Cardinal Cushing Library

Diversity

General Resources
American Social Reform Movements Reference Library Restricted Resource
"This four-volume set chronicles and illustrates movements from the American Revolution to the present day."

Institute for Diversity and Ethics in Sports (TIDES)
“A comprehensive resource for issues related to gender and race in amateur, collegiate and professional sports.” Presented by the University of Central Florida’s College of Business Administration.

Teaching Tolerance
Resources for teachers, parents, teenagers and young children for the promotion of tolerance. Created by the Southern Poverty Law Center.
Civil Rights
Anti-Defamation League (ADL)
“Fights anti-Semitism and all forms of bigotry, defends democratic ideals and protects civil rights for all.”

Civil Rights Project: Resources
Created by the University of California Los Angeles.

Leadership Conference on Civil and Human Rights
Explore the Get Informed and Resources menu options. Created by the Leadership Conference on Civil Rights and the Leadership Conference on Civil Rights Education Fund.

The Martin Luther King, Jr. Center for Nonviolent Social Change (The King Center)
The King Center is "dedicated to educating the world on the life, legacy and teachings of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., inspiring new generations to carry forward his unfinished work, strengthen causes and empower change-makers who are continuing his efforts today." Founded by Mrs. Coretta Scott King.

U.S. Commission on Civil Rights
Public information regarding the investigation and study of discrimination. Use the top menu to review press releases, find a regional office, file a complaint, or access USCCR publications.

U.S. Department of Justice, Civil Rights Division
Provides relevant documents and other governmental information. Select the Resources tab for forms and publications and News for blogs and videos.
Gender
Gender Data Portal
"The Gender Data Portal is the World Bank Group’s comprehensive source for the latest sex-disaggregated data and gender statistics covering demography, education, health, access to economic opportunities, public life and decision-making, and agency."
Socio-Economic Status
Center for Working-Class Studies at Youngstown State University
Explore the Resources link.

National Coalition for the Homeless
Select Advocacy in the top menu to explore Civil Rights issues related to homelessness.

Poverty & Race Research Action Council (PRRAC)
“To help connect social scientists with advocates working on race and poverty issues, and to promote a research-based advocacy strategy on issues of structural racial inequality.”
Race/Ethnicity
Avoice Online: African American voices in Congress
A virtual library of “information about historical and contemporary African American policy issues important to researchers, academics, educators and students.” Presented by the Congressional Black Caucus Foundation.

Encyclopedia of Black Studies Restricted Resource
"Encyclopedia containing a full analysis of the economic, political, sociological, historical, literary, and philosophical issues related to Americans of African descent."

National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP)
Seeks “to ensure the political, educational, social, and economic equality of rights of all persons and to eliminate racial hatred and racial discrimination.”

Race - The Power of an Illusion
"The online companion to California Newsreel's three-part documentary about race in society, science & history." Public Broadcasting Service (PBS). Note: Race - The Power of an Illusion (DVD) is available in our media collection. (Check availability)

Voices of Civil Rights
Online exhibit documenting “events during the Civil Rights Movement in the United States.” Created by the Library of Congress.
LGBT
Boston GLASS
A community center for GLBT youths to meet and share their experiences. Provides counseling and advocacy services also.

Center for Disease Control: LGBT Youth Resources
Large collection of resources for LGBT youth, educators, and parents including information on bullying, homelessness, and relationships.

Gay, Lesbian and Straight Education Network (GLSEN)
Resources for students, parents, and educators with a focus on K-12 education. Explore the menu options Learn, Act, Teach, Connect, Support, as well as News updates on the home page.

GenderTalk
Archive of Gender talk radio programs broadcast by MIT’s WMBR from 1997–2006 with topical and date indexes.

GLAAD LGBTQ Resource List
Wide array or resources including information on political, legal, military, and age-related LGBTQ issues.
Health/Disability
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA)
“Information and Technical Assistance on the Americans with Disabilities Act.” U.S. Department of Justice.

Disability History Museum
Designed “to foster a deeper understanding about how changing cultural values, notions of identity, laws and policies have shaped and influenced the experience of people with disabilities, their families and their communities over time."

Disability Rights and Independent Living Movement
“Primary sources exploring the social and political history of the disability movement from the 1960s to the present.” Maintained by the University of California, Berkeley.

DiversityRX
Designed “to improve the accessibility and quality of health care for minority, immigrant, and indigenous communities. “ Created by Resources for Cross Cultural Health Care (RCCHC) and Drexel University, School of Public Health’s, Center for Health Equality.

Genetic Information Nondiscrimination Act of 2008
Presented by the National Human Genome Research Institute.