government Records and more. Select the Research Our Records option at the top left and, then, Research a Specific Topic.

New York State Archives: Digital Collections
Collections and images from the New York State Archives, NYS Museum, NYS Library.

New York Public Library Digital Collections
180,000 digitized photos, postcards, maps, and other images freely available online and in the public domain.   The NYPL has made the decision to treat these public-domain images as public intellectual property that can be reused by members of the public in any way they want.  (For the New York Public Library’s Press Release on promoting transformative use of their materials, click here.) 

The Newberry Publications and Digital Resources
The Newberry is a "world-renowned independent research library in Chicago."

Nineteenth Century Collections: Women Restricted Resource
Nineteenth Century Collections Online - Women: Transnational Networks provides primary source documents—serials, books, manuscripts, diaries, reports, and visuals focusing on issues at the intersection of gender and class from the late-eighteenth century to the era of suffrage in the early-twentieth century, all through a transnational perspective. The collection draws from the Library of Congress, the London School of Economics and Political Science Library, and the Library of the Society of Friends.

Princeton University Digital Library
Princeton, NJ.

Rare Books & Manuscripts Department Collection
Boston Public Library.

Registry of Digital Collections
Cornell University Library

September 11 Digital Archive
Center for History and New Media, George Mason University and American Social History Project, City University of New York Graduate Center.

Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law Restricted Resource
This HeinOnline collection brings together, for the first time, all essential legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world.

State Library of Massachusetts Digital Collections
The State Library of Massachusetts supports the research and information needs of government, libraries, and people through innovative services and access to a comprehensive repository of state documents and other historical items.

Vietnam Center and Archive
"[C]ollects and preserves the documentary record of the Vietnam War, and supports and encourages research and education regarding all aspects of the American Vietnam Experience." Texas Tech University.
Identifying Primary Sources
  • See the tutorial Primary vs. Secondary Sources (Twin Cities Library, St. Mary's University of Minnesota) for a definition and examples of Primary Sources.
Historical Maps
Photographs
  • Photogrammar
    170,000 iconic pictures of America in the era of the Great Depression and WWII (1935-1945) housed in the Library of Congress, released by Yale and funded by the National Endowment for the Humanities.  Searchable by County map.
Current Newspapers
Restricted Resource = Emmanuel Faculty, Staff & Students only
 
Historical Newspapers
Restricted Resource = Emmanuel Faculty, Staff & Students only 
 
Selected Online Resources
Historical Societies
Research Paper
Each student will be responsible for an independent research project. You are expected to find your own research topic but I will provide guidance through individual conferences during my office hours. Papers will consist of primary source-based research in support of an original argument, will be 7 pages double-spaced in length, follow The Chicago Manual of Style citation format, and contain a bibliography of primary and secondary sources used to complete the assignment.
Podcast Script
                                  

You will be responsible for writing a footnoted script for a podcast along with one of your classmates. This mini-group project should be 1-2 pages long and take 5-10 minutes to read aloud. This script should be in a narrative form. The project begins with you identifying to the class one or more History related podcasts and then you and a partner write a script for an episode of your favorite History related podcast. Examples will be provided. Each script will be graded and evaluated and the “best” podcast will be offered the ability to record an actual podcast to be included on the History Department blog and website. There may be more than one “winner.”

Best Practice Articles

Biersdorfer, J. D. (2018, August 4). The basic ingredients for your podcast recipe. The New York Times Book Review
Restricted Resource

Kretz, C. (2018). How to start a podcast: What to consider before, during, and after you hit 'record'. Library Journal, 9, 18-19. Restricted Resource
 

 
Chicago Style of Citations