Print and E-Books
- access databases off campus
- determine a journal's impact factor/other journal metrics
- find peer-reviewed articles
- find the full text of an article from a citation
- Project MUSE®
- ProQuest Central
- Ebsco search for History
Searches across: Academic Search Premier , Humanities International Complete , and Military & Government Collection .
Note: Explore including other relevant databases such as Art Full Text, Business Source Premier, and SocIndex with Full Text.
- Gale PowerSearch for History
Searches across: Academic OneFile (1980 - current) , General OneFile (1980 - current)
- Additionally, search in Google Scholar .
- Search for the journal title using the A-Z Journals by Title list to verify the journals peer-reviewed status.
Emmanuel College Library Contact
- Each student will be assigned one historical figure (your historical BFF).
- You will have to do research on your person (reading Wikipedia’s results does not count as research).
- You need to find at least two books or journal articles (academic sources; we will work on these with librarians) published by a scholarly press, that discusses the person.
- You will use one publication of your BFF (declaration, decree, law, poem, short story, novel, newspaper article, public speech) to present on your author.
- You will use an event of your choice in the life of your BFF that will allow you to discuss the time period your he/she lived in (passing of a law, signing of a decree, foundation of a party or secret society, creation of a specific piece of art or literature).
- You should also pick one specific event in the life of this person and use it to narrate his/her life.
- You will have to place the event/s you picked in historical context and elaborate on the historical background developing a narration around the life of the person assigned to you.
- You will write down the biography of the author assigned to you, describing his/her life, works and the poignant event you picked to discuss the author’s life and his mark left in East Asian history (this section of the assignment must be at least 5 pages long, 12 font, times new roman, double spaced).
- You will have a bibliography (after the 5 pages of Bio) and you will use Chicago style for citation and bibliography.
- Part of your grade will be based on the research you have done to discover info and secrets about the person; part on the formally written paper with citations and footnotes (Chicago style, repeat, Chicago style); and part on the creativity of the presentation of your writer.
- You MUST attend the Library session
- You MUST come to see me once during the semester to discuss the research
- You MUST go and see the librarian during the research period before the papers and presentations are due.
List of Historical BFFs
- Ito Hirobumi
- Jiang Qing
- Madame Chiang
- Bing Xin
- Zhang Ailing
- Queen Min
- Mao Zedong
- Yuan Shikai
- Tokugawa Ieyasu
- Oda Nobunaga
- Zeng Guofan
- Li Hongzhang
- Liang Qichao
- Sun Yat-sen
- Phan Chu Trinh
- Phan Boi Chau
- Ho Chi Minh
- Bao Dai
- Hong Xiuquan
- Ch’oe Che-u
- Lu Xun
- Chiang Kai-shek
- Chen Duxiu
- Deng Xiaoping
- Shinzo Abe
- Jiang Zemin
- Syngman Rhee
- Kim Jong-Il
- Park Yeomi
- Park Jung-Hee
- Peng Dehuai
- Kim Phuc
- Nguyen Thi Dinh
- Yu Gwansun
- Art of Asia
The Museum of Fine Arts "collection of Asian art covers the creative achievement of more than half the world's population since 4,000 BC. The collection encompasses Japanese, Chinese, and Indian painting and sculpture; Japanese prints and metalwork; Chinese, Korean, and Vietnamese ceramics; and the arts of the Islamic world."
- E-Asia Digital Library
"By building a collection of digitized e-books and a database of full text web resources, e-Asia strives to contribute to the research and scholarship of East Asia." University of Oregon Library
- Korean American National Museum
"The Korean American National Museum's mission is to preserve and interpret the history, experiences, culture and achievements of Americans of Korean ancestry."
- National Museum of Korea
Features news updates regarding their museum and the Korean art world online, as well as full text English language PDFs of the latest issues of journals published by the museum.
- Japanese American National Museum
"The mission of the Japanese American National Museum is to promote understanding and appreciation of America’s ethnic and cultural diversity by sharing the Japanese American experience."
- National Museum of Japanese History
"A general museum of Japanese history that houses and displays some 200,000 artifacts of historical importance and cultural value that together help to tell the story of Japan's past."
Chicago Style of Citations
- Chicago Manual of Style (17th ed.) REFERENCE DESK Z253 .U69 2017
- The Chicago Manual of Style Online: Chicago-Style Citation Quick Guide
For common examples of materials cited. University of Chicago Press.
- Chicago Manual of Style Shop Talk: Turabian for Students
This official Chicago Manual of Style guide to Kate L. Turabian's Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations includes paper formatting examples, tips on crafting a paper, and a crash course in citations.
- Purdue University Online Writing Lab (OWL)
Purdue University, West Lafayette, IN