Cardinal Cushing Library

HIST1108 - Ravagnoli/Purinton

FINAL PAPER ON MFA ARTIFACT
1. You should go to the Museum and visit the sections that correspond to the period we are studying (the origin to 1500 CE).

2. You will pick an artifact (or more in case you want to do a comparative analysis).

3. The indicative questions you will have to answer will be:

-Period of the artifact

-Timeframe you will be discussing

-You’ll place the object in time and space (political order, religious views, economic activities)

-Usage

-What does it tell us about society of the period and the place you picked?

-Was there trade or encounters with other civilizations? How do we tell? Influences and similarities with other places, artifacts we studied or you saw in the museum?

-You need to have at least one primary source (the artifact itself counts) and at least two secondary sources (meaning scholars who have written about it - not one guy on the internet wrote that...)

-In the write up you need to use proper academic style (citation, good grammar and spelling)

-Give evidences for your argument

4. Times New Roman 12, double-spaced

5. Bibliography at the end

6. Be creative, interesting and straight to the point

7. Enjoy this assignment!
 
Article Databases
FAQs
   Restricted Resource = Emmanuel Faculty, Staff & Students only
Sample Searches
- ancient and Greece and (technology or manufacturing)
- Rome and (art or artwork or craftsmen)
- China and history and (society or customs or culture)

Article Databases: Ranked by Relevance * Note: Limit to peer-reviewed articles in databases that contain content that is both peer reviewed and non-peer reviewed.
Emmanuel College Library Contact
Dominique Barrault
Reference / Instructional Librarian
barraultd@emmanuel.edu
617-732-1669
Schedule a reference appointment with Dominique

Diane Zydlewski
Associate Librarian for Reference, Instruction, and Outreach
zydlewsd@emmanuel.edu
John P. Healey, Jr.
Archives Librarian
healyj@emmanuel.edu
617-264-7606
Books
in
|
 

Recommended Books
Also, explore ProQuest Ebook Central Restricted Resource and Credo Reference Restricted Resource .
Video Database
  • Kanopy Restricted Resource : A streaming video resource with a broad collection of over 26,000 films.
Facebook Assignment Requirements
  • Use at least three scholarly sources (which include peer-reviewed articles along with print or e-books books).
Article Databases
FAQs
   Restricted Resource = Emmanuel Faculty, Staff & Students only
Sample Searches
- Saladin and (crusades or war)
- Saladin and (society or culture)
- Saladin and (Egypt or Syria)

Article Databases: Ranked by Relevance
Related Research Guide
Print and E-Books
in
|
 

E-Book Collections
Video Database
  • Kanopy Restricted Resource : A streaming video resource with a broad collection of over 26,000 films.
Chicago Style of Citations
See also How do I cite a museum display in Chicago? (Walsh University).
Citation Management Tool

RefWorks
Registration: Sign up for an Account by creating a Login Name and Password from a computer on campus. You will receive an email confirming your new account with instructions for accessing your RefWorks account off campus.
Using RefWorks: