Article and Newspaper Databases
- access databases off campus
- find peer-reviewed articles
- find the full text of an article from a citation
- EconLit™ with Full Text Published by the American Economic Association; provides full-text for nearly 600 publications including titles from the American Economic Association (all with no embargo), such as: American Economic Review, Journal of Economic Literature, and Journal of Economic Perspectives; citations and abstracts to economic research dating back to 1969, covering all fields of economics, including capital markets, country studies, econometrics, economic forecasting, environmental economics, government regulations, labor economics, monetary theory, and urban economics.
- Business Source Premier Full text and indexing of scholarly business journals covering management, economics, finance, accounting, international business and related topics.
- Science Direct (Elsevier)
Access to full text of over 2,500 scholarly, peer-reviewed journals in the areas of: Biochemistry; Business and Management; Genetics and Molecular Biology; Chemistry; Immunology and Microbiology; Medicine; Psychology; and Social Science. Includes recently-accepted articles in press.
A total of more than 900 full-text scholarly journal titles in an online archive beginning with the first issue of each title. The archive includes nine JSTOR Arts and Sciences Collections. In JSTOR, there is usually a time lag in full-text content. Use JSTOR in conjunction with our current online databases and print holdings. (See also Example of a Search in JSTOR )
- Project MUSE®
Offers over 400 quality journal titles from nearly 100 not-for-profit publishers. Project MUSE® covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.
- ProQuest Central A multidisciplinary resource providing the largest aggregated full-text database in the market today totaling more than 12,665 titles - with over 9,745 titles in full text. Covers more than 160 subject areas, including business and economics, health and medical, news and world affairs, technology, social sciences and more. Provides over 400 full-text U.S., Canadian and international newspapers; nearly 30,000 full-text dissertations in the areas of business, psychology, physical sciences, health, education; and nearly 9,000 market reports for business information for 43 industries in 40 countries.
- Wall Street Journal, Eastern Edition (1984 - present)
- Wall Street Journal, Online Edition (2010 - present)
- Lexis-Nexis Academic An interdisciplinary, full-text database of over 10,000 sources focusing on current news and business, government/legal, and medical issues.
Search for Books
Reference Books (Print)
- Oxford Encyclopedia of Economic History (2003) Reference HC15 .O94 2003
- Terms of Trade: Glossary of International Economics (2006) Reference HF1373 .D43 2006
Associations and Organizations
Domestic Data and Statistical Resources
- Bureau of Economic Analysis
Explore National, International, Regional and Industry economic accounts data. Presented by the U.S. Department of Commerce.
- Bureau of Transportation Statistics
The purpose of the BTS is "to administer data collection, analysis, and reporting and to ensure the most cost-effective use of transportation-monitoring resources." U.S. Department of Transportation
"The purpose of Data.gov is to increase public access to high value, machine readable datasets generated by the Executive Branch of the Federal Government." Click the Data tab to conduct a keyword search of datasets. Narrow your search or browse by filters on the left.
- National Historical Geographic Information System
"[P]rovides population, housing, agricultural, and economic data, along with GIS-compatible boundary files, for geographic units in the United States from 1790 to the present."
- U.S. Department of Labor: Bureau of Labor Statistics
- U.S. Census Bureau
Click on the Geography tab to find interactive maps and the Data tab to find data tools and visualizations.
Gateway to statistics from over 100 U.S. Federal Agencies.
- Federal Reserve
Click on the Economic Research & Data tab to data releases, working papers, and other research resources.
- Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis Select Research & Data from the top menu and, then, select FRED [Federal Reserve Economic Data] Economic Data, which "is an online database consisting of more than 237,000 economic data time series from national, international, public, and private sources."