The Emmanuel College Learning Commons offers a resource and technology-rich environment where you can discover, create, innovate, explore, study and reflect. Our team of caring professionals offers the expertise and support to help you learn and grow.

Library | ARC | ATIG | DiscoveryLab | IT Helpdesk

Learning Commons | Cardinal Cushing Library

Frankenstein

E-Book Display
Websites
Romantic Circles: Frankenstein [Electronic Edition]
Contains the 1818 and 1831 editions as well as study aids and comparisons of the different editions. Maintained by the University of Maryland. 

Shelley's Ghost: Draft of Frankenstein
Mary Shelley used two notebooks to draft Frankenstein. This site contains a page viewer for both notebooks, allowing you to read the draft in her own handwriting.

Frankenstein: Pennsylvania Electronic Edition
Includes full text of the book with notes. Click "Mary Wollstonecraft Shelley" to get biographical information, a list of every book we know she's read, and more.
Exhibits and Events
Frankenreads
"Frankenreads is an NEH-funded initiative of the Keats-Shelley Association of America and partners to hold a series of events and initiatives in honor of the 200th anniversary of Mary Shelley’s Frankenstein, featuring especially an international series of readings of the full text of the novel on Halloween 2018." -Frankenreads

Body Electric: Inspiring Frankenstein
This Smithsonian exhibit entitled "Fantastic Worlds" is on Science and Fiction, 1780-1910. It contains seven chapters; chapter four is about "The Body Electric" and focuses heavily on Frankenstein. 

Frankenstein: Penetrating the secrets of nature
This exhibit from the U.S. National Library of Medicine contains primary documents and lesson plans regarding Frankenstein and the Shelleys. 

Frankenstein: The Afterlife of Shelley's Circle
Biblion "immerses users in rare items from The New York Public Library’s vast collections, providing context while also allowing for serendipitous discoveries." The Frankenstein collection allows users to browse documents related to Frankenstein and the Shelleys as well as read related essays and other material.
Need Help?
Text Message Icon
617-932-5288
Phone Icon
617-735-9927
Frankenstein pulp cover


Carl H. Pforzheimer Collection of Shelley and His Circle, The New York Public Library. (1953 - 1953). Frankenstein Retrieved from http://digitalcollections.nypl.org/items/745b1060-01d6-0135-4825-0bd73a22949a
Mary Shelley
Shelley's Ghost: Reshaping the image of a literary family
An online exhibition from the Bodleian Libraries at the University of Oxford and the New York Public Library. From the website: "Explore exhibition themes, biographies, the complete Frankenstein notebooks, the exhibition video, an interactive family tree, the exhibition floorplan, and our Shelley in Oxford walking trail."

Shelley-Godwin Archive
"The Shelley-Godwin Archive will provide the digitized manuscripts of Percy Bysshe Shelley, Mary Wollstonecraft Shelley, William Godwin, and Mary Wollstonecraft, bringing together online for the first time ever the widely dispersed handwritten legacy of this uniquely gifted family of writers." Hosted by the British Library.

Romantic Circles: The Mary Shelley Chronology and Resource Site
Hosted by the University of Maryland, this website contains a chronology of Mary Shelley's life and reviews of her work from her contemporaries.

Carl H. Pforzheimer Collection of Shelley and His Circle
A digital collection from the New York Public Library, containing digital items and records of Percy Bysshe Shelley, Mary Wollstonecraft Shelley, and her parents, William Godwin and Mary Wollstonecraft. Also represented are friends and writers in Shelley's circle, including Lord Byron, Claire Clairmont, and others.

Poetry Foundation: Mary Wollstonecraft Shelley
Contains biographical detail on Mary Wollstonecraft Shelley as well as a poem.

A Celebration of Women Writers: Mary Shelley
Provides links to electronic full-text versions of many of Mary Shelley's works, as well as biographical information.  Hosted by the University of Pennsylvania.

Project Gutenberg: Mary Shelley
Electronic full text editions of Mary Shelley's works.
Journals
Keats-Shelley Journal Restricted Resource
The Keats-Shelley Journal is published (in print form: ISSN 0453-4387) annually by the Keats-Shelley Association of America. It contains articles on John Keats, Percy Shelley, Mary Shelley, Lord Byron, Leigh Hunt, and their circles of mutual influence and context—as well as news and notes, book reviews, and a current bibliography.

The Keats-Shelley Review Restricted Resource
Comic book cover of Frankenstein
Carl H. Pforzheimer Collection of Shelley and His Circle, The New York Public Library. (1949). Front cover Retrieved from http://digitalcollections.nypl.org/items/5e235290-08de-0135-4e5e-01f9b1d5f382
Horror and Gothic Literature
International Gothic Association
"The International Gothic Association unites teachers, scholars, students, artists, writers and performers from around the world who are interested in any aspect of gothic culture: fiction, drama, poetry, art, film, music, architecture, popular culture and technology. It promotes the study and dissemination of information on gothic culture from the mid eighteenth century to the contemporary moment. The only association of its kind, the IGA is the academic centre for people interested in an analysis of the gothic." -International Gothic Association

The Gothic novel 1790-1830 : plot summaries and index to motifs / Ann B. Tracy Restricted Resource

Fantasy and horror : a critical and historical guide to literature, illustration, film, TV, radio, and the Internet / ed. Neil Barron

Monsters : evil beings, mythical beasts, and all manner of imaginary terrors / David D. Gilmore Restricted Resource

On monsters : an unnatural history of our worst fears / Stephen T. Asma Restricted Resource
Science Fiction
Science Fiction Studies
Science Fiction Studies publishes three times a year. The website contains chronologies, lists of resources, and archival issues.

MIT Science Fiction Library
"....both science fiction and fantasy, including sf horror; our collection includes magazines, some foreign-language material and science-fiction related books as well." -MIT Science Fiction Library

Science fiction before 1900: Imagination discovers technology Restricted Resource

Mad Scientist, Impossible Human : An Essay in Generative Anthropology / Andrew Bartlett Restricted Resource

Doctoring the novel : medicine and quackery from Shelley to Doyle Restricted Resource

Mesmerists, monsters, and machines : science fiction and the cultures of science in the nineteenth century / Martin Willis Restricted Resource

 
Romanticism
Discovering Literature: Romantics and Victorians
Created by the British Library, Discovering Literature is an educational resourced aimed at enlightening the public about a variety of topics in Literature. The Romantics and Victorians page includes numerous insights into Mary Shelley and the Romantics, as well as Gothic Literature. 

Norton Anthology of English Literature: The Romantic Period
See the Introduction Overview and the Timeline.

Romanticism and the human sciences : poetry, population, and the discourse of the species / Maureen N. McLane Restricted Resource

Norton Anthology of English Literature (print)
This volume explores the Romantic period of English literature.

English Romantic Poetry and Prose

English Romantic Writers